We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ohmigosh--perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garnish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Garnish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ohmigosh--perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Paddy and Agnes run a topnotch B&B far away from the hussle of modern life. Gorgeous ocean views (we had sunny skies with stunning vistas). Clean spacious rooms and baths. Excellent cuisine for breakfast and dinner for guests- fresh local fish and meat. They will even pack lunches for you. Wonderful hiking right from the doorstep. There is even a little walkway down to the cliffs just below the house where you can sit on the rock steps, watch the waves and fish in the clear water. There is a resident peacock family too! Paddy also operates the Dursey Island cablecar which was sadly out of order during our stay. But we had enough to do to fill three days! One of a kind!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNCHMSUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oentsjerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Windy Point house, a nice name for a great stay.
Agnes and Paddy are engaging people. The food is perfect.
Walking on Dursey Island is possible because Paddy takes care of the cable car you transfer.
Pieter and Lammy Otter/Holland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lammy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

It´s been a while, since we´ve been here. But I want to thank Paddy&Agnes for their great hospitality. It has been one of the nicest parts during our stay in Ireland. The rooms have such a nice view and it has been very nice to have the opportunity to have dinner at your place. Thank you so much for this nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drfwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

unfortunately we had a foggy day and can't see very much, but the place and the owner are very nice and friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guinnessurml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a long weekend in Cork. Stayed the first night at Windy Point and wished I had booked an extra night there. The owners of the b&b were so friendly and extremely helpful. The views from the dining room and terrace, are amazing. The forecast was rain and I considered taking an umbrella but the name Windy Point is a clue that unless you want to take off like Mary Poppins across the ocean, you best leave the umbrella behind. I'm definately booking to stay there again as couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pippy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

The pictures of the Windy Point House do not do it justice. This place is unbelieveable in the sea views and peaceful setting. We stayed here two nights and had dinner on the second. Be sure to treat yourself to their salmon dinners...wonderful cooks. This is a remote location, but a great place to just rest and watch the sea. The "cable car" is a three minute walk and it is also located at the start of the Beara hiking trail. The dinning room over looks the sea. Take a bottle of wine...or purchase one from the innkeepers and enjoy the outdoor patio at sundown. The breakfasts are made to order and very good. I would return in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a million dollar view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We have stayed here several times and the weather has always been outstanding. Agnes and Paddy, who run Windy Point are lovely and welcoming people. Their rooms are nice and clean and the views are spectacular. I woke up very early last time I stayed here and had a peak out the window. I spotted a dolphin in the bay and obviously couldn't sleep anymore. I got dressed and went outside but was too late for the dolphin. A lovely seal came to check me out though. I then went for and early morning walk up to the top of the hill, on the Ring of Beara walk (I think that's what it was called). About 45 minutes walk lead to a spectacular view over Dursey, the Kenmare river bay and across to Bantry bay. This bliss was followed by Agnes's sublime breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garnish
10.1 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
18.2 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
No photo provided
Ardgroom Leisure Village
#1 of 1 in Ardgroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Allihies Seaview
Allihies Seaview
#1 of 4 in Allihies
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beach View Bed & Breakfast
18.6 mi away
Hungry Hill Lodge and Campsite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Windy Point House Bed & Breakfast
Address: | Beara Peninsula, Garnish, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Garnish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Garnish
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing