We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, fun, fun!!”
Review of Taverna Opa

Taverna Opa
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Opa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #224 of 3,851 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sand Lake and International Dr.
Transit: I-Trolly stop #24
Description: We offer an assortment of traditionally prepared dishes of fresh seafood, premium cut meats, and a unique wine selection to complement our menu. Our unique take on dining incorporates celebration and good times to our delicious Mediterranean menu. We encourage you to participate! Jump in the Zorba, our traditional line dance, or dance alongside the belly dancer while a confetti of napkins surrounds you. As the hours pass the night transcends to a more sophisticated nightlife, led by our live DJ spinning a variety of Greek, Spanish, and Top 40 Hits. Fresh seafood and steak along with our nightly entertainment has made Taverna Opa the top destination dining venue in Orlando. Remember, the night’s not over until the ouzo runs out!
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Greek restaurant'
Food was outstanding, large portions!
Had chicken ka-bob and my husband had lamb chops.
Music very loud but it was still fun!
(Not for an intimate dinner!)
Belly dancer was entertaining and at one point all the waiters and waitresses got up and everyone in restaurant danced with them. They said they do that once or twice a night. Omg!!
Very attentive service by Gular!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meme4934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for Taverna Opa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 721 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

They have very rude hostess and if you dont look at your bill they overcharge you. This has happened twice . I will never be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Oscar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opa_Management, Public Relations Manager at Taverna Opa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback!

After looking over your review we have conducted an investigation within our point of sale system. It is highly improbable that you were charged two times due to the fact our system does not allow one credit card to be charged twice on the same bill. We have had occurrences where a financial institution may hold some funds if your card was charged a different payment amount in a split bill situation. We can not control the debit and credit banking process. We do always suggest if it is a split bill situation to reconfirm with your server what is on your tab.

Taverna Opa Orlando is one of the few restaurants that have accepted parties with over 20 split bills. It is quite difficult to do this but we do the best possible to please every customer.

Again, we do apologize for any inconvenience and we would be glad to revitalize your experience!

Sincerely,

Taverna Opa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went here based on reviews of the belly dancers, fun atmosphere, and good food. I was hoping for a belly dancer show - but they really just walk around and dance on the tables. One of the dancers was very good - the others, not so great, it was more like they were cute and fit the costume. Ok if you are looking for eye candy, not great if you are really looking for show. There is a lot of paper napkin throwing - possibly to help convice you that you are having a great and wild time? but it just makes everything seem messy and dirty. I guess I'm getting old because after the girls are walking around on the dirty floor they get up on the tables where you are eating and dance. I saw several familys wiping down the table with some of the readily available napkins after the dancer left their table. It is fun (and maybe a bit sad?) to watch the mostly drunk crowd get 'crazy' and dance on the table with the dancers.

This place is loud and has a lot of energy. The food and service were just ok. We ordered a fried zucchini appetizer that was pretty good and my chicken souvlaki platter was decent. I'd go here for drinks and to watch the crowd - it does get very crowded after 8pm, but not to eat or stay for more than an hour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travel_junkie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Goodness they have the best greek food in orlando. The chefs should get a raise. Great service, really fun atmosphere, really cool people work there and the management staff is very helpful and always visible during the night. Club style at night is really fun with really hot guys. Greek men are my fave

Thank skanattyska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited Orlando the week of February 18, 2013 and we had dinner at Taverna Opa on Wednesday evening the 20th. What a place, what a scene! If you are looking for a loud, energetic, whirling, even chaotic heck of a great time, then this is the place! No quiet dinner out, here. The place was mobbed! Greek music was loud and celebratory, and a very enthusiastic belly dancer goes from table to table, dancing on the table with members of the party, both men and women. Every so often, someone will yell out "Opa !!" and toss napkins in the air which flutter down like over-sized confetti. We showed up without reservations and the staff got us seated as soon as they were able - we waited at the bar with Greek libations. We had several appetizers first, including a very tasty taramosalata (fish roe dip), Spanikopita (spinach-laced savory pastries), Dolmades (stuffed grape leaves) and crispy calamari. All were wonderful, as good as any we've ever had in Greece. They bring out pita for the table, lightly spiced with rosemary and pepper. They also serve near-humus, chickpeas with lemon and garlic in a carved wooden mortar that you then mash yourself with the accompanying wooden pestle, creating your own absolutely fresh dip. Terrific! Our party had dishes including moussaka, various kabobs, and salads, and everyone raved about how good everything was. Service was admittedly slow, but understandable given the crazy scene. Although invited to participate in the wonderful dancing and general exhuberance, you are free to participate as much or as little as you like, and no one bothers you. We had a great time.

Thank AlleghenyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Opa also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Taverna Opa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing