We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friends from out of town and didn't feel like cooking my fish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lightsey's

Lightsey's
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in Okeechobee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: If it swims, crawls or hops we probably serve it.
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Friends from out of town and didn't feel like cooking my fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a buddy from Boca and his father from Ohio show up Sunday, had a few beers then wanted to eat fish. Went to Lightsey's around 5 and being a local thought we would have a waiting time and was ready for it, Instead, the place was packed but as soon as we walked in the host took us to a table that had just been cleared. My friends had a beer in there hand and our order was taken within 3 minutes. Made us feel special, like they knew us. We all ate to much catfish but their breading, we couldn't stop. All in all, great food, great service, great price but best of all I didn't have to cook.
The reviews I read below made me right one with the real story, I've seen that type of guest that think they are all that and to them I say, Lunker's thanks you, your money will still stay in Chobee and I will continue entertaining my friends at Lightsey's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMH54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    109
    55
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“jerked off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I ride in a casual motorcycle club, we are not "bikers"/ We had a confirmed reservation for 40 tp 50 people for Sun. 01/13/13.
Upon arrival we we're we could only be seated in small groups even though they were virtually empty. What good is a reservation ?? After complaining then manager told us to take a hike, which we did, costing him approx. $800 plus in sales.
Never, ever will we return, even though they were on our regular list of stops. We will also tell everyone who will listen
P.S. Lunkers took us in without warning, provided good food and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clh1256, Public Relations Manager at Lightsey's, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
This group had no reservation and had called earlier in week to state they were coming. Once told of our reservation policy they declined and said, "they would just show up". This reservation policy requires a room rental fee if at least 75% of the group does not show. They indicated to management that the "show up" time would be around 12 pm. This party arrived to our restaurant at 10:30 (we open at 11) and we started seating them at 10:50 (before opening). We were very hospitable until the disrespectful behavior started towards our young hostess, service and management staff. These reviews are written by people who were ultimately asked to leave Lightsey's because of their disruptive behavior. These individuals attempted to seat themselves while they were on a wait list. The wait list serves as a buffer until all available staff is on premises to facilitate this type of business; in which we had initiated calls to all staff requesting them to arrive ealier than schedule shifts. Two-thirds of this party was sat, serviced and was being cooked for until the last portion of the group stormed in (these blogs). They advised all members of their group to leave. Most of this party left without paying for their food. We have never, in a 30 year history, had this type of group come in to disrupt business. They are not welcomed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Go to this restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked a group of over 40 a month before with calling two week and a day reminder. They made us wait an hour outside with al empty tables inside. Their excuse was they did not have the wait staff or food prep ready. The turned us out when we asked to be seated with at least drinks. They told us to leave and go down the street to Lunkers we did gladly. NEVER GIVE THIS PLACE YOUR BUSINESS EVER!!!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CruzerChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clh1256, Public Relations Manager at Lightsey's, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
This group had no reservation and had called earlier in week to state they were coming. Once told of our reservation policy they declined and said, "they would just show up". This reservation policy requires a room rental fee if at least 75% of the group does not show. They indicated to management that the "show up" time would be around 12 pm. This party arrived to our restaurant at 10:30 (we open at 11) and we started seating them at 10:50 (before opening). We were very hospitable until the disrespectful behavior started towards our young hostess, service and management staff. These reviews are written by people who were ultimately asked to leave Lightsey's because of their disruptive behavior. These individuals attempted to seat themselves while they were on a wait list. The wait list serves as a buffer until all available staff is on premises to facilitate this type of business; in which we had initiated calls to all staff requesting them to arrive ealier than schedule shifts. Two-thirds of this party was sat, serviced and was being cooked for until the last portion of the group stormed in (these blogs). They advised all members of their group to leave. Most of this party left without paying for their food. We have never, in a 30 year history, had this type of group come in to disrupt business. They are not welcomed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“good food what they had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Have not eaten here in many yrs. Unfortunately they were out of just about every thing we wanted. Makes sense though due to the xmas and New Yr hussle bussle. The service was slow in the beginning but they pulled it off at the end. Food is still good and atmosphere is great. My tip is to call ahead and see what they are out of if any.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 6digityachtclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great service and good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We tried this restaurant based on trip advisor reviews and were very pleased. New Year's Day and they still offered their three courses for $30 special. Shared an appetizer called critter fritters that were basically hush puppies with seafood and corn in them. Delicious. My crab legs were fresh and cooked perfectly. I would ask them to hold the salt sprinkle the next time. The catfish was moist and delicious. Both meals came with three generously sized sides. The meal also included a desert to share...again generously sized blueberry crisp. We had to take it to go...too full. The restaurant isn't fancy...more like you're ratting in a nice fish camp. Casual and fun with lots of run on the screened in porches and with a view of the water and boating activity. Loved it!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Haikuist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lightsey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing