We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Universal Studios Florida
Book In Advance
More Info
$213.99*
and up
Universal Orlando 2-Park Ticket
Ranked #7 of 424 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This vast complex houses two theme parks (Universal Studios, for movie rides, and Islands of Adventure, for thrills), an entertainment/nightlife complex (CityWalk) and a variety of hotels. You can buy passes for admission to the parks or just visit the bars, restaurants and stores on the CityWalk.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I did except more from the park. Myself and my husband spent 3 hours here then we were bored so decided to go to island of adventure. The mummy ride was good the rest were ok.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilson-Haigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,123
    6,084
    2,264
    978
    848
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Maine, USA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best vacations we've had!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Universal Orlando's parks, for us, are well worth the money! We have ALWAYS have a great time there! We are from New England and we have season passes because we go to the Orlando area at least twice a year. For those who complain about long lines and crowds (especially in the summer months), try to remember, you're in one of, if not THE, biggest tourist areas in the world! Expect long lines and crowds! If you go during the off months (other than Holidays ie. Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc.) the lines and crowds are much lighter.

As far as prices, if you plan on going for 4 days or more, it's cheaper to buy a season pass. We have Preferred Passes, which allow for free parking (except for the first day you buy the passes) and 10% off merchandise, food, etc. at all the stores and restaurants (just not the little stands). They also get you discounts on Blue Man Group and Special events like Mardi Gras, etc. And, let's face it, the ticket prices here are MUCH LESS expensive than the Disney parks! You can barely get a ticket for ONE of the Disney parks for the price of a season pass at Universal!!

The rides at Universal are much more exciting than most of the Disney rides also! Yes, lines can be long at times, but the wait is well worth it! Some of the best are the Mummy, Men in Black, and the Simpsons, on the Studios side. On the Islands of Adventure side, try Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey, Jurassic Park, The Hulk, and Spiderman! There are also some awesome water rides in Toon Lagoon! And, yes, rides do once in a great while, break down. This can happen at ANY amusement/theme park. To completely tear apart a park because one breaks down is completely unreasonable!

So, if you don't like crowds, lines, etc. this (or any other park for that matter) is probably not for you. But, if you're looking for a great time for you and your family, this is the BEST!! If someone can't have fun here, it's because they don't want to. We have NEVER had a bad experience here! We're headed back again in a week! Can't wait!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melsele, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun - Fun - Fun”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our prefered rides (Universal Studio's and Island of Adventure) :
1. Harry Potter
2. The Simpsons 3D
3. Spider Man 3D
4. MIB
5. Terminator 3D
6. Despicable Me 3D
7. Transformers

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EddyDB1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“universal studios florida a great experience for everyone”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Florida is a very hot place in america and a lot of people go to universal studios in the summer or on weekends so I would really recommend going on weekdays or in the months of the year that isn't summer. There are two parks at universal studios. universal studios and islands of adventure. The one I am reviewing is universal studios. There rides for all ages is this theme park. If you are a roller coaster lover the holly wood rip ride rocket is for you. If you have older kids and teens everything in this park is for you and if you have little kids from about 3-7 the barney show and te curious george play area are waiting for them at the very back of the theme park. If you have little kids it is a good day of walking so parents bring the buggy. My top 5 rides in universal studios are.....
number 5 is despicable me it is a really funny and cool simulator.
number 4 is e.t it is a really good ride and its just like your in the movie.
number 3 is the simpsons ride really funny and random simulator.
number 2 is men in black alien attack shoot the aliens that look real with your gun.
number 1 is the hollywood ripride rocket my family and i went on this a lot of times and still loved it plus the lines are not that long. Plus I just want to recommend don't go on any ride that you have not seen the movie to because you might not get what is happening in the ride and don't go searching for the holly wood rip ride rocket movie because there is none.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only one roller coaster, a lot of 3D rides”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I have to admit that I don't like roller coaster, so this park came as a surprise to me.

The mummy is an indoor roller coaster but it is relaxed and without very extreme moves like turn arounds and vertical falls.

Other than that you should enjoy the park if you like universal's movies. The Simpson ride is great since you don't need glasses to experience the 3D.

Don't leave your bags in the floor of the train at the Disaster attraction. It will get wet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juliand82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Studios Florida also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Universal Studios Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing