We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a busboy!”

Lightsey's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in Okeechobee
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: If it swims, crawls or hops we probably serve it.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stopped at Lightsey's today for lunch. We're from West Palm Beach, but whenever we go to Okeechobee we usually stop at Lightsey's. A friend told us they were under new management. When we walked in we saw about 4 tables of people eating inside, and about 5 tables full of dirty dishes and half eaten food. There were 2 servers and another girl who seemed to be seating people and starting to clean off tables. We were told to sit for a few minutes while a table was cleaned up. Well, finally one was cleaned up, but the messes remained all around us. Other people came in to eat, though many came, looked around, and left. The poor servers had their hands full. There was no busboy, no cart to help them clean up. No owner in sight. We had the catfish and it was great, all the food was excellent. No complaints there. You could see the servers were pushed to their limits. I guess they didn't expect such a crowd today, but it is Christmas week, with lots of out of towners visiting. I felt like getting up and helping them myself!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clh1256, Manager at Lightsey's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

We do apologize for your recent experience. The ownership of Lightsey’s has not changed since 1977 and we value the quality of each customers experience. We base our staffing on years of information. The particular incident (business) you are speaking of resulted in a well adjusted staff for the next business day (weeks). Our learning curve always has been steep. The cause of the issue was that a local popular restaurant (maybe 2nd or 3rd on Trip Advisor rating) closed down the day before your outing to Lightsey's. Our residual business from the closing of that restaurant was/is substantial. We had no forecasting of this event, therefore staffed ourselves based on previous year(s) sales. Again, we are now well adjusted. Since your complaint was not based on food or service (which you stated were great) and the condition of an extremely busy day; We hope that you reconsider dining with us. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 363 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

The atmosphere was great. Fish and heads on the walls. Very country. The view and the service were both good. Being from out of town every one told me this was one of the best restaurants in the area. I was a little disappointed with the food. The portions were good. The hush puppies and the cole slaw were amazing. There was a lot of catfish (which I don't eat) and local delicacies (frog legs, cooter, gator). I was expecting a larger selection from a seafood restaurant. I had a special of Shrimp 8 Ways. It was VERY good and enough to take back to the room for a late night snack. If I am ever in the area agin, I will return.

1  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Grouper sandwich was 2 or three small grouper nuggets. Grouper salad also contained the same small portion of grouper pellets. Scandalously overpriced. We were truly disappointed with both the portions and service. Have not and will not return.

2  Thank Zoey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clh1256, Public Relations Manager at Lightsey's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

These comments concerned our company enough we thought it necessary to respond.

Our concern pertains to the "grouper sandwich" and "grouper salad" that supposedly was ordered while dining at Lightsey's. Lightsey's has never offered a grouper salad and we only offer fish wraps (not sandwiches) on our menu(s). Furthermore, one of Lightsey's ongoing concerns (if you could call it that) is that our portions are too big...Our wraps and salads offer about a 1/2 lb of meat per.

Since this dining experience occurred so long ago (one year) and just is just now being posted, it may be that you had another restaurant in mind? If we have made a mistake we apologize and thank you for choosing Lightsey's Restaurant. We always try to exceed the customer’s expectations and, although you may have mistakenly reviewed our restaurant for another, we promise this review will not go overlooked.

We welcome all comments regarding Lightsey's Restaurant and use reviews as a valuable tool to better our customer's dining experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here with friends from the Glades RV Resort on Mopre Haven Fl. The food was great with loght breading and super taste. The service was quick and the orders were all correct. Pricing is a little high but the quantity of food is good.
We will visit this location again.
They also have great burgers and steaks for the non fish eaters.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stopped by for lunch, and were impressed by the menu selections, as well as the staff that took plenty of time to explain the specials and answer any other questions we had. We shared calamari for an appetizer, and my husband ordered the frog legs and cat fish, while I ordered oysters and craw fish. They were all great, as well as the hush puppies and sweet potato fries. The outside porch lends itself to a relaxing atmosphere, and there is a water view. We enjoyed it, and will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DosGeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lightsey's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lightsey's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing