We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Club Continental Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Orange Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were planning on staying on Jacksonville Beach, a stop on the way from Gainesville to South Florida, visiting friends in Jacksonville. Our friends insisted we stay at the Club Continental, closer to them. What a perfect choice! I had never heard of it. It is a throwback to a lovely old Southern-style vacation home, built for the Palmolive heir back in the day. When we arrived, we were greeted by Harry, very friendly and welcoming. He talked about the grounds and personally took us to our room, The Continental, which has a river view and French doors that open onto a patio, fresh flowers on the table. The room is beautifully appointed, with a fabulous newly renovated bathroom, which is huge! Big Jacuzzi tub and a shower with three heads. Ahhh! All the rooms to have a similar feel, but, different decor. It truly has a feel of a large private home. There were two weddings going on, but, really did not interfere with the ambience. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open, not open on the weekends, so, we ended up in a wonderful little pub on the property grounds, mostly locals, WHAT FUN! There is a complimentary breakfast everyday, both hot and cold choices, very good, big dining area that overlooks the river.
There is a lovely swimming pool, too chilly that day, but, nice to sit outside.
Jacksonville Beach is close, this is a perfect choice.
What a beautiful retreat! Should be on anyone's list as a must!

Room Tip: Continental was lovely, king bed, huge bathroom, river view. There are rooms directly on the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saj1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    20
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
43
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I was there for a family wedding. Everything was exquisite.. the setting for the wedding overlooking the St. John river was just charming. The grounds with the flowers and moss hanging from the trees reminded me of a bygone era.. the food was excellent.. our room, the Mediterranean suite was large, an incredible view and a
very comfy bed. The downside was the noise. Our wedding was on Friday so we stayed over until Sunday.. having driven a long way.. we thought we would relax for an extra day but that didn't happen. There was a luncheon on sat. afternoon and a wedding on Sat . night. Both events took over the hotel. There wasn't even dinner served on saturday night but after checking that was stated on their website but I was still disappointed.. The wedding was very noisy as it should be and by midnight the noise was over ..then around 2 a.m. the party people emerged from a little pub and the noise started all over again ..My point, I would definitely recommend a stay at the Club but make sure there is not a wedding, during the week would probably be splendid!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed for two nights with five friends from high school who met at Club Continental for a reunion of sorts. We loved the clean rooms right on the waterfront and the beautiful grounds. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming but the highlight was the amazing food! The complimentary breakfast was truly outstanding and beyond anything any of us have had anywhere else -- and a few of us are well-traveled to say the least. We also had dinner there one night and were just as pleased at the variety of the offerings and the delicious and lovely presentations. It was amazing. For the price, you could not find a better value, a more relaxed atmosphere and a more gracious place to be.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the water -- we loved being on the lower level right on the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Wonderful weekend spent with friends attending a Jacksonville wedding.
Club Continental is a garden paradise beneath majestic oaks, over looking the St John's river,
with spacious, clean rooms, sumptuous meals, and a staff that makes you feel like royalty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 659margareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We live in a historic town in Guatemala and recently traveled to Jacksonville for a wedding celebration.
Our friends had booked us into the Club Continental and enjoyed our evident delight when arriving at this little gem of Old Florida. We were immediately enthralled by the ample and beautifully kept grounds, dotted with moss covered live oaks and the historic buildings that evoke an era when our world was somehow more wholesome. No wonder Club Continental is a favourite wedding venue! Where else can memorable pictures be taken in front of antique mansions, majestic oaks and the mighty St Johns river, all in one place?
We were treated royally by the owner and her staff, smiles were everywhere and the attention to our needs immaculate. I will miss the steaming mugs of coffee in the cozy restaurant while watching the sunrise over the river.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Take the river suites, recently remodelled. Quiet and great views over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a lovely spot. The place was groomed beautifully and the food was excellent. I would go back in a heart beat. The staff was delightful with the exception of one waitress who continued to call everyone My Dear.

x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a very special friend. My wife and I stayed here in one of the newly remodeled rooms along the St. John's river. The view was beautiful as were the property grounds. You do feel that you are in another time. Pools and landscaping are awesome and a walk around the property is a treat in itself. The room was large and very nice with a balcony on the waters edge, we have paid more for less at other places. Lot of value here, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The River House bar on the property is a gem and the bartender was a pleasure to hang out with.This is a wonderful place to stay and we will definitely come back. Highly Recommend The Club Continental!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamburg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Park
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Orange Park
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Orange Park
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southside Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Jacksonville Orange Park
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville
2.2 mi away
Stay Suites of America
Stay Suites of America
#9 of 12 in Orange Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Club Continental Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Club Continental Suites

Property: The Club Continental Suites
Address: 2143 Astor St, Orange Park, FL 32073-5624
Location: United States > Florida > Orange Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Club Continental Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Continental is more that just a bed and breakfast. Our fifteen River Suites all have private riverfront balconies and each room offers dynamic views. Completed in 1993, these accommodations offer a one-of-kind overnight experience. The seven individually decorated rooms in our mansion feature a romantic old world ambiance. Of course, each overnight stay also includes a complimentary Continental Breakfast. The on site River House Pub gives an added dimension with lively entertainment, spirits, and good cheer, in a relaxed and casual environment, while our elegant riverfront dining room pleases both the palette and the eye. A midst manicured gardens, majestic oaks and aromatic magnolias our dedicated staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Club Continental Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Club Continental Hotel Orange Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing