We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, but way too loud for a business dinner”
Review of Taverna Opa

Taverna Opa
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Opa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #245 of 3,829 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sand Lake and International Dr.
Transit: I-Trolly stop #24
Description: We offer an assortment of traditionally prepared dishes of fresh seafood, premium cut meats, and a unique wine selection to complement our menu. Our unique take on dining incorporates celebration and good times to our delicious Mediterranean menu. We encourage you to participate! Jump in the Zorba, our traditional line dance, or dance alongside the belly dancer while a confetti of napkins surrounds you. As the hours pass the night transcends to a more sophisticated nightlife, led by our live DJ spinning a variety of Greek, Spanish, and Top 40 Hits. Fresh seafood and steak along with our nightly entertainment has made Taverna Opa the top destination dining venue in Orlando. Remember, the night’s not over until the ouzo runs out!
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun place, but way too loud for a business dinner”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you like smashed dinner plates and torn napkins thrown into the air, then this place is for you. However it was way to loud to have any kind of conversation over dinner. We had to take out group and leave before ordering because no one could talk! Looked like a gun place for a party however!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonkamanMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    340
    117
    50
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Orlando”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are tired of the breaded and fried food along International Drive, I recommend Taverna Opa. Everything had was fresh and delicious. The grilled octopus appetizer was especially good, and I can honestly say is was the only real food that we ate in Orlando. If you are not into ethnic food, I guarantee you will be able to find something you like on the menu and maybe discover that you like Greek food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WickedThistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very annoying”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is my first negative review ever and is based on the set up only.

We booked a table for four adults and two kids for 7:30pm and on arrival were told that reservations don't get you in on or near time ? You just get added to the waiting list ? Told one hour wait. With kids waiting till 8:30 is not what we had planned. They suggested waiting at the bar ? That's really practical with small kids. The place was busy. Extremely loud and had women dressed up as belly dancers dancing on the tables. Greece is renowned for belly dancing ? Been going to Greece for years and never seen that once. I know my opinion was soured by the booking policy but when I say it was loud I mean deafeningly so.

Regardless of the booking policy I would definitely not recommend unless you are an adult only group.

We left and went to bahama breeze. Much better for a family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrails4231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“LOUD”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you're a tourist and/or don't want to chat with people you are with, you may enjoy this place. The food was good, service very good. But for us, it was WAY TOO LOUD. At 7pm the belly dancer comes out. She danced the entire time we were there. She was entertaining. You are also entertained by the guests having a good time dancing with her, dancing on tables and chugging down ouzo. Before you go, take the reviews that say the place is loud literally. The place is deafening!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank searchinggreatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Greek Food Experience was Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband's and I's first try at Greek Food was excellent. We had complimentary hummus that had garlic, olive oil, salt & pepper and chick peas from what I rememembered and pieces of pita to go with it. It was so delicious and satisfying that it could've been a meal in itself. Our appetizer was the wonderful Saganaki which was a flaming Vlachotiri cheese at your table with brandy, this paired with the hummus and pita was delicious. Our main entree was the huge Steak Souvlaki Platter served open faced on a pita bread with veggies and Opa fries. It was a definitely huge portion, I was barely able to eat half. The service was great and the staff were more than happy to let you know their popular dishes and specials. Great atmosphere located on the top open floor of the Pointe Orlando.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyMinnie7176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Opa also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Taverna Opa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing