We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western? "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Southside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Orange Park
Certificate of Excellence
Surfside, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Western? "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly!"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

There's a scene in Blazing Saddles where paint is tossed onto plywood to build a fake Rockridge. Here paint was used to disguise a hotel who has seen too many sunsets! Well pardner, don't let the discount price think you'll get a bargain here. The building and furnishings are old. The guarantee of free wireless means you need to leave your room and move to the little dining area in the lobby...but that was only after I made 7 phone calls to the service provider who knew less than I did about troubleshooting a connection. The place does offer a free morning breakfast. You can't go wrong with yogurt and oatmeal but the microwaveable pancakes and curious meat offerings left me longing for the lone prairie. The bathrooms were recently refurbished and wanted me to shout "Yehaw!" The bed was good, too, and beat sleeping under the stars. Saddle up the horse and mosey down the road further. I think there is a better option and yes, even Howard Johnson has an outpost nearby. As for service....front desk clerks are seldom there. Wait patiently until a hidden camera lets the clerk know you're waiting cause they're in the back someplace doing who knows what.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justthatgoodguyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    67
    44
    29
    14
See reviews for
118
56
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metro DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2007

We were very happy with this hotel! We had the room with one queen bed. The room itself and the hotel in general were very clean. The decor in the room was beautiful and looked new. A bit short on drawer space, but it was fine for a 3 day trip (I always overpack!). For a longer trip, the storage might be a problem. The bathroom was really clean and very pretty - marble floors. The sink was outside the room so one person could be using the sink and mirror while the shower/toilet was being used, a great convenience. The bed was absolutely heavenly, and I wanted to steal the mattress and take it home with me. Linens, etc were all great.

They have a continental breakfast that was very nice. Eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, and yogurt, cereals, pastries, etc. Not gourmet, but probably everyone can find something that they like. Nice large sunny room with tables and chairs and a TV to eat in.

  • Liked — Clean, great beds, great decor, nice layout
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2007

I originally read the reviews for this hotel and even though there was mention of cigarette smell, we decided to stay and made reservations for 5 days.
When we checked in and got to our room, it reeked of cigarette and stale smell that was in the curtains, bedspread and furniture. The ottoman had dirt stains on it and the floors were dirty as well. We decided to stay the night but checked out the next morning cause we couldn't take the smell.
When we checked out, the manager did apologies and even mentioned that it's hard to keep smokers from smoking in the halls that eventually make it into the rooms.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SrTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

The hotel was excellent just as the comments of travelers stated. I definitely would go back when in Jacksonville and highly recommend it. Good breakfast, nice staff, and within distance of everything yet not too close.

  • Liked — The excellent care taken in the layout and cleanliness of the hotel
  • Disliked — 11:00 a.m checkout
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

Stayed 2 nights and very pleased with accomodations and staff. Rooms were large and comfortable and the hot breakfast can't be beat. It's away from the crowded Orange Park main business area but only a couple of minutes away. The A/C is offset from the beds and doesn't blow across them like in many motels. Good value.

  • Liked — location and great hot breakfast
  • Disliked — lights from outside floodlights at night. Maybe affect just certain rooms?
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

I read the reviews and was happy to find a non smoking hotel. I was surprised to see so many smokers staying there. everything does smell of smoke, maybe just from their clothes. when I checked in, my room absolutely smelled of cigar smoke. I had been strictly warned upon check in that I would pay a fine if I smoked. I have respiratory disease so was thrilled to find a non smoking facility. the elevator smelled of smoke. when I opened the door to my room I was overcome with the smell of cigars. I just don't understand why so many smokers would flock to a hotel listed as totally nonsmoking. the parking lots were FILLED with people smoking. it was odd. I went to the front desk and requested that someone come to my room to note the smell so that I wouldn't be charged. it's 100 bucks fine so it was important to me. the clerk agreed that it smelled of smoke and I would not be charged. the room was fine otherwise. the a/c made the smell go away eventually. the staff was very nice. no restaurant but there is a delivery service to a large array of restaurants in the area. food arrived hot, fast and wonderful after a very long travel day. got a good AAA discount.

  • Liked — I needed a specific location
  • Disliked — the smoking smell throughout the property, no restaurant
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alexa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2006

This hotel has spacious rooms but is an old hotel that was remodelled when Best Western took it over. The entire place stinks of smoke...they claim it is a non-smoking property but my whole suitcase still smells of cigarette smoke. I changed rooms 3 times and each one smelled the same.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_world--traveller_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Park
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Orange Park
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Orange Park/Jacksonville
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Orange Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Jacksonville Orange Park
1.0 mi away
Stay Suites of America
Stay Suites of America
#9 of 12 in Orange Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Southside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Southside Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Southside Hotel & Suites
Address: 4580 Collins Road, Orange Park, FL 32073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Orange Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Orange Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Southside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED!! The Best Western Southside Hotel & Suites is newly renovated inside and out! We have a new upscale dining area, new furniture, wallpaper, paint, furniture, carpet and bedding! We are conveniently located to I-295 and a large portion of Orange Park's entertainment area. Less than one mile to Orange Park Kennel Club and Poker Room, Orange Park Mall with a variety of restaurants, stores and movie theater. A huge selection of dining options are also nearby. A free HOT breakfast is available every morning! Our staff has the "can do" attitude to meet almost any request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Southside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orange Park
Orange Park Best Western
Best Western Hotel Southside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing