We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Borneo rainforest experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at Bilit Rainforest Lodge with spouse & 2 children age 8 & 11 years. Booked 2 rooms. Rooms very spacious, beds very comfortable, very clean & aircon makes for good sleep. Relax in hammock on your room deck & listen to all the birds & watch butterflies! Took both morning & afternoon cruises for 2 hours with a guide over several days & highly recommend it. Saw an amazing variety of wildlife & was given a marvellous insight into the environment of this area by the guide. Most people only stay 2 nights at lodge, but the 3 gave us a chance to really relax. Staff very friendly, food excellent and plentiful. This was a very welcome respite after a trip to Selingan turtle island and Sepilok Orang-utan centre, both fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian_Perth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 271 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here - it provided some enforced relaxation as we couldn't leave the boardwalk due to flooding. The morning and afternoon boat trips were excellent with lots of wildlife. I enjoyed the side rivers and creeks more than the big wide river. We also did the optional night cruise which was also excellent.
If you can't lay back and read a book for hours inbetween the cruises then this may not be the place for you - if you are happy to chill out in an excellent setting then its great.
Staff were super friendly and came to the rescue when we discovered a large spider in our room after dinner!
The food was quite ok - some excellent river prawns at one meal. Light breakfast, breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner all served. All day tea and coffee, filtered water provided and a simple bar.
The walls are pretty thin so you can hear everything from the room next door - light sleepers might prefer the detached cabin rather than the semi detached.
The one improvement I would suggest are cushions for the big chairs on the deck.
There was internet but I found it un-usably slow.

Room Tip: Stay in detached cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have just returned from 2 nights at the Bilit Rainforest Lodge, and having read some of the previous reviews I thought it was only fair to add my thoughts from this very recent trip.

The lodge is what I expected and more. Not forgetting this this place is in the middle of the rainforest, and the only way to reach it is by boat from across the river, I had a very enjoyable stay here. You can't expect 4-5 star luxuries from a rainforest lodge. We stayed in a family room, with 2 large double beds and one single. The room was clean, had a ceiling fan, aircon and a very large bathroom with hot water in the shower. The only noise at night was from the animals and birds, and it was wonderful to wake up to such noises. No safe in the room, as mentioned by one review previously, so you do need to keep your valuables on you.

The boat trips were fantastic - we took two afternoon trips at 4pm, and one morning boat trip at 6:30am. Breakfast was available from 6am (coffee, toast) then full breakfast upon return from the morning trip at 9am. Lunch and dinner offered a few varieties of dishes, rice, vegetables, noodles, all of which was very nice. They even provided ice cream after dinner - a welcome unexpected treat in the middle of the jungle!

The restaurant staff were polite, and I think some of them had a lack of English, making communication difficult at times, as opposed to being rude which previous reviews may suggest.

During our boat cruises we saw lots of wildlife from out boats on the river - orangutans, proboscis monkeys, macaques, silver leaf monkeys, eagles, monitor lizards, storks, egrets, to name but a few. There was flooding around the lodge, so it was impossible to walk to the Oxbow Lake. We did the trip by boat instead, following the path through the trees where the river normally joins the lake. I think that was even more enjoyable than the walk would have been.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable trip. I would love to go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthernLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I contacted Bilit Rainforest lodge to book a double room.

I requested a rate for their double room and was quoted RM700 per person for two nights.
I told the Sales Coordinator that I did not wish any of their included tours, only the price of a room to which I got the reply

"The rooms are included with the river cruises. If you wish not to take the river cruises, the rates will still remain the same. Looking forward to hearing from you"

You will hear from me allright. NOT...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
5  Thank EmmaTheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed here as part of a wildlife tour and found it to be very nice in most respects. For a nature lodge, it had nice amenities - ceiling fan, air conditioning, and hot water. Did not have room safes though, so you have to keep your passport and money with you, which is unfortunate. The rooms are very nice, spacious, etc. However, they do not provide service on the rooms - they drop off two bottles of water per day and a roll of toilet paper, and that is it. They apparently launder the towels offsite and so we did not have any available at check in, but some arrived later, and we did not get a new one unless we asked. Not a big deal, but good to know in advance.

We had an excellent boatman and booked a private boat tour for 5 cruises, allowing more flexibility than the non-private. The river cruises are a great and easy way to see wildlife - proboscis monkeys, orangutangs, pygmy elephants, several species of monkeys, tons of birds. The wildlife viewing was great and the purpose of the stay. Therefore I would stay here again and recommend it if that is your main interest.

The food was alright, and in line with what we found elsewhere in Borneo, but not great. They offer many beverages but not Diet Coke, and no ice. Not a surprise for a nature lodge not to have everything on offer, though, so not really an issue. The setting, with forest and river boundaries, is great. The only drawback is the sounds of people - music, whether from staff quarters or other guests, etc. so I do recommend earplugs to assure you can sleep when you want to.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Very friendly hotel assessable only by boat. Stays here also include night and morning river cruises to see wildlife - crocs, elephants, hornbills and as many monkeys as you could wish to see

Small hotel, with wooden jungle lodges. Spacious and comfortable rooms but without hot running water!!

Food served in a buffet style restaurant, good choice and plentifull. Bring loads of mossie spray as it is open air and naturally attractive to every flying insect imaginable!!

Veranda with hammock very appealing, but don't leave clothes out to dry overnight as they will be investigated by all the local wildlife

Great place to stay to explore wildlife and live the rainforest experience without the camping and mossie nets. Don't expect 5 star pillows and night entertainment, just sleep to the sounds of the jungle.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSomersetSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We couldn't have expected anything better in a lodge nestled in a remote rainforest on the banks of the Kinabatangan river! Our desire to spend time in nature's bosom, see more of wild-life and less of homosapiens was fufilled to our heart's content.
Contrary to other reviews here, we did not have to carry our luggage to our room and back ourselves; it was done by the staff. The rooms were unexpectedly spacious, with 2 double beds and a separate toilet and a bath. The AC, geyser, lights and fans worked perfectly well-quite surprising for a remote place like this one. Free, high speed internet too was available at the dining area.
Considering the location of this relatively new lodge, where one has to arrive in a boat, the food buffet offered was good and we were quite satisfied with it.
Their marketing executive Mr Jimmy was extremely prompt in replying to all our mails and made our choice of booking this resort easier. The managing director Mr Lim was extremely courteous and helpful.

Our guide for the wild-life river cruises was Bennie, a smart, bubbly woman with 20 years experience in the field. Her conversation was infused with lot of jest and local flavour. The river cruises along the Kinabatangan river were a visual treat and we could sight several species of birds, reptiles and macaques. The area surrounding our room itself was a wild-life haven and even when we strolled around we could sight an amazing and colourful array of insects and birds and reptiles!

If you want to relax in a tranquil place when nature abounds or are a serious wild-life lover, we recommend this place to explore the best of Borneo wild-life!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabatangan
0.7 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Myne Resort
Myne Resort
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bilit Adventure Lodge
Bilit Adventure Lodge
#10 of 29 in Sandakan
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
5.1 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Address: KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kota Kinabatangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Price Range: $218 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bilit Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing