We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Lake Okeechobee
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Okeechobee
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Newly revonated rooms, nice service--really!, yummy breakfast, coffee in the room, comfortable bed, large rooms, close to shopping, food, the lake and a gret price---results in why I will always come back here. I gave up staying at hotels whose doors opened outside and took a chance here and was pleasantly surprised. Just as nice as the Hampton Inn / Holiday Inn for much less cost. Yes, select a room on the cow pasture side. Yes, I am a city slicker who was intrigued by the big bulls with their horns. Some light traffic noise drowned out by the air conditioner. Stay on the first floor if you don't want to climb a flight of stairs. Everything is new which is a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    44
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
40
47
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is more than you'd expect. Big, clean rooms, good service, and a very good free breakfast buffet in the morning. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The location is very convenient. I was impressed with the beds, too. They were very comfortable. And, as a side note, we had a great view of the cow pasture, which was a pleasant way to start and end our days.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the side with the cows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgraham011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I would like to thank Mary for accomodating us to the type of room we needed. My husband has a hard time getting around and she was able to put us in a handicap room. She knows this hotel and town very good. I highly recommend this hotel for the excellence in their hot breakfast, and the room was more than we expected and great hotel staff, especially Mary and the guy that works on Friday night I think his name was Tom?. Even when I came down the next morning for breakfast Mary was there again all smiles and greeting each and every guest as they came in for breakfast and she kept it well stocked while maintaining the phones and front desk. We are very pleased and hope to see you all next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We are from the area, having lived on and off in Martin, Saint Lucie and Okeechobee counties since the late 70s until late 2005, mainly Martin County. I had also worked for a city in Palm Beach County.

We have many family and friends in the area still.

So we know that there are not many actual hotels in Okeechobee but there are more motels.

We had wanted to stay at a hotel while traveling to visit and stay with some family in the Port St Lucie area. We were originally only going to stay in Okeechobee area Saturday night but had left Northern Florida a day early and decided we did not want to stay in the Orlando area like originally planned.

We called up Hampton Inn in Okeechobee which is outside the city but blocks away from some friends. My husband quoted me the price they told him over the phone, which was $189 and then we called up Best Western which we were quoted $79.

So we decided to test out the Best Western.

We did not expect much but got so much in return! The first thing, the staff is excellent. They are efficient and helpful.
The rooms were somewhat dated but they were clean and more than what we thought we would get for the price.
The Continental Breakfast was more than what we expected and what was hot stayed hot and what was cold stayed cold. You would not believe how many places fail in that area.

The Saturday morning hotel clerk Mary was taking care of the front desk and handling the Continental Breakfast and maintaining the breakfast area.
We ended up staying 2 nights there due to the quality of the room and great customer service.

It isn't that far from the lake and if you need anything you are right in town so you don't need to travel that far to get what you may need.

No issues here with the smell of the room or the hotel staff.

Room Tip: We always ask to see the room before we commit to anything, we usually research an area before we de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberskye82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The number of places to stay in Okeechobee is limited, so we picked a brand name and hoped for the best. It was certainly an acceptable place to stay for not too much money. The room was clean and the front desk was helpful and efficient. Check in was easy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yodibuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only half a mile from the huge lake, flea market and shopping.
Rooms were very clean and the free breakfast very nice. Sadly the pool is unheated and very cold!
Only two stories high and a choice of smoking or non smoking room. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Towards the rear of the hotel are quieter as it is situated on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okeechobee
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Okeechobee - Lake Okeechobee
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Scottish Inns Okeechobee
Scottish Inns Okeechobee
#5 of 11 in Okeechobee
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port St. Lucie-Tradition
Homewood Suites by Hilton - Port...
#1 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
601 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pier II Resort
Pier II Resort
#2 of 11 in Okeechobee
114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Suites Lake Okeechobee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lake Okeechobee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lake Okeechobee

Property: Best Western Lake Okeechobee
Address: 3975 US Highway 441 S, Okeechobee, FL 34974-6221 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Okeechobee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Okeechobee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lake Okeechobee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lake Okeechobee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lake Okeechobee Hotel Okeechobee
Best Western Okeechobee
Okeechobee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing