We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good jungle experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spend 2 nights at the resort. We arrive very late the first afternoon (to late for the 4pm river cruise) but they organized one just for us.
The guide was very interesting and gave us a lot of information about the famous proboscis monkeys which were there.
Our room (little wooden villa) was very big and clean. We appreciated the air con. The resort was lovely with theses little villas interconnected by a kind of woodenbridge. The food was average.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legreg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Bilit Rainforest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 263 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

This resort is 2-hour drive from Sandakan Town to jetty. The road in Sandakan, horrible~~~ If you are insisting of driving to the Kampung Bilit's jetty, bare in mind, only 4WD allowed.

However, we have no regret after all the long distance journey. The lodge is simply covered by nature. You actually hear birds sing along the way to the main reception counter. We checked in to a family room. We were so surprise because the family room is so huge, that it is able to accommodate 5 person!!! Best of all, you still have ample space to move around. There is so swing bed in front of every lodge, where you can enjoy the sound of nature (But not recommend you to do that at night, because it is full on mosquitoes~~). The lodge has separated toilet and bathroom.

The restaurant is located just behind the main lobby. The food is simply superb. No MSG guaranteed because did not feel thirsty at all after the lunch, teatime and dinner. ^^

The funny thing is while you are ready for bed, you are accompanied by the choir of toad, frog and crickets. My parents and I laughed through all the night and the next morning because it seems that they were having daily meeting~~ The sound amazingly mixed harmoniously. Then, when the sun rises, the sound stopped and everything turned quite. ^^

We were having great time there, despite the cancellation of Kinabatangan River trip due to weather. Hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Please do travel on end of February - Mid September. Other than that will be raining season, where m...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicLo2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour down the Kinabatangan River run by Diethelm travel and I loved every minute I was here. The staff are friendly, the rooms are huge and beautiful, clean and comfortable and full of character with nature right outside your door. The food was buffet style and delicious, always lots of options. The river cruises were fantastic, we got really lucky and saw loads of animals (although they can't guarantee sightings obviously). You are in the jungle so obviously there are bugs and insects around, but the staff do a great job of keeping them out of the sleeping area - nets on the windows and a net over the bed, as well as cans of bug spray in the room. The bathrooms were fairly basic but clean.

I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Spent two nights here to experience the jungle. A great place to do so. The rooms were great. Wooden spacious huts with clean water, toilet and two queen size beds and even a hammock on the verander. Really comfortable and clean and as long as you don't mind sharing your outside space with some bats it's all good :).

The trips they offer along the river are very educational and we saw wild orangutuns, crocodiles, proboscis monkeys and macaques it was truly amazing.

Great friendly guides and nice food. Well worth the money

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cattarzipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here as part of a river cruise package, booked via the hotel's website. Choose this hotel, partly because of the review in the Borneo Lonely Planet guide. 
We had a detached bungalow which is very spacious with separate bathroom and toilet and a huge porch with 2 ratan chairs and a hammock. None of the bungalows have river views but are facing the garden. Rooms have a/c, fan tea making facilities and a safe. Our room had two queen size beds but not sure if this is standard in all rooms. On the first day, we had buffet lunch and dinner which pretty good and the restaurant/bar was full with wat appeared to be staff and their families as a staff party was organised that evening. They included the few tourists who were at the resort, but have to admit thatwe didn't really expect to hear karaoke in our room when we left the party as we were t have a morning river cruise at 7am. Over the next couple of days, a big tv in the corner of the restaurant would be on constantly with staff in front of it which didn't really contribute to the atmosphere in the restaurant. On the next two days, there were only a few guests left in the whole place, so we didn't get any buffets anymore, but several  lunch/dinner dishes were served at the table. In itself fine, but we really felt that not a lot of effort was being done for us as several ingredients or even dishes, kept coming back over the next couple of days. Furthermore, we were beng asked about food allergies etc when we booked but we were being served this anyway and no subsitute dishes were available. After the first night of the staff party, the only drinks available were beer, sprite, water and tea and coffee. No new supplies were brought in in the next days that we spent here. Our room wasn't cleaned or towels refreshed in the 3 days we spent here. 
The river cruises were fantastic and we spotted several animals and birds including elephants, crocodile, hornbills and orang utan. Of course, we were here for the wildlife but as this place is listed as one of the more luxerious places in Kinabatangan area in the Lonely Planet, I was a bit dissapointed in the effort thas being done for us in terms of food, drinks and the atmosphere. It really felt as if staff was tired of the busy July/August holiday season and shifted to 2nd gear.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvira75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I never regretted to stay at Bilit Rainforest Lodge after researching for the lodges available around this region. I am very happy that we made the right decision. The rooms are air conditioned, clean and spacious. No complaints for the food considering in this remote place but Do expect flies & Mosquitos so Insect repellant will be handy.

We manage to see the lovely probiscis monkey, orang utan & many birds during the river cruise. The weather was good and kind to us. Our guide tried to find elephants for us during the river cruise, but we did not see one.

We also went turtle island for a night and the experience was fabulous to witness the mother laying eggs right in front of us! We booked the full packages with Amazing Borneo Tours after some research through the trip advisor website. We totally recommend this lodge if you want to consider better accommodation in the jungle.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

You have aircon in your room you don't get more luxury than that in the jungle (well ok its not remote jungle)

This is an easy way to access nature
My wife hates bugs and we had no issues staying here compared to other places we have been
no bugs in the room and hardly any around the lodges

We saw all the wildlife we hoped to see during the river trips - although most was seen on the first trip and not so much on the 2nd ,but that is nature for you

Food was good (not amazing )and plentiful and the staff were all friendly

They do need to turn the volume down on the TV in the dining area though as a bit annoying for the guests

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasgow_Gambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
0.7 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
1.0 mi away
Myne Resort
Myne Resort
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
354 reviews
5.1 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
189 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price Range: $217 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing