We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, varied menu and not a chain restaurant”

Rumba Island Bar & Grill
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Oldsmar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very nice, varied menu and not a chain restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had to put "not a chain restaurant" in the title because these types of restaurants are few and far between in the Tampa Bay area--unless they're fast food types or high end places. It's a place that has something for everyone, from little kids to 90-year old grandmothers (yes, we were there with such a group.) Portions are large, even the appetizer ones, so plan to share if you're not a big eater.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea112Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    84
    35
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Treat yourself to some amazing tasting carribean style food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I must admit when I first saw Rumba's as having Carribean style food, I was a bit intimidated as I wasn't certain what that meant. Put all your worries away as your tongue will be treated to some amazing tastes! I have yet to find anything on the menu that I don't like. Each of the servers seems to really know the food choices, and they've helped me step beyond my normal fare of foods...and I have yet to be disappointed. Their fish is absolutely delicious. The pulled pork is fall-apart tender and juicy. I tried braised cabbage (which I would never try on my own) and am hooked on it. Servers are friendly and attentive.

I visit Rumba's at least once a month and have yet to be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NuK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The manager Frank was very rude.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Food was great. Waitress was great. Very reasonably priced. However, the manager "Frank" was very rude. His attitude towards us was very unprofessional. And his tone and choice of words were very inappropriate. I am in customer service oriented business for over 23 years. And I am saying from experience. I have owned and managed many hotels and restaurants. But never seen a manager with this kind of attitude on the floor handling customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamDaskundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Entertained a client, good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Ate off the lunch menu and both my client and I enjoyed our meal. Service was good and the food came out fast. I highly suggest the filet kabobs. Rather surprised how busy it got on a Sunday afternoon which is a good sign for the area

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Didn't expect much.....not familiar with rumba's this was our first trip. Sat at the bar....drinks were good, food tasty and fresh. Ate off the lunch mention so the portions were smaller but what do you expect for $7.95? Service was great - food came out on time and bartender was attentive. Should my group travels bring me back to oldsmar I will definately be back!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregclovesroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rumba Island Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing