We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel is an excellent base for river cruises where you can see several interesting animals from birds to orang-utans and crocodiles. Our chalet was clean and nicely decorated, but the only thing that I missed there was a mosquito net. This net is mainly for convenience as we did not have any mosquitos or other bugs in the bed, but still as you are in a jungle it would be nice to have some just-in-case protection.

Staff at the hotel were friendly and the main "building" was cosy and nice to hang around. There is not really that much to do except the cruises and jungle walks, but meanwhile its just great to have a rest in a hammock with the jungle sounds around you. I would recommend the place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leena152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Hello Leena152,
Appreciate the review and we are delighted to know that you had enjoy the natural attractions here at bilit Rainforest Lodge. We shall definitely review on your feedback with the mosquito netting. Further to your compliment on the staff, we are indeed fortunate to have some wonderful young team with diverse ethnic background, it really does add to the experience. Thank you for your recommendation look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Bilit Rainforest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 263 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here for 3 n ights and had a wonderful time. The beds were quite comfy, the rooms were clean and the front porch was a great place to relax and read a book. We booked a tour through Amazing Borneo and our guide, Jum, was top notch! She even played the guitar and sang for us. There was plenty of food and the river cruises were great. I don't know how the boat captain an be so quick finding the wildlife, but we saw everything!! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikenGena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Hello MikenGena,
Its terrific to know that you and your partner had an enjoyable stay. Yes, Jum is definitely a gem and as always her cheerful self and effortlessly making new friends. We have passed your positive feedback on to our team, it's good to know they provided friendly and knowledgeable services. Thank you for your excellent review of us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Bilit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

In common with others we found the location, rooms and scheduled trips to be very good. I can confirm that there were 3 dogs in the lodge area but they were not a problem - we had two of them for company on our deck one afternoon. There also appears to be a resident troop of macaques that can be seen at dawn and dusk. We found lunch and dinner food to be plentiful and varied. We particularly enjoyed the huge river prawns and the well cooked vegetables. Breakfdt was basic but we were happy to eat toast, fresh fruit etc.

Our niggle is that there is little to do between breakfast following the dawn boat trip and 4pm when you depart for the dusk boat trip. That is simply too long to be "relaxing". We had a brief walk to the village BUT this is not a cultural opportunity: the river people wear English Premier League football shirts and cycle shorts, carry mobile phones and the village is dominated by huge satellite dishes. There is absolutely nothing to do after dinner which is done and dusted by 8:30pm - unless you want to pay for another boat ride!

So, Billit get you act together and put a more comprehensive program together. It can be done - we visited the Amazon rainforest in Peru and their program was much, much better. I think there needs to be a PROPER third activity each day.

We enjoyed the opportunity to see primates in the wild but I would not recommend the trip to my friends.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank scubafanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Spent 3 nights here and saw the most amazing wildlife....orangutans, pigmy elephants, crocodiles, macaque monkeys, eagles, hornbill birds etc. The lodge had very basic accommodations & meals. Nothing fancy by any means, but the staff is very friendly. Be prepared for rain...lots of rain when going on wildlife outings. No complimentary Wi-Fi available, but can be purchased. If you enjoy a beer or glass of wine we would suggest you purchase and take it with you before arriving. They have some, but cost more than you would want.

Room Tip: The rooms are eco like huts. No recommendations for the best room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our chalet was deep in the jungle which was ok.In one chalet are four rooms,our room had a/c and ceiling fan,hard as a rock bed.Our bathroom was very small with hot water shower,but the water heater was running very loud.We had one dinner and one breakfast there,not so much to eat and the quality of food just so so.Breakfast was only toast with jam,eggs and very poor sausages so we left hungry. Our suggestion to management better to make only asian style food than poor mix western and asian.Afternoon tour was great but morning cruise was cancelled due to weather conditions.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magdalena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at this lodge as part of our 4N/5D tour with Amazing Borneo Tours. We stayed for 2 nights. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and had everything you needed. Wifi was available in the main dining/reception/meeting area but not in the rooms. Food was plentiful and we never went hungry. We did wildlife viewing on the river a few times and saw heaps of wildlife. We had private massages done in our rooms. This is a must. The Bilit Lodge gave us a little bit of an adventure while staying in the Borneo Jungle. Just remember not to leave anything like shoes out on your verandah as the monkeys will steal anything not tied down. Had a great stay here

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Hi rbsimmo, we appreciate you taking time to review us and sharing your views with others. Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, our humble lodge is ideal for those who like to get away from the busy sound of city life and mingle with the local natives staff. Thanks again for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were booked at this place by the tour operator for two nights - so no choice. On reaching the other side of the river the first thing you see are the shabby staff quarters which are next to the reception and school dinner hall they call the restaurant - this means there is music and noisy activity when eating (though the latter does not take long!). The reception bar area is like a youth club with loads of staff hanging around not doing much - there is no management of the lodge to speak of. Dogs roam around looking threatening and when the reception is asked to do something about them nothing is done. The food is appalling - anyone who says it is above poor operate on a c food diet - see food and eat it regardless of quality. The rooms are large and OK but the cleaning staff carry no cleaning materials with them just a brush and a dustpan - we watched them work there way down the lodges, including spending all of two minutes servicing our room. The focus of the school dinner hall is the TV which is in one corner which is always on full blast with staff congregating around it all the time.
The river tours are what you go here for and they are very good but there are other places to stay and that is my recommendation until this place gets managed like it should be - Gordon Ramsay would have a hey day.
If you are there for two nights on the second day if you have gone out in the morning boat trip and want to do another one in the afternoon at about 4pm there is nothing to do other than relax with the marauding dogs!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hello beats21,
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us. However, thank you for your feedback as we are keen to know and it helps us to improve better in serving our guests.

Further to address on your comment on dogs loitering the area, this is unusual as the natives around Kinabatangan River are mostly Muslim and they do not keep dogs. Perhaps the dogs you have seen are those from other villagers, however these dogs could not access the lodge area and normally rummage under the dining hall whenever guests dropped/ threw leftovers out. Most of our previous guests never encountered them, nonetheless we thank you to brought this up as we have things to look at improving next.

Our meals are the variations of Asian and western of buffet setting, we cater for special dietary needs to such as vegetarian, gluten free etc. Perhaps the tour operator that you booked from never specified this to you.

The dining hall is as well the area for tour guides to meet up with their guests for briefing and to mingle. therefore the staff you saw may not be our lodge staff as the guides are from other tour operators that booked their guests into our lodge. We shall however look at informing all our tour operator on this therefore proper briefing will done to their guides. This shall avoid unnecessarily missed communication from the agent to the guests too, especially to inform on the program involved throughout the day.

As most wildlife are active during morning and late afternoon, this the very reason the boat cruise are done twice daily at 6 am and at 4 pm. Afternoon is a very and easy, we have our river jetty to relax by or guests could opt for trail walk (chargeable optional trip).

Hope this helps to give better insight to your comments, we thank you still for the time taken to feedback us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
0.7 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
1.0 mi away
Myne Resort
Myne Resort
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
354 reviews
5.1 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
189 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price Range: $217 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing