We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front of Line pass is a Must”

Universal Studios Florida
Ranked #10 of 460 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This vast complex houses two theme parks (Universal Studios, for movie rides, and Islands of Adventure, for thrills), an entertainment/nightlife complex (CityWalk) and a variety of hotels. You can buy passes for admission to the parks or just visit the bars, restaurants and stores on the CityWalk.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Myself and 3 others have just returned from a trip to the States. We spent a day at Universal Forida, and had the best day. We organised our tickets a month or so before our trip and spent the extra money to get a front of line ticket to both the universals in Florida. The front of line ticket was well worth the extra money. We did not wait longer than 5 minutes for any ride and we were able to do both parks in one day, without having to rush to try to fit in all the rides we wanted to go to. A tip for first time travellers to the park: The water rides are awsome and are a must, but make sure you pack some spare clothes and wear thongs on your feet so your shoes dont get saturated. We did all the water rides in the morning and ended up dripping wet and eventually dried as the day went on. The rides were well worth the drentching we got. Universal provide free lockers outside the rides that you arent allowed to take bags on. The food at the park was nothing special... but lets face it, its not about the food, its about the rides. The hulk roller coaster was one of the highlights. I would highly recommend these parks to other travellers. Our group was aged between 22-38years old, which shows that you are never to old to enjoy a theme park.

4  Thank ZoeBeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"express pass"
in 2,427 reviews
"islands of adventure"
in 2,616 reviews
"harry potter"
in 4,371 reviews
"diagon alley"
in 2,088 reviews
"simpsons ride"
in 833 reviews
"both parks"
in 1,896 reviews
"jimmy fallon"
in 445 reviews
"simpsons area"
in 251 reviews
"halloween horror nights"
in 655 reviews
"rip ride rocket"
in 365 reviews
"blues brothers"
in 360 reviews
"roller coaster"
in 1,474 reviews
"love universal"
in 319 reviews
"theme park"
in 1,378 reviews
"hogwarts express"
in 1,092 reviews
"city walk"
in 795 reviews
"park pass"
in 565 reviews
Filter

25,403 - 25,407 of 33,828 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2009

I went to Universal studios in November 2007 and was very dissapointed , athough the view was great with amazing things to see..The Grinch working was very rude walked away from my granddaughter and told me to leave him the [--] alone. there is more sights and walking rather then rides. This place was not as it was back in 2003 when i took my other grandchildren.. I will not be returning backthats for sure!!! To many other Good attractions at disney world, aquatica,and busch gardens.. Not to mentin the Amazing Sea wold:) i would recommend those before Universal More fun for your dollar:) Its def. worth a one time visit it wasnt at al what i expected specially standing in line for the mummy ride 2 hours for 4 minutes all the rides were short!!!!

1  Thank LOVEMYBROOKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

This is the place to go for excitement. We take an Orlando vacation EVERY year... And every year we have an amazing vacation. We always purchase the flex tickets from Universal's website which include Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Wet N Wild, Seaworld, and Busch Gardens. This year they have added a 6th park which is the new waterpark in Seaworld (can't wait to check this out in September 09). This is definately the best option for us as we are a young married couple in our 20's and we like action not just looking as you get mostly at the Disney Parks. Their are a bunch of new rides this year at all the park's and you can never get bored. We also do this trip on a $2500 budget for two weeks and NEVER have a problem. In the past we have done pricelines name your own price on hotel rooms and have payed 40-50 a night at hotels such as Holiday Inn Select, Wyndham on I-Drive and Sheraton Safari Hotel. No compaints at all and 2 of the 3 have wireless internet so we were able to bring a laptop. This year we are renting a house with private pool off VRBO with a kitchen which will save us even more money as we wont have to eat out... Now when it comes to food choices there are many for people on a budget. We have eaten at a lot of buffets and no complaints there. We dont go to Orlando for the food we go for fun. Our usual routine is bringing a cooler to the hotel to keep drinks and milk cold and we have cereal in our room before we start the day, we usually do a snack in the parks as the meals are VERY hard on the budget and thats usually $10-$15 a day then we eat out for dinner which usually costs between $10-$40 depending on where we eat (fast food, buffets, places like Chili's and Hooters as well as a couple nice dinners at Olive Garden). We also drive down from Upstate NY so we use our own vehicle and spend between $400-$500 on gas. So depending on what you want to do, will determine your budget. Orlando is definately a place for any budget... and your sure to have a wonderful time!

5  Thank xxbuffy52587xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Visited Universal Studios 20 years ago and was disappointed to hear from previous reviewer that the Back to the Future ride - best part of previous visit - had closed, which almost lead us not to bother. BUT, it has been replaced by Simpsons ride, which is simply BRILLIANT and worth the admission on its own. Many other great fun attractions, which even my partner who sees no point in scary or bruising rides also greatly enjoyed. Only negatives were express ticket system that allows the better heeled to jump the queues - God Bless America, land of opportunity - and that only junk food is available. Why? Oh yes, and $12 parking stealth tax.

2  Thank zztupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Universal Studios is great because it's not just for kids. I went there in March 2009 and had a great time! My favorite ride was The Simpsons one (it's in the place where the Back to the Future ride used to be). One thing that annoyed me was the "magic show" that we were convinced to go to. Turned out it was just promotion to buy magic trick products, so we wasted 20 minutes.

1  Thank CarpeNoctum_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Studios Florida also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Universal Studios Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing