We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom

Disney's Animal Kingdom
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Orlando Helicopter Tour from International Drive Area
Ranked #9 of 419 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "The largest of the 4 theme parks at Walt Disney World Resort, Disney's Animal Kingdom park is filled with attractions, adventures and entertainment that reflect Walt Disney's dedication to nature and conservation. The park leads the way in animal care, education and research—for an enchanting experience that blends learning with family fun.Home to more than 1,700 animals from 250 species and sprawling across 500 acres of lush landscape, Disney's Animal Kingdom park is the biggest animal-themed park in the world!Disney's Animal Kingdom park is divided into 7 areas:OasisDiscovery Island® areaCamp Minnie-MickeyAfricaRafiki's Planet Watch® areaAsiaDinoland, U.S.A.® areaEncounter rare and majestic animals—and get close enough to pet some of them! Exciting attractions await, along with live and wild entertainment like Broadway-style musical shows and parades that invite you to be part of the excitement.From the spectacular scenery of the African savanna—where you may spot zebras, elephants and hippos—to the high-altitude, roller coaster thrills of Expedition Everest® in Asia, global adventures abound at Disney's Animal Kingdom park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
White Oak, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This place is not bad. But it wasn't what I expected. Early on it was pretty good, the safari was cool plus the walk through exhibit was cool as well. But the safari line was a bit to long for the quality of it though. The ride lasted 22 minutes but I expected to see more animals. The walk through exhibit was just as good without the wait. The rest of the park was OK with one major ride and a fewer smaller ones.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,013
    6,262
    2,498
    539
    217
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Much less traveled than the other parks...excellent layout! Less rides and a great get-away from the congestion of the main parks.
Beautifully landscaped,well thought-out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ezia1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Love it here, quieter than the other parks! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We went to animal kingdom on a Monday in early November, we arrived there about 9am and headed straight to Tusker house as we had a character breakfast booked here, the character breakfast was FANTASTIC!! I have a separate review on this, so please read this for full info.
We first headed to expedition Everest to get a fast pass as this ride is normally very busy, we then went on the Kilimanjaro Safari, which was such fun and a wonderful way to see lots of animals, the guide was lots of fun too!
We then headed back to expedition everts for our fast pass, the ride broke down literally just as we was about to board but they gave everyone a unlimited time fast pass so we could come back later.
We then went on the kali rapids which are such amazing fun! But be prepared to get seriously wet!!!! Whenever you sit!!
We was still stuffed from our character breakfast, so didn't stop for lunch, so we headed down to watch mickeys jammin jungle parade, which is a great parade and a wonderful way to see all the characters and have a boogie!
We then headed back to expedition Everest and walked straight on the ride, that ride is a family favourite and we truly love it although I'm very scared of the Yeti and keep my eyes firmly closed lol! He's so realistic it's unreal!
Dino land was lots of fun and loved by my 3 year old and has a wonderful dinosaur shop there too.
There are some really lovely shops in animal kingdom with lots of different merchandise.
The lion king show was wonderful just fantastic and so fun to all join in with the actions, it's just like a west end show if not better!
We had a wonderful day at animal kingdom but was very disappointed that it closed at 5pm on a Monday!!!!
We still wanted to do lots more but had to leave!!! So that was very sad!!!
But still a fabulous day had by all!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank lou98uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Disney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Really enjoyed the slower pace and beautiful landscape of Animal Kingdom. The 11 year old and my hubby really enjoyed the Mt. Everest roller coaster and the 9 and 5 year old enjoyed the smaller roller coaster, as well as the "playground." Every time we had to wait for the older one, the younger ones would play hide and seek at the playground and have a lot of fun. The 11 year old even enjoyed it, though she probably wouldn't admit it. We also liked the train ride, the safari, and the Lion King show.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happygolucky195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Animal Kingdom is much less hectic than the other Disney theme parks. There are less rides here and more activities that involve seeing and experiencing. Kilimanjaro Safari is a visual treat as you ride through the African savannah and view the animals roaming (mostly) free. There are safety protections in place, but they are not apparent as you ride through and see the animals. You should definitely use a fst pass to do the safari. Rafiki's Planet Watch is an eductional and hands on area of animal interaction. You must ride the train to get back to this area. There are two exploration trails which let you walk through and observe the plants and animals native to Africa and Asia. The Festival of the Lion King is a great show for all ages. You do not want to miss this show. A Bug's Life is still a good 3D movie experience. Flights of Wonder is a fun bird show. Finding Nemo is a good show, but we preferred the show it replaced, Tarzan Rocks. Mickey's Jingle Jungle Parade is the holiday version with everyone in Christmas spirit.

For the thrill seekers, Expedition Everest is a very good roller coaster and Kali River Rapids is a great water ride nearby. You will want to use fast pass for both of these rides. Primeval Whirl and Dinosaur are also good thrill rides.

There are character greeting spots in Animal Kingdom, but they are not as obvious as in the other parks. They are usually located down a path off the main road. Check your map and you will find all you want.

We usually eat at Pizzafari because our kids always like pizza. Okay, go have a great time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaStan710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing