We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, functional rooms and simple breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Orange City
Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice, functional rooms and simple breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Hotel located next to highway entrance and exit, good with rental car.
Within easy walking distance to shopping centers and fastfood reastaurants.
Pool was very pleasant.
Fitness room set up fairly well .
Parking - no problem!
Breakfast never saw the hand of a real cook, but heated up packaged products are rather normal in this grade of hotel.
The floor in the entry area must have sweated, because there was a wet floor sign on it during our whole visit.
Room was averagely pleasant . Fridge/Micro only with room upgrade available. Problem with the phone-replaced 3 times, but the front desk and maintainence people were pleasant about resolving the problem, although I did have to walk to the desk 4 times for it. It did not seem as if anyone felt the personal responsibility for taking care of the problem. They were pleasant when reminded, but it was a pain to keep telling them.
Hotel management needs to see that their employees eat food from breakfast area on their way through the breakfast area and watch tv in breakfast room (during their -?breaks?) It does not seem very professional of them. They could invest their money elsewhere than in feeding employees.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1plus1is8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    38
    24
    14
    18
See reviews for
71
29
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, MS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

This hotel is clean and there's certainly nothing wrong with it, but the furnishings are very tired and dated, and it's clearly operated on the cheap with as little as possible to get by. Although it has the new Holiday Inn sign, it lacks many of the signature items found in other Holiday Inn Expresses. No curved shower rod, no flat TVs, no wireless Internet, etc. Food quality on breakfast was poor... muffins were stale, biscuits were hard and seemed like they might have been left over from the day before. And apparently this was a Country Inn & Suites at some point in the past, because the Country Inn & Suites logo on the telephone was covered with white-out. Very tacky. Internet is wired only (no wireless) and they do not supply cables in the rooms. If you borrow one from the front desk, they make you sign something saying they will charge you $25 if you don't return it. Nothing wrong with that I suppose, but it kind of makes you feel like they think you're a thief.

Overall, it was clean and quiet and I had no problems, but it was nothing to write home about either.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMLinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcfl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. The IHG standards do not currently require all hotels to offer wireless internet and flat screen tv's at this time. This will be something that is required in the near future and we will be upgrading at that time. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

This is a 5 story hotel. There was a fire in the electrical junction box on the 2nd floor thus the buildings power was cut off. The Fire Marshall closed down the hotel and all guests had to find other accomodations. There were 3 large groups staying in the hotel and we had to use the emergency stairs to access our rooms. The problem is this. THE EMERGENCY LIGHTS IN THE STAIRWELLS DID NOT WORK. This was very unsafe for the guests who had to go up and down 5 stories with their luggage. The only light we had were our personal flashlights {if we had them} and glow sticks provided by the Fire Dept. The hotel management & staff did NOTHING to help this situation - they did not provide flashlights or have their staff stand in the stairwells with lights so we could see. The fireman did what they could to help us but the hotel staff were useless.
Also, upon checkin we ordered a refrigerator & microwave. 5 hours later we were still waiting. When the front desk clerk was informed of this she commented 'I am physically unable to deliver them, I'm the only one here.' When we checked in, there were plenty of hotel staff to deliver the frig/micro! We finally received them mid-morning the next day.
I would not stay here again because of the basic safety of this fairly new building and the inefficient staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcfl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
I'm very sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay in January. Unfortunately, when the fire occurred, the Fire Department took control of the evacuation so the staff was not able to assist in any way other than helping to find alternate lodging and confirming who was in what room for the Fire Department. The emergency lights were working but they do starting burning out after a couple of hours because they run on batteries.

The staff was instrumental in putting out the fire in the room and getting the guests out of the room so that no one was injured. For that I am very thankful. In addition, due to some quick thinking the window in the room was busted out so that the sprinklers weren't set off which would have created an even bigger problem for our guests. I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced by all of this, and hope that if you are in the area again you would give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orange City hotels

Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

Our first room had no not water. The hotel in itself was beautiful and food was pretty good. The Staff couldn't do enough to help you. They were great they did their best to correct things. Then they changed our room and we had hot water but the heater in the room was so noisy you couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattycake05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcfl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
We are very sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced at our hotel. Just to update you, the problem that you experienced with the hot water has finally been corrected. We were finally able to diagnose the problem and have not had any problems with it in several months. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

This hotel was extremely clean, had great breakfast, a great pool and workout room. I only had hot water probably 25% of the time. I would just recommend calling to make sure their water issue is fixed before staying here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bnorton78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcfl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
We are very sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced at our hotel. Just to update you, the problem that you experienced with the hot water has finally been corrected. We were finally able to diagnose the problem and have not had any problems with it in several months. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliern03
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

We came in to town for a family funeral. Hotel friendly. Enjoyed stay. Clean wonderful full breakfast. bacon, eggs, rolls you name it. Comforting place to unwind and get away from the stress. The pool was relaxing. Fitness room clean. Towels and water available. Staff friendly helpful. Wish all my travel stays were this nice. Thank You Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliern03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

Took over an hour to check in because after I got to the room there was no hot water. Sat around for a long time while they went room to room looking for hot water. finally they found a room with warm water. I was already late for a meeting but took a warm shower, cranked down the AC and left the hotel. Got back about 11PM and the room was hot. Dang AC fan worked but did not get cool. Being late at night I sucked it up and dealt with it. Come morning time (4:30 am) I tried to take a shower and you guessed it, no hot water... Not even room temp water! I made a comment to the desk clerk who didn't seem to care. Did I mention that two different cleaning ladies walked in on me? They said they didn't realize anyone was in that room... Finally contacted hiexpress customer service and they gave me a few extra points for staying which is useless. I had holiday inn express hotels booked all over the state for the next few weeks and cancelled all reservations...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kterrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange City
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn DeBary/Deltona
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 5 in Orange City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
Days Inn Orange City/Deland
#4 of 5 in Orange City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Deland
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - De Land
2.6 mi away
Orange City Motel
Orange City Motel
#3 of 5 in Orange City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange
Address: 1330 Saxon Blvd, Orange City, FL 32763-8416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Orange City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Orange City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Orange City/Deltona is located just off I-4 and is close to Stetson University and Lake Mary Business Parks. Easy on & easy off makes this hotel the perfect location for business or leisure travel. Our luxurious hotel offers a variety of suites and spacious guest rooms to accommodate nearly every person and family. For those with allergies, this is a non-smoking and pet free hotel. Amenities include: outdoor screened pool and whirlpool, free local phone calls, a well equipped fitness center, and a free Express Start breakfast bar including a variety of hot menu items. Close to local restaurants, corporations, and attractions. For business or leisure, the Holiday Inn Express Orange City/Deltona is your smart choice for overnight accommodations. Getting there has to be fast and convenient too. Only minutes from Deland and Sanford/Lake Mary business parks, you'll spend less time in the car and more time doing what you came to Central Florida to do.Wireless Internet is available in the lobby and breakfast bar areas, while wired high-speed Internet is available in the guest rooms. We welcome you to visit Orange City, Florida and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Orange
Holiday Inn Orange City
Orange City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing