We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class resort, huge rooms, excellent food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“First class resort, huge rooms, excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is absolutely first class, rooms are extremely spacious, clean with two huge double beds, mineral water and soft clean sheets. Food is amazing buffet style and fresh and tasty. Loved the river boat cruises although be warned you wont see that many animals. We were lucky to see elephants (twice a month sightings!). Loved Bilit would go back there again. Fab.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Can upgrade to a VIP room which is furthest away but not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannehurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaurista, Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello joannehurley,
Good to see you here and thank you for your time to do this, very much appreciated especially of your busy schedule. We are happy that you had a Wonderful time with us, thanks again for the recommendations made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    106
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
56
135
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Overall the Lodge is good, with large spacious rooms, big verandas with hammocks to relax in, the restuarant/communal area/bar is large and open. The meal times are set, and aside from breakfast, which has the usual fare along with the obligatory 'egg station' lunch and dinner leave a lot to be desired. We stayed for 2 nights, and really enjoyed the river tours, although they do end up being a little bit repetative, but the lodge can't help that.
We travelled with 2 children 10 & 12, and it was only after we arrived on a pre-booked tour were we informed that the planned jungle trek would not be suitable for children (3 hours through the mud), and we could borrow some gum boots, but not in choldren's sizes, which meant that we sat around for most of the day waiting for the next river tour.
But back to the food....it is truly terrible, with some of the dishes containing significantly more bones than anything edible (we are still trying to establish exactly what the grey coloured meat was for one meal), and it wasn't just us, every other group, couple etc were saying the same thing, and there are no other options. Our children essentially lived on plaing rice and watermelon for the time we were there, while the rest of us suffered through. If you go I recommend a really really big breakfast which minimises the amount needed at lunch time.
On an upside, the guides are knowledgable and have some of the best eyesight we have ever enountered, which ensures that you miss out on nothing.
I think that one night is plenty of time here, beyond that it is all much of the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJungleCat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Bilit very much, but this was in spite, rather than because, of the hotel. Our initial impression was of a really nice set up in a lovely location, but over the course of the two nights and one and half days we were there, the repetitive nature of the food and the lack of any apparent management to deal with things, irritated us and soured our view of the hotel.

The location is great, and our guide (not supplied by the hotel) was helpful and knowledgeable, there was however, clearly a policy to discourage guests from taking part in anything other than the river cruises, and certainly not to take part in any guided treks, which meant we ended up doing the same river cruise three times - that said, we enjoyed it, if found it a little passive, and we were lucky and saw a fair variety of different animals. Be warned, if you want to see elephant, they have not been seen for three months and are only seen about once every six months according to our guide, whilst the last time a sun bear was seen was over two years ago. Proboscis monkeys, macacques and birds of all sorts will be on offer, and we also saw lizards, crocodiles, gibbons and various snakes, butterflies and wonderful plant life. The river does get busy in the evenings however, with all the boats from the many lodges in the area.

The food was perfectly adequate, but repetitive and frequently heavy on bone. We never worked out quite how a chicken could be cut up to ensure that every piece was more bone than meat - the same was true of the lamb. During our stay we drank two of the only three bottles of wine (only red available) that the hotel had - and they were all different; soft drinks were also quite limited. The meals are all self service and take place in an attractive open sided central dining hall.

Internet was intermittant to put it mildly. We were able to connect only once during the time we were there. Staff seemed unable to suggest/do anything to try to recover the signal (yes - we do understand this hotel is in the middle of the jungle, but it did advertise wifi as one of it's services). Many of the staff were unable to speak much English at all and so dealings over this and difficulties with our shower, were not straight forward. The hotel has notices in all the rooms asking that guests conserve water, but this did not prevent them from ignoring the fact that our shower could not be turned off and ran constantly from the first time we used it until we left, despite our reporting of the problem, and the fact that it also only ran cold, on a number of occasions. It was never obvious who, if anyone, was managing the hotel.

As others have observed, this hotel could be fantastic if someone gave the staff a kick up the backside and actually managed what was going on/dealt with maintenance issues. The chalets seem well designed and the rooms were spacious and attractive as was the setting. We had a semi detached chalet, with an adjoining door to the other half, which is ideal for those travelling with smaller children. The chalet had a wide verandah equipped with chairs and a hammock and mosquitos were surprisingly, although not entirely, absent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steppeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The lodge has a lot to offer - a great location on the river, some wonderful guides who are respectful and helpful and lovely, fantastic nature all around, spacious rooms, and lots of time and an environment to relax and unwind.

The main things letting this lodge down are the food and the general upkeep and service. The food is really difficult to sustain after a day or so. It's hard to cook for people en mass, but even on days when there were only a few groups staying at the lodge it was the same overly sweet, fried and saucy meals with sweetened white bread and rice. Breakfasts, if you are on an early tour, consist of the same fried foods and sweetened bread. With hot, humid days, some fresh food would do wonders.

The other element letting the place down is the upkeep and service. The rooms are large and generally well maintained. Though they are not serviced quickly and general conveniences are left up to the guest to source - we had to ask to get toilet paper and the bathrooms end up with hundreds of ants overnight that aren't ever really removed, just washed into a corner. The sheets and blankets are frayed and stained, but otherwise comfortable. Things like the hammock being free of bugs and cleaned would not occur if there was a manager overseeing the large number of staff at the lodge (which was a positive, having a lot of families around).

There are great things about this lodge too - the drinks are available all day and are cheap. The laundry service is well maintained and our clothes came back lovely. You are left to your own pace - if you want to join in on the river cruises you can, but you can also opt out (though it's generally included in the cost anyway).

The wifi service is not available - even though it's promoted as being in a wifi zone, we could not get the internet at all on the trip.

Ultimately the jungle experience is great and it was wonderful to do the river cruises, cave and orangutan sanctuary, but the comforts of a great lodge were lacking at the Bilit Rainforest lodge, which took away a little from the relaxing atmosphere. With better food and a closer attention to detail, this could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xdaisyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

3 Hrs drive from the Sandakan Town and then a 5 minute boat ride gets you to the Lodge. Nice lodge - great rooms (with a little wildlife inside - I suppose its expected in a rainforest). However the safari is a letdown. 3 hours in a boat and you see 3 different kinds of Monkey. So after your 1st safari - you have been there and done that! We had 3 safaris pre booked - so same place again and probably the same monkeys too. if you are REALLY LUCKY you might see the Orangutan. And if you are willing to pay extra for fuel they will take you further down the river to look for Borneo Pygmy Elephants - unfair as they know the general whereabouts of the elephant area so they should include it in the paid safari and not ask for more money. Food is good. Weather is very rainforest with showers every night.

Room Tip: Tell them you don't really like wildlife crawling around the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here as a 2N 3D package which was enough time. The place is very run down although we were not expecting 5 star in the jungle, they need to spend some money and do some maintenance. We travelled with our 11 year old daughter and were picked up from Sandikan airport by our delightful tour guide. We visited Sepilok to see the orangutans which was great although the rehabilitation centre at the Rasa Ria resort in KK was better. We were then taken to the lodge after a 1.5 hr scenic drive where you and your luggage are transferred to a boat for a 5 minute trip. Our bags were promptly taken to our room and we were offered lunch. After lunch you are then shown your room and briefed about the rest of the activities for the day. Our guide was always very informative and gave advice on what to wear or bring. Our room was adequate although both taps ran constantly and the bathroom old and mouldy, it's very basic. Thankfully we had air conditioning which worked ok and there were three beds in our room so the size of the room was also quite big. Our first river cruise was great and we saw plenty of monkeys and birds then returned to the lodge for dinner. I agree with other reviewers that the lodge staff have no interest in being there and would just sit around all day watching tv eating the food which they often ran out of. We wanted to sit in the lounge chairs to chat to other travellers but they were always occupied by the staff watching tv.
There weren't many people staying at the resort so couldn't understand why they had no bread or milk on the first few days. They did have a few bottles of wine for sale at 110 ringet and we were able to charge things back to our room which I believe you could pay by credit. card. We then did the night cruise which is great and the captain of the boat was fantastic at spotting wildlife including snakes, owls, crocs etc. Day 2 is quite boring as after the morning cruise there's nothing to do until 4pm so if you have kids bring entertainment. The wifi was hit and miss, the food very ordinary although they would cook eggs for breakfast which was welcomed. First day there was no bread for toast or milk for coffee at breakfast but day 2 they seemed better prepared. Overall it was a great experience to spend a few days in the jungle although disappointed we didn't see elephants or orangutans but that's just bad luck and no fault of the lodge. They need to clean up the place a bit as there' s plastic bottles lying around and flea ridden cats and dogs that wonder around the resort dining areas. We were fortunate enough to have a fantastic guide who was with our group the entire time but on the last day we were taken to the bat caves although we thought we were doing the city tour. We were then taken to the English Tea House for lunch which is a beautiful location with great views but the food very average but didn't matter as we weren't that hungry. Our guide then dropped us at the airport for our return to KK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stocksadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I booked this for myself and my partner through Amazing Borneo Tours based in KK [ I live in Brunei] It is in the middle of the jungle. For those who complain that there is no pool, do not comprehend the logistics of such an amenity. It would be impossible to ,aintain and then there would be complaints about the cleanliness of the pool ANYWAY the room was spacious,secure comfy bed, good water pressure in the shower and the meals catered to both western and asian palates. We felt completely safe and secure in the accommodation and on the river cruises seeing crocodiles, pygmy elephants, macaques,probiscus monkeys and the highlight for my partner an orangutan in the wild.
The downside is , ensure you have enough small ringgit to pay for your drinks, they do have VISA facilities, but the connectivity is erratic as is the wifi. But hey it is in the jungle!! The atmosphere added to the jungle experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctorsassistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
0.7 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
0.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#6 of 29 in Sandakan
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Bilit Adventure Lodge
Bilit Adventure Lodge
#10 of 29 in Sandakan
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Property: Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing