We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rumba Island Bar and Grill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumba Island Bar & Grill

Rumba Island Bar & Grill
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Oldsmar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rumba Island Bar and Grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Love this place! The food and service is excellent. They have a large menu to please everyone. By far this is my favoirite restaurant in the Tampa Bay area, worth a visit. Every time I go to the Rumba the meal is perfect, and on top of that their servers are exceptional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    82
    35
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

There were 5 in our party, and we were seated rather quickly. We enjoyed the open air atmosphere, as well as the music that was entertaining that evening. The staff was very pleasant, and the food was great!
Looking forward to going again

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilFan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, cheap drinks, food is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Rumba is a local bar with an outside patio. This location is very convenient to both Hillsboro and Pinellas Counties. Although the atmosphere is very upbeat, the drinks are reasonable and ofter there is live entertainment, the food still continues to be mediocre. The staff is very friendly and the food has improved over the last year but still not up to par. I live just a short distance from this establishment and for happy hour this is definitely a good choice, for a nice evening or celebratory dinner I would go elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Six of us ordered different dinners and all were enjoyed immensely. They have "early bird" specials and happy hours every day and were really money saving. The portions were a little smaller, but still more than enough for the average appetite. The 2 for 1 sangrias were great. The restaurant is up scale, but not pretentious, and the service was terrific. "Kyle" was a very friendly and attentive waiter. Our salads and main dishes were very fresh and delicious and had a nice presentation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rosebud1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stopped in just on the cusp of the early bird (until 5:45 pm) so ordered off that menu. I ordered the grilled Mahi with coconut rice and greens. Very small portion (4-5 ounces?) of well prepared Mahi, a little under-seasoned so added the white sauce and that helped. Collard greens are awesome - no big stem chunks and a little sweet, just how I like 'em. The coconut rice had a mild sweet flavor that I really liked. Little pricey ($11.99) for the small fish portion. BF ordered the filet mignon kabob (1 skewer of filet mignon chunks with some pepper and onion slices), black beans, and greens. Some filet chunks were very rare instead of medium (the temp he ordered them) and 1 should have been scrapped (tendons and inedible), but otherwise good - not a huge portion but acceptable for $8.99. Loved the little cornbread muffins - cute!

The Coconut Cream Cake is awesome! A big ball of warm yellow cake with white frosting covered in toasted coconut with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream = num :)

Comfortable atmosphere, friendly/efficient server. Will def try again and order off the regular menu to see if the portions are a little larger.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumba Island Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rumba Island Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing