We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below average mexican food”
Review of Pueblo Viejo

Pueblo Viejo
Ranked #7 of 83 Restaurants in Okeechobee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“below average mexican food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went because of the reviews, disappointed, great staff, good service, below average Mexican food, we both felt sick afterwards, like we had ate way to much fat or oils, which I am sure was the case.

Busy place, I am sure they will continue to do well

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kleeottorogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super service, Fab food.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch while driving through with our two young kids. We got some of the best service we have had in our two week vacation. The food was great, fresh and tasty, and they were very kid-friendly. We were so glad we stopped there!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catalinamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,367 reviews
458 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 805 helpful votes
“Family owned and worked with pride”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had just arrived in Okeechobee around 2pm, hungry. We looked at the options in TA and thought we'd try this restaurant. It's colorful and bright with smiling faces everywhere. The menu is 4-5 pages but we zoned in on a couple of items we'd tried elsewhere recently with no satisfaction. I thought it was a regional thing but this restaurant restored our faith in ordering an item and getting what you ordered. Vern had the Chili Verde dinner and I had the Camarones al mojo de ajo (shrimp in garlic!) YUMMY! We were both very satisfied. Oh, a tip, if you drink Horchata (and you should try it) you know when it is an authentic, this was some of the best I've ever tasted. Really excellent! Oh, they also have a full on bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our first time for lunch at Okeechobee Pueblo Viejo”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

After our dental appointment Gwen and I decided to try lunch at Okeechobee Pueblo Viejo. We had never eaten there but have seen it many times when we shop at Publix; it's in the same shopping center. We had a Spinach Enchilada, rice and beans. We also had wonderful Mexican beer on tap. The food appeared to be authentically fresh and prepared from Mexican recipes. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike100_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Muy bien and tasty too.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A very filling dining experience. The chips were fresh and warm the salsa was good though the "spicy" was not spicy or hot at all. Of four folks, we all had something different and we were all pleased with the meal and the portions were good sized. The atmosphere is festive Mexican and the décor is colorful and artful. The menu is large and should satisfy most appetites. We enjoyed the visit and would recommend if you are looking for Mexican food in Okeechobee. It is located in a strip mall with amble parking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hogride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pueblo Viejo also viewed

 

Been to Pueblo Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing