We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utterly relaxing, perfect for families with young...”
other travelers have booked this property
Little Apple Barn - light and airy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Apple Barn - light and airy
Little Apple Barn Little Apple Barn open plan living and dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Little Apple Barn - light and airy
Little Apple Barn
Little Apple Barn open plan living and dining
Little Apple Barn open plan dining area
Little Apple Barn bedroom
Little Apple Barn has a shower not a bath
Little Apple Barn - a place to relax
Seating for 8 even before you extend the table
Play house in Bluebell Woods
Gardens shared by all
There is no occasion too posh not to bounce on a super large trampoline
Electric Car
Relax and enjoy the view
Beaches within easy striking distance all along Kent and East Sussex coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plaxtol, Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Simon F
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Utterly relaxing, perfect for families with young kids”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was our second visit to Little Apple Barn after a fantastic stay in Mar 2015. The cottage is lovely, a genuinely perfect set up. Our 4 year old loved all the animals and facilities, including the treehouse, trampoline and zip line. We all loved walks in the woods to the local pubs and having fresh laid eggs for breakfast.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Thanks Andy, Katie and family for having us again!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Barn,”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed for a few days in Apple Barn and was delighted with my choice. The Barn is clean well equipped sunny and light. The hosts were helpful to me as I was a solo traveller.I am going to come here again with family in the summer, and there will be plenty for the 7 year old to do. Zip wire, trampoline , tree houses,climbing frames, tennis court. I will definitely come again

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineFyn...
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Stylish accomodation with stunning views”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My daughters and I stayed at Little Apple Barn for a week during March. It is tastefully decorated and equipped with everything you need for a break in the countryside. The skylights and high ceilings give it an open feeling.

There are lots of activities for the kids such as ziplining, trampoline and jungle gymns. I would not hesitate recommending this impeccable accomodation.

The owners, Kate and Andy are very friendly and helpful should you need information on the area.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T H
the world
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Advertised as holiday lets, also fantastic as a base while working around Kent”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked Little Apple Barn for a week while working in Kent, although the Barns are advertised as “holiday lets”, please think about booking one of the properties if you are working in the area, they exceed any hotel rooms and are the perfect setting to work, and unwind after a full day. They are also available out of season and we went in the second week of February.
For us the decision to rent the Barn was a much nicer prospect than being penned into a single room in a hotel for the week and we cannot recommend the property enough as it made our working week like a mini holiday at the same time.
The Barns are very well equipped with everything you need, the décor is relaxing and calming, and the only sounds you will wake up to is the birds singing and the hens clucking. You slow down and wind down after only being there for a couple of hours. The underfloor heating and the insulation that has been used was a blessing after being out and about in the February weather, and we couldn’t find one draft in the whole place, it was so cosy and snug.
Hammonds Farmhouse is set in a beautiful location overlooking the Kent countryside and was very easy to find. The owners Andrew and Katie gave us a very warm welcome on arrival and were on hand if we needed anything. As we had everything we needed we didn’t see much of them at all. You are left to enjoy your break without being disturbed.
If you enjoy walking there are plenty of walks just a few steps away from the Farmhouse, and Tonbridge is only a few miles away, with the usual shops, amenities and history to explore if you get the chance.
Hammonds Farmhouse is advertised as child friendly holidays and although we did not have children with us, we could see that Hammonds Farmhouse Barns would be perfect for families. There is so much to explore around the grounds, and I think every outdoor game you could think of is available for children. Even down to a few rainy day games in the draws ready to be played with.
Overall I would give these properties an excellent rating and thank you to Andrew and Katie for being so nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property exceded our expectations
Liked least: There was nothing we would want to be any different
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilona C
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hosts, stunning views, beautiful decor!”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage was beautifully presented and extremely well maintained. It was a real home away from home with gorgeous vistas, undisturbed tranquility and plenty of things to do around (especially useful for families with children e.g. zip-wire, tennis court, large trampoline, tree house, bikes and scooters to be used with permission, and PLENTY more). I had an absolutely fantastic time in Little Apple Barn Cottage, the owners were always happy to assist. The cottage itself was very well equipped and there were no issues at all.There was Wi-Fi, with great speed considering the rural surroundings, TV, and a bounty of lovely treats to welcome the guests on arrival. I can't recommend it strongly enough! Utter bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and the views!
Liked least: All was absolutely amazing!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamelaG40
Saumur, France
1 review
“Beautiful light filled cottage”
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We wanted a beautiful cottage to spend Christmas near our family and friends - we live in France. Little Apple Barn was perfect. Warm, beautifully fitted out andvery well equipped. Many windows and sliding doors filled the cottage with light. Plenty of room for our full sized Christmas Tree.

Good value for money. We would definately stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall design plus warm, quiet, comfortable and convenient.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49Rosie
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place for children and walkers alike”
Reviewed January 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Little Apple Barn is a delightful cottage with a lovely terrace overlooking the countryside. It is a treat for children, hens padding about, sheep in the fields and an amazing set up for all kinds of activity. Our grandchildren visited us and really did not want to leave with zip wire, trampoline, football, tree houses, electric cars, gypsy caravan and many other pursuits.

There are many, many walks in this area which could finish at one of many very nice pubs. Yet, despite all the country pursuits you are still close to a station and a quick trip up to London. Very many attributes.

Andrew and Katie are excellent, very friendly hosts and are extremely helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity of the area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing