We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Old Town
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Service is what we received during our stay was great
We cannot say enough about the owners and how much they cared always so helpful with anything we needed. Our room was great! Had microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Would Love to stay here again, They really know how to treat their guests. :) Thanks to your wonderful owners 2012 catch on Tour!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thejerry76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 116 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very old and run down. Tv just had three channels that worked. Bathroom was horrid. Shower curtain torn and covered in black mold. Toilet so close to the wall. Ac/heat unit was sooo loud! This was the only hotel around, therefore they can charge what they do. It could be very nice. Beds are so uncomfy.

Room Tip: Go and check the room out before you stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xaviour S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My name is Dawn Bell, from Marietta, GA. Pareesh and Vasanthi, the caretakers, were the epitome of grace and hospitality! The property there is absolutely breathtaking! My little dog and I spent the day lying on the raft right on the river water...I pretended like we were back in the day of Huck Finn...my little dog's name is Tucker, so we played Huck and Tuck Finn:)

If you are traveling through the area of Olde Towne Florida and do not take the time to visit the Suwanee Gables Motel and Marina...YOU HAVE TRULY MISSED OUT ON A RICH EXPERIENCE! and blessing in many ways:)

Room Tip: The RIVER:) so peaceful and serene
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

the motel is old Florida on the river, gorgeous morning fog rising over the water with birds and peaceful nature.....I was travelling alone for pleasure and the motel was quiet and safe and relaxing. the owner was firendly and offerred suggestions for my visit. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a charming motel on the Suwannee River! Management was wonderful, the room was clean and we had a private dock to relax and fish. When we came back to the room at lunchtime, the maid had left me cut roses and a Happy Birthday note. So sweet! Planning on my next trip but this time I am bringing my daughter and grandchildren! Had a great and affordable vacation!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBJ1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is not - not - a luxury motel. Lower your expectations of room service, a great flat-screen TV, or a mint on your pillow. Think Florida in the 50's. However, the charms of the place are the friendly assistance of the owner/managers and its location. The grounds are immaculately kept; and the Suwannee River, viewed from a long dock with bench, is a few steps from your back door. For nature lovers, fishermen, or those who want to indulge in contemplative solitude in beautiful surroundings, it's perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billfsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you are looking for Old Florida, you will like this motel. Quiet, friendly and on the Suwannee River. Understand what "Old Florida" means: Vintage midcentury Americana. We stopped overnight during a mini road-trip because we wanted to be on the river. Our room was small but clean, and furnishings were dated but clean. Our room also had a TV, refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. The pool is in front, and was filled and looked pristine. In the back, half the dock's planks looked new. There is quite a bit of footage along the river, and the landscaping is low-key, kind of like being in someone's backyard. Don't expect manicured grounds, chain-motel sameness or a boutique hotel. This motel is from an era when travel had fewer frills. P.S. No wi-fi but my iPad picked up a strong roaming signal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerri9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Town
8.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Chiefland
86 reviews
8.1 mi away
Days Inn Chiefland
Days Inn Chiefland
#2 of 2 in Chiefland
386 reviews
11.7 mi away
Putnam Lodge Hotel & Spa
Putnam Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cross City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina

Address: 27659 SE Highway 19, Old Town, FL 32680-3914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Old Town
Price Range: $96 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Suwannee Gables Motel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suwannee Gables Motel And Marina Hotel Old Town
Suwannee Gables Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing