We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people there love what they do and you can enjoy that in everything they offer.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garnish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Garnish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The people there love what they do and you can enjoy that in everything they offer.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Loving enthousiasm and kindness is being offerd here combined with excellent rooms and food. The view ud very nice and everything is of high standaard. There is yelevision in the rooms for dvds only and I enjoyed the selection they chose. When you go, also take a tour on Dursey Island with the cable car. It is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 567Miriam_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Beara Peninsula is in itself a unique and extraordinary place. The very tip of Beara is even more so. Then there is this perfect B&B right there on the waters edge. In over 40 years of visiting Ireland, we think this is one of the best places to stay. Paddy and Agnes exemplify what is best about Irish hospitality; friendly, helpful, funny, generous and attentive to every detail. Breakfast was exceptional with locally crafted cheeses, yoghurts, granola and organic honey not to mention the traditional "full Irish".
This was not our first time staying there and it will not be our last!

Room Tip: there are rooms away from the main house with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsteinglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Ligure, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been at this B&B just for one night, but this has been enough to love this place and this people!
This B&B is situated in a incredible position over the bay and the only thing you can hear during your stay is the sound of the wind and of the ovean waves!
The structure is almost new, the room was very big and with a double bed and a single bed more.
In the room we also found a binocular for bird watching or for landscape seeing.
Finally... The breakfast... Incredibly large offer, but we have a suggestion: the scrambled eggs with salmon are delicious! Owners are great cook!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beemer2V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We drove to the tip of the Beara Peninsula in the afternoon and could see the breathtaking hiking paths. So we spontaneously booked at the Windy Point B & B (twas recommended by our Kilkenny hosts at the Lawcus Farm). The weather was spectacular and we set out on a well marked hike (though not a soul to be seen) up and over the peninsula to the other side and back again. Took about two hours as our cameras were constantly clicking. Windy Pt. B&B is literally the last spot on the peninsula, overlooking the cliffs, Garnish Island, and the Beara coastline. Agnes and Paddy are wonderful hosts and breakfast was terrific. Perhaps our most memorable day / stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW_Fresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at this little gem of a B&B, located on the tip of the Beara Peninsula, from where the views over the sea are simply spectacular. We were welcomed with open arms by our hosts Paddy and Agnes. They are so friendly! Their highly developed sense of humour is also very special, which helped to make our stay even more enjoyable! Our room was spacious and comfortable, from where we observed dolphins through the binoculars provided, sometimes, there are also basking sharks, however not on this occasion. There is a good choice of menu for both breakfast and dinner, which was expertly cooked by Agnes and very tasty on the palate. Nothing is too much trouble for Paddy and Agnes, their hospitality is second to none. Not having to use our car for two days was a joy, as we could walk straight from the door along the coastal paths for miles and miles. Walking on Dursey Island was also very special, which Paddy organised for us, as he also operates the cable car to the island. If you want peace and quiet without crowds of people, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malsorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Paddy and Agnes run a topnotch B&B far away from the hussle of modern life. Gorgeous ocean views (we had sunny skies with stunning vistas). Clean spacious rooms and baths. Excellent cuisine for breakfast and dinner for guests- fresh local fish and meat. They will even pack lunches for you. Wonderful hiking right from the doorstep. There is even a little walkway down to the cliffs just below the house where you can sit on the rock steps, watch the waves and fish in the clear water. There is a resident peacock family too! Paddy also operates the Dursey Island cablecar which was sadly out of order during our stay. But we had enough to do to fill three days! One of a kind!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNCHMSUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oentsjerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Windy Point house, a nice name for a great stay.
Agnes and Paddy are engaging people. The food is perfect.
Walking on Dursey Island is possible because Paddy takes care of the cable car you transfer.
Pieter and Lammy Otter/Holland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lammy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garnish
10.1 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
155 reviews
18.2 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
No photo provided
Ardgroom Leisure Village
#1 of 1 in Ardgroom
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Allihies Seaview
Allihies Seaview
#1 of 4 in Allihies
89 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beach View Bed & Breakfast
10.0 mi away
Island View House
Island View House
#4 of 8 in Castletownbere
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast
Address: | Beara Peninsula, Garnish, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Garnish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Garnish
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing