We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Zoo Ever!”

Disney's Animal Kingdom
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Orlando Helicopter Tour from International Drive Area
More Info
$47.99*
and up
Orlando Helicopter Tour from Walt Disney World Resort Area
Ranked #8 of 425 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "The largest of the 4 theme parks at Walt Disney World Resort, Disney's Animal Kingdom park is filled with attractions, adventures and entertainment that reflect Walt Disney's dedication to nature and conservation. The park leads the way in animal care, education and research—for an enchanting experience that blends learning with family fun.Home to more than 1,700 animals from 250 species and sprawling across 500 acres of lush landscape, Disney's Animal Kingdom park is the biggest animal-themed park in the world!Disney's Animal Kingdom park is divided into 7 areas:OasisDiscovery Island® areaCamp Minnie-MickeyAfricaRafiki's Planet Watch® areaAsiaDinoland, U.S.A.® areaEncounter rare and majestic animals—and get close enough to pet some of them! Exciting attractions await, along with live and wild entertainment like Broadway-style musical shows and parades that invite you to be part of the excitement.From the spectacular scenery of the African savanna—where you may spot zebras, elephants and hippos—to the high-altitude, roller coaster thrills of Expedition Everest® in Asia, global adventures abound at Disney's Animal Kingdom park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Zoo Ever!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I still love this place, even with the cornball safari gambit, because of how close you come to the animals and how well you can see them. And the Barbeque restaurant serves delicious pulled pork sandwiches.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MotherMuddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,117
    6,609
    2,631
    570
    235
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“So much more than a zoo!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were here when it first opened but returned to find a wonderful experience! The yeti ride (everest) is awesome! And we saw lions elephants giraffes zebras hippos rhinos and more on the safari ride through the savannah. They do a nice job of keeping it natural and clean? It ended up being one of our favorite parts of the trip this time. Our kids are college age and they lived it too! Don't miss the lion king show!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beenaroundtheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Everyone told us to skip this but my husband and I decided to check it out since we had an extra day. We didn't go to all the animal attractions but we did have a good time. The Dawa bar makes great mixed drinks and the Himalaya ride was fun (do the fast pass because the line is long!). The restaurant in Thailand was delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachbride0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Different to the other Disney Parks and worth a day visit”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We visited here as a family in January 2013, we had been visiting many of the Disney parks as we had a 14 day unlimited ticket.
Positives:
it is different to the other Disney parks - so a good change
It is more spread out then the other parks and seemed less busy so you don't feel as stressed all the time
The shows (4D) and attractions were very good on the whole
Facilities on the whole were very good
Provided free lockers for the water rides - which was useful (and not what I expect from Disney)
The themes were incredible to walk around and actually really authentic
We really loved the food and drinks themed to each area

Negatives
Disney and their merchandising - it is in your face and too much (but we knew this before we went)
We didn't enjoy the safari ride as the animals looked a little dull and unhappy ( I am not an expert but they didn't look active)
Some of the queues were a little long but better than the other parks

Try the ice cream sandwiches - these were amazing, great value and not to be missed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlieandaustinsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rained and we loved it!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

When it rains people go else where and lines are shorter. Tip - Lion King show holds 1000's don't line up 30 minutes before, show up 5 mins before!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Disney's Animal Kingdom also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing