We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Bar-B-Q Close to Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #16 of 83 Restaurants in Orange City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Bar-B-Q Close to Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

A Bar-B-Q chain restaurant that consistantly serves great Bar-B-Q. Service always pleasant, food always good and close to home makes for a guaranteed great (or afternoon) out!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nicolieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sonny's, yum....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Sonny's is always a good choice for BBQ. This Particular one has a good charm to it. The food is as good as any other. The servers are personable, and the parking lot is plentiful. Sweet sauce is the best.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeAdrian108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, FL
Level Contributor
129 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“One of the Worst Sonny's BBQ places I have visited..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My Sister and I were headed off to see a movie at the new Theaters in Deltona and decided we would stop by Sonny's (her choice) for a quick bite to eat before the movie. She promised me this is a great Sonny's restaurant..

We arrived around 1pm, the place was not busy at all, no one in front of us, and we could see plenty of empty tables. But we stood there for almost 10 minutes before someone came to seat us at a table.

Waitress took our drink order, then after 10 more minutes. had to flag her down to take our order, as we were losing precious time.

We both got the Sliced Pork Big Deal sandwiches, I ordered a Sweet Potato as my side and she got Coleslaw. When our meals arrived, I cut into the Sweet Potato and immediately knew it was bad, as instead of being a nice bright orange color, it was brown and mushy, and when I tried it - UGH!! Since all of our delays in seating and ordering, we were on a tight schedule, so did not send it back, but could not eat it. Our Pork Sandwiches had an ample amount of meat, but we both looked at each other, as it was so dry it looked like chipped beef. So we lathered it up with sauce, ate as quick as we could and she apologized for it being so bad...

We had to flag down our waitress to get our bill and needless to say we were 15 minutes late for our movie - luckily the previews are that long..

So, have to say, this Sonny's BBQ was a big disappointment and would never return if in the area. Also had to report the bad experience to our family members who dine at this location often, who were as well shocked and stated, that guess we never should go to this place after 12:30 pm as you get old dried out food.

Wish my Sister would have listened to me and we tried the Woody's BBQ in the area!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DNSPartners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talbott, tn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just good food, good service, always clean, and a decent salad bar

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ddntn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Food was good, service a bit slow ~ salad bar a bit messy, but there were too many kids "helping" themselves the night we were there!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank momworkdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 
Orange City, FL
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing