We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joyous and Delicious”
Review of Taverna Opa

Taverna Opa
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Opa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #228 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sand Lake and International Dr.
Transit: I-Trolly stop #24
Description: We offer an assortment of traditionally prepared dishes of fresh seafood, premium cut meats, and a unique wine selection to complement our menu. Our unique take on dining incorporates celebration and good times to our delicious Mediterranean menu. We encourage you to participate! Jump in the Zorba, our traditional line dance, or dance alongside the belly dancer while a confetti of napkins surrounds you. As the hours pass the night transcends to a more sophisticated nightlife, led by our live DJ spinning a variety of Greek, Spanish, and Top 40 Hits. Fresh seafood and steak along with our nightly entertainment has made Taverna Opa the top destination dining venue in Orlando. Remember, the night’s not over until the ouzo runs out!
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Joyous and Delicious”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband took me to this restaurant a week ago for a birthday and we keep talking about what a great time we had. The food was delicious and the amount of fun all the families were having around us really added to our experience. Our waiter was especially good with his wine recommendations and pleasant disposition.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gdwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    334
    117
    50
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“What a blast at Opa”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our 4th visit to Opa in 4 visits to Orlando. What a fun place.

First, the food is good. It is a restaurant after all and that is important. But what sets Opa apart is the fun. Around 7pm a belly dancer comes out to great Mediterranean music. Thousands of napkins are thrown into the air and the fun commences.

The kids dance with her on the tables and are thoroughly entertained.

We love Opa for the experience and the food and will definitely return on our next visit to Orlando.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mttaylor9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“More then Just Napkins and Food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have been to number of different Taverna Opa and this is still probably the only one that I think has maintained the original concept of great food, unbelievable Mediterranean atmosphere with music and belly dancers, and great service. If you are in the Orlando area, this is a must stop place during the early evening. First and foremost, it has great mediterranean food which is offered at a medium price and with a tremendous selection. I would try the mixed platter. It consists of a huge portion of mixed meat and well worth the price. Then, there is the music. Many times they have a live DJ who will play international music, of course, with an arabic and / or mediterranean flavor. Combined that with a belly dancer that the place offers on daily basis, you will have fun. Don't be alarmed when you enter the place and see thousands of napkins on the floor. It is not that the place is dirty or disorganized. It is just part of the atmosphere and a way to engage with the belly dancer while you are at the place. Adding to the trifecta is the great service. I believe that the people working at this place are very professional and timely. I recommend with two thumps and two napkins up!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Universal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unexpected fun, but not easy to talk”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Taverna Opa was a pleasant surprise. We were traveling through Orlando and wanted Greek so stumbled upon this place. It was a fun atmosphere with terrific wait staff and the belly dancing was terrific.

The food was very good. However, having been to Greece and having some great Greek food locally, I would not call this incredibly authentic or the best greek food around. It was more than adequate. The prices are higher (especially for Greek food which generally is little less expensive) but I think you are partially paying for the atmosphere here. The only negative, which is to be expected with the atmosphere they set up, is that it is REALLY hard to have a conversation because it is so loud inside. Again, the fun is worth the tradeoff.

Overall, I would not hesitate to go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Belly dancing and shots of the table!!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This place is quite the experience!! Belly dancing starts around 7 and the place really comes alive, guests are invited to dance with the girl, and napkins get thrown up into the air and everyone yells opa! It's really a fun place, I recommend going here with a larger group, it'll be more fun! The food is outstanding! The chicken kabob is to die for!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Springbreakvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Opa also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Taverna Opa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing