We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a few days. Cleanliness could be improved.”
Review of Myne Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Myne Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is a nice place to stay for a few days. The wildlife spotting by boat is really good and we saw a lot of different animals including snakes, crocodiles, orang utangs, proboscis monkeys, etc. The resort has a nice deck where the restaurant, bar and reception are located. All meals are served here with a lovely view on the river. The food is really good and there is plenty of it. It can get slightly repetitive after a few days though. There is also free wifi in this communal area of the hotel, as well as complimentary cold mineral water, tea and coffee available all day. One of the ladies that works in the hotel also offers massages in your room at very reasonable prices! I got the full body massage one day and the foot massage the next day and both were really good.
The rooms are a little bit of a let down. They are spacious, but not really very clean which is always a little off-putting. The bathroom, towels and sheets also didn't seem very clean. There are some insects in the room, but that is normal is hot weather climates.
Staff are the resort are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel service, communal areas and local wildlife make up for the rooms being a bit disappointing. I would still come back because we had a great time!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and below are a long walk from the hotel reception, bar and restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 251 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

My partner and I just spent two nights at the Myne River Resort as part of a 4D/3N package with Downbelow Tours. I had been looking forward to this particular bit of our Borneo trip for months, and was not disappointed in the slightest!

The resort is located on a bend in the river, which look out over whilst enjoying meals in the open-air dining area. The meals were great - a couple of meat dishes and vegetables dishes were brought to our table each meal time (except breakfast - one plated up hot breakfast dish each) and they were excellent (fish, chicken, prawns etc). We especially liked the cheery waiter that we had for most meals; unfortunately I did not catch his name, but he seemed lovely.The dining area also had a bar, lounge section, and pool table for use during downtime.

Our chalet (down by the river, not far from the dining are) was great. Spacious room and a balcony overlooking the river. The shower was a bit finicky and we thought it only had cold water for half the stay, but I didn't mind a cold shower in such a hot climate. No wifi in the rooms and only two TV channels, which wasn't really a bad thing!

The river trips were wonderful, with the banks of the river teeming with wildlife (macaques, proboscis monkeys, crocs, hornbills, pythons etc). I can't wait to come back some time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbarella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed two nights at the resort and had a great stay. The company picked us up from the airport and took good care of us during your stay / visits and delivered us safely back at the airport.

During the visit we really did see a lot of wild animals, elephants, crocodiles, Orang Utang, monkeys etc. So for the purpose of the vist it was all achieved with good food, clean hotel room.

What you need to take into account when traveling to the resort is that it is a good stay for max. 1 night or two nights if you have a late arrival. You can only see the animals early morning or late afternoon with limited options to do something in between (perhaps visiting some caves). Two or maximum three boat trips on the river are sufficient as you are doing the same stretch every time.

During the day itself, the resort is not so equipped to hang-around. There is one area where you can sit and read but it is a bit outdated and could be modernized with more things to read, some games etc.

All in all a great stay, great staff but can be modernized for current travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmwschouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Second time to Borneo, we toured 8 years ago, first time to Myne Resort though. Firstly preferred the Sukua part of the Kinabatangan which we had done the first time there, which is busier but has more culture in the way of canoes, boatpeople, stilt river lodges and buildings etc, rather than the quieter Bilit area and Myne Resort this time. Although I would say its here where you are more likely to see better wildlife up the river in the way of Proboscis, Macaques, Pygmy Elephants and hopefully Orang-utans.
Arrived here after the Danum Valley (Borneo Rainforest Lodge 3 nights) for a 3 night wildlife stay. I would have given this a 5 for location and the wildlife and the number of river trips included, but was let down by dirty rooms....read on......
Apparently we were here in Fly Month?...although the food overall was very good and lots of it, we were engulfed by flies during breakfast and dinner on the veranda lookout deck, which has a beautiful position looking out over a curve on the Kinabatangan River (see photos). Our first room was room 3 (1,2 and 3 are furthest away and up 90 quite steep steps) which to be honest is a killer to climb in the heat and humidity which you expect in a rainforest lodge. Make sure you don't forget anything cause' the last thing you want is to go back up to your room and soak another t-shirt! So we had a great view from room 3, very peaceful and nice view from balcony but room was dirty with human hair blocking the shower. We had to complain and they cleared this later. Basically room had not been cleaned, just the bed sorted and sheets changed. Also some lights not working! We consider ourselves fairly fit but did not want to face this climb every time you go to your room...its a killer! The said we had the honeymoon suite which sounded great although we've been married for an age....believe me if you were on honeymoon you'd have no strength left for newlywed activities going up these steps for breakfast, lunch, and evening dinner! This is a good reason for not returning to this place unfortunately! So we asked to move to a cleaner room and closer to the reception area. Only three rooms seemed to be occupied while we were there.....so strange that they put us right up the top when there were other closer rooms available! We moved to room 10, one of the closest but still around 35 steps to climb! Two Oriental cockroaches when we entered the room and found and killed two later on! No real problem you find cockroaches in hot humid places. So we had to wipe all the shelves in the wardrobe before hanging our clothes there. In both rooms the in-room safes never worked! Again lovely view, room quite large etc, bed quite comfortable and was ready but walls were filthy with dust and cobwebs, no hot water, not even warm for three days? They have a very crappy antiquated water heater system in the rooms which you have to fiddle about with apparently to get some hot water...well we never had any! OK so its hot and humid and a cooler shower can be quite welcoming I suppose! OK about the flies, we've been to lots of long tropical holidays, Africa, Costa Rica, India, Sri Lanka etc, and this is the worst we've had flies during breakfast and dinner (flies seemed to vanish for the evening meals).
After our second morning trip on the river the owners (three of them) arrived and wanted to know what we thought of the resort and to give any useful criticism etc. So we mentioned the flies and the dirty rooms. (Strange that we were supposed to request any new towels or replacement soap etc rather than the staff automatically checking themselves?)...Never known this? Rooms had good air con and fans though! Some cleaning staff very lazy and it seems they need a good shake up! Anyhow once we mentioned about the flies to the owners we had sticky fly-catchers on our tables which consequently caught 82 flies at lunchtime. Sad that we quite enjoyed having a competition with another English couple on the next table....think we won 82 flies to their 78? The owners at the lunch witnessed the fly problem explaining that it was just one month of the year! One of the female staff...Amira (we think) who does a very good massage in you room and pedicure etc which we both had, doubled up as a fly-scarer waving her tickling stick over the food and around us, enabling us to somewhat enjoy the food instead of needing four arms, two arms to keep waving them off the food. Once the owners who were there to find out why the place was so empty had left, we went back to the normal procedure of waving the flies away and I had to ask for the sticky fly catchers at every further meal. Think I took the last one on our last day! Basically it seems excepted that the flies are there and they made no real attempt to try to minimise them until we complained!
So the river trips were good and the guides there made every effort to find the wildlife, especially Orang-utans and Proboscis Monkeys and inform us about them etc. Also a night trip up the river was quite good, even in the occasional down-poor they did not want to let us down. The guide there in the photo....I'll call him Mr Wok (sorry if its wrong) was very helpful and informative.
So to sum up, the main problem with this place is the steps up to the rooms.....too hot and humid to climb 90 steps up to the furthest rooms. If we were ever to return we would want a clean room and one of rooms closer to reception. This alone is a reason for not returning! They need to get their act together, especially the cleaners of the rooms and also sort the crap shower system out. They have over the years it seems spent plenty in building up this resort but the empty rooms make it clear people are probably not returning there. I would say go there but request a closer room and hope that they have listened to the clients complaints about the flies and the dirty rooms. Saw lots of Proboscis mostly further back off the river and high up in the trees and one Orang-utan at a distance. Also many birds and Macaques and Crocs, Monitors up the river.
Shame its a beautiful location but could be so much better in understanding what the current problems are. There is a nice small fish lake at the back of Myne Resort which had a bridge and seating area to view the nature, like Kingfishers, Dragonflies and fish, Butterflies etc. You can also purchase fish food! Travelled as a couple....we take plenty of wildlife photos! www.flickr.com/photos/onemoreshotrog We found out once back in England that when we landed at KL airport at 12.30am, (for the connecting flight to KK) that the dreaded flight that disappeared must have been on the runway and took off at 12.41, just 11 minutes later. Makes you think! Poor soles! Still Hoping for some miracle, RIP flight MH370.

Room Tip: Definitely request one of the closer to reception rooms! All have nice views though. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onemoreshotrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We spent 3 weeks packed with activities in Sabah with our 5 children but the 3 days spent here were the best out of all of them! Excellent food, helpful pleasant staff, plenty to see in the jungle.... could have happily spent a week here! Air conditioned rooms, clean white linen and towels in the midst of the jungle at a very reasonable price! My son loves fishing so we rented a fishing rod from the resort for only 6 MYR a day, which kept him very happy between river cruises and late into the night. We opted for the longest possible jungle trek and managed to spot a sleeping orangutan in the trees above. Would recommend it to everyone going to Sabah.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_Maxwell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

A two day stay on our Wildlife tour, and the best part of the tour. Our chalet was the nearest to the restaurant area, so we didn't have the stiff climb up, as others on our tour had. Food was fine, with them recognising we might like some European comforts such as chips.
The location is wonderful on the river with a lovely large outside area to sit and watch the passing scene. On our last morning the local Orang had located in a fig tree immediately opposite the resort.
We had several boat trips, the area is largely farmed with only strips of remaining forest along the river. Although bad for nature, it does make seeing the wildlife far easier from the boats. We saw a lot of Proboscis monkeys, Macaques and Langurs. We also had the boat and trek to the Oxbow lake, I don't think any of the group were too sure why this was considered to be something special!
If I ever go back to Borneo this would be my first choice for a few days.

Room Tip: Try to be near the restaurant, the further chalets are quite an up steps haul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Myne Resort. Rooms were very spacious and comfortable and filled with character. We stayed in the chalets on stilts overlooking the river. The staff were extremely friendly and the food was tasty and plentiful. The boat trips from the resort were a highlight of our time in a Sabah.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
1 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
91 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
21.4 mi away
Kinabatangan Wetlands Resort
1.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myne Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myne Resort

Address: Kampung Bilit, Kota Kinabatangan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price Range: $170 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Myne Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Myne Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myne Hotel Sandakan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing