We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would definitely recommend this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Orange City
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We would definitely recommend this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We stayed in the frontier themed cottage on the property and loved it! Every detail was considered in making us feel at home and in decorating the cottage to it's theme. The cottage was spotless, and the family was so accommodating.

Orange City is a small town, but it's a great place to visit if you are interested in the outdoors and want to spend timed at Blue Springs state park or on the St. Johns River. The family has bikes and kayaks you can borrow. There is also a quaint little downtown area in nearby Deland that has some cute shops, restaurants and bars.

This place serves as a great weekend getaway, whether you are traveling as a couple or with kids. Nan and Gerald are amazing hosts!

Room Tip: Would recommend the cottages. They are spacious and private and have everything you'd need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stayed here on a Groupon and it was amazing!! We took this trip for our birthday trip and had a blast!! First we rode the bikes provided by the Alling House to Blue Springs and had a nice time there, you can also kayak and Gerald will bring the kayaks there. Gerald recommended an awesome Thai Place in Deland and we had an very good dinner.

Our Frontier Cottage was amazing!! It was a very romantic stay a awesome room with a two person jet tub. Breakfast was wonderful!! I hope to stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

My fiance surprised me with a weekend getaway at the Alling House. It was perfect. We stayed at the Nature cottage and everything was perfect. Nan & Gerald were very welcoming. Breakfast was delicious. The place is just so clean, neat, and perfect decorated. It is a few miles away from Blue Springs State Park. We went on the river cruise, hiking, kayaking, and swiming. The cottage had a room for our kids with bunk beds. It gave us the opportunity to spend a lot of family time. Loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. look online at the website and choose the most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfzaldivarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Relaxing, peaceful stay; we stayed in one of the cottages which was very well thought out. You have the option of cooking or going out, however do not miss the wonderful breakfast served by Nan and Gerald. Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmeoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at the Alling House B&B last weekend and it was the highlight of our trip to Central Florida. We stayed at the Nature cabin and it fit our group perfectly. The cabin was so well thought out with everything you could possibly need, it was as if you were home. Internet acess, CATV, a full kitchen, a fridge stocked with coffee, milk, OJ plus cereal and candy. My daughters were in heaven. The grounds are lovely and the area is quiet and peaceful. And in the morning, Nan's breakfasts are delicious and delightful ~ she goes all out!

We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mingercat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

For a few extra bucks, I thought, why not try this B & B? That was probably one of the best thoughts I have had in a long time! Words, such as quaint, warm, welcoming, restful, gracious, come to mind when thinking of our stay.
I guess I could use a whole thesaurus to describe the Alling House, but let me simply state that should we have any business in or near Orange City, the Alling House is first on our list. Choose from rooms in the house, or, as we did, a detached cottage. You will not regret your decision. We didn't!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeaN4U2C_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

The B&B owners are the most accomodating couple we have ever met, from Maine to Florida! They graciously and gladly let us change ours and our friend's room arrangments.

Breakfast is a most delightful feast. No need for lunch.

See you soon, Gerald and Nan

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boutinrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange City
3.8 mi away
Cassadaga Hotel
Cassadaga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cassadaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
#4 of 5 in Orange City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orange City Motel
Orange City Motel
#3 of 5 in Orange City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 5 in Orange City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alling House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alling House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 215 E French Ave, Orange City, FL 32763-5204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Orange City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Orange City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Folk-Victorian style bed and breakfast just down the street from Blue Spring State Park and near many natural sites and activites in the area. Breakfast comes with the rooms in the main house. Our cottages have full kitchens. We supply milk, orange juice, bottled water, coffee, snacks, Pop Tarts, and cereal in the refrigerator for your convenience at no extra charge. You may make arrangements for a full breakfast in the main house at $7 per person. We can deliver breakfast if you request it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing