We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much disappointed”
Review of Joey Mozzarella

Joey Mozzarella
Ranked #5 of 219 Restaurants in Orange Park
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very much disappointed”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I had read the reviews about this place, got really excited to try it, despite my wife's 2nd guesses.
We are running errands close by today, and I finally convinced her to give it a try. I stopped there for a take away 15 to 11 am. They were about to open. The service was not great, and while waiting I had to heard the discussion of 2 men at the kitchen. Silly stuff. Nothing major, but annoying in front of a customer. I did not dine in, but the old carpet and darkness in the main saloon was nothing to be excited about it. I ordered an eggplant and a lasagna. While the pastas itself were good, with flavor, the tomato sauce was very poor. It looked like they had just open a can of a concentrated stuff and pour over the food. No taste of garlic, or onion or any spice. Unfortunately it was frustrating and I do not intend to go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank fcoargemiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    62
    21
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I went there with my family and the food was awesome! You get a very large portion and I will be having it for lunch tomorrow. I ordered one of the specials that I had never seen anywhere before and it was fantastic! It is a great place to try something new and the owner is extremely friendly. He came around to all the tables to greet the customers. I will going back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Yikes it's 's good!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

After reading the wonderful reviews I just knew I had to try it. Now I'm one of the admirers.
The great food reminded me of the neighborhood restaurants in Brooklyn, NY. (where I grew up)
Very good service (thank you Lisa).
Large portions, low prices, yummy food...what more could you ask for?
Check out the daily specials.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had the chicken Alfredo and eggplant Parmesan. Both were very good and fresh. The appetizer bread was killer! The portions were so big we had it again as leftovers. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Libby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My Husband often come to Joey's for the great Italian food. Such a wonderful and homey feel with wonderful service. We are always bringing home leftovers from our dinners. Generous portions. The owner is so seer and personable. Great prices. I highly recommend Joey Mozzarella's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey Mozzarella also viewed

 

Been to Joey Mozzarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing