We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food ! Fun staff !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Opa

Taverna Opa
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Opa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #223 of 3,705 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sand Lake and International Dr.
Transit: I-Trolly stop #24
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food ! Fun staff !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The food here was phenomenal ! I had the surf and turf and my steak was a perfect medium. The drinks were great and the best part is this was a business trip so I didn't have to pay:)

Helpful?
Thank AlSchramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    309
    110
    46
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another Great Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

On Friday 11/8 we had another great visit and meal, that is once I got my wife off the table where she was shakin' it with the belly dancer. We get to Orlando 2-3 times a year and visit Taverna Opa each time. The service and food is always perfect.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Level Contributor
179 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Absolutely great !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you like a place where you can really let go, this is the place.
A Greek restaurant / pub wher you can really let your hair down. You cant throw plates but instead you can throw the napkins in the air....the floor was covered in them.
People were drinking and eating and drinking. Dancing to the fabulous Greek music was infectious.

Patrons, young and old were either dancing next to the tables or on them !!!!!

Wonderful experience - so unexpected !

Food was also good ! Staff were great ! (but who cares - it was a great evening !!!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great fun! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a brilliant meal here. We were glad to have a break from all the usual American food and this place was perfect!
There are hundreds of napkins over the floor, good music, a belly dancer and great attentive staff. I felt like we were in Greece for an evening. The starters were fresh and delicious! I loved the tstazki. The children all enjoyed their meals. We wished we could have come back again but the holiday just flew by, but we will definitely come back when we visit Orlando again.

Helpful?
Thank sunseasandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Interesting Dinner and Maybe More????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I attended a large convention in Orlando this week and had dinner with friends and colleagues on Sunday night. A very close friend in Orlando told me that her favorite Greek restaurant in Orlando is Taverna Opa. We love Greek food and whenever possible go to Greektown in Chicago. So we decided to go to Taverna Opa on Sunday night. As the American Academy of Pediatrics convention was in Orlando, most of the good restaurants were pretty crowded. We were able to get reservations at Taverna Opa at 7 PM. When we arrived, there was a belly dancer starting her performance. There was then a loud "OPA" and napkins went flying all over the restaurant! Made you feel like you were in Athens on a Sunday evening. We took a table outside so we could talk. Inside was a little loud. We had a very attentive waiter who brough us our menus quickly. He told us about the specials and asked if we wanted to order drinks. My friends are very much into red wines and when they asked for a recommendation, the waiter, who was very knowledgable about the wine list, immediately recommended the most expensive wine they had. This somewhat turned off my friend who knows the most about wines. We then ordered appetizers. My wife and I love the Parthenon in Chicago, and one of our favorite appetizers is the Saganaki, the Greek cheese flamed in ouzo. I told my dinnermates how much we liked it, and we ordered it. It was OK, but definitely not the same as in Chicago. In Chicago the cheese gets soft and easily spread on bread. At Taverna Opa it stayed firm. Not the same. I also had to ask for pita since none was served with the saganaki. I ordered falafel. We got 4 falafel with a little tzatiki. The falafel were over cooked. Fair at best. My friend order the octopus appetizer, which he said he enjoyed. Two of us wanted a Greek salad, which the waiter said was a "large dinner salad." So we ordered one to share. When the salad came out, we immediately ordered a 2nd, because it was not large enough to share. The feta was very good. We also ordered Dolames, which were good, but not outstanding. This is all I ordered (more tapas than a large meal) but my firends ordered a paella. They both enjoyed the paella a lot, but both of them were "not feeling great" the next morning. Both said that their stomachs were a little upset and one friend said she did not sleep well. The ONLY things that were all did not share was I did not eat the octopus or the paella, and I felt fine on Monday. Taverna Opa was OK Greek food. It is a chain restaurant, like most I have seen in Orlando, and definitely does not rank as highly as the true Greek resaturants we frequent in Greektown in Chicago.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyedoc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Opa also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Taverna Opa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing