We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Los Cocos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 83 Restaurants in Okeechobee
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Good food, good prices. Salsa n Chips should be in bigger bowls...would save on finding the waitress and the waitresses making 2 trips. Restaurant itself could be updated.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful ran by a great family...”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Restaurant is always busy at lunch but the prices are great even on the evenings. Good portions and the flour tortillas are homemade and out of this word. Love their fajita salad and nachos all the way.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RayH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Los Cocos”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Excellent food and service, nice atmosphere, Good Selection of foods, very authenic

Helpful?
Thank ginny34503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee,Florida
Level Contributor
339 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican Food Ever”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My mother and I went this last time , this is a local favorite restaurant. This is authentic Mexican food and a family owned and ran restaurant. And this is a sit down , take it easy and relax, take your time to enjoy yourself restaurant. I especially love the wet beef burritos, you always get more than you payed for. From the tortilla chips and sauce to the last sip of sweet tea as you leave the table, you get nothing but the best authentic mexican food you`ve ever eaten. It`s right on Hwy 70 in town.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErininOkeechobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't charge for a basket of tortilla chips, it's a turn-off.”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stopped here for lunch while passing through Okeechobee, FL. The restaurant is colorful and clean and the staff is very pleasant. There were a fair amount of people in the restaurant or picking up, so we were looking forward to a good experience. In checking the menu, we noticed they charged for tortilla chips that most Mexican restaurants give complimentary while you're waiting for your food to arrive, so we thought they must be extra special and a large amount with a good salsa. Turned out it was a very small basket with what was the same as Tostitos from the grocery store with an uninspired salsa. Our food orders for lunch were good so it wasn't a wash-out, but we think it's cheap to charge for chips, so we probably won't return. If we do, we won't be ordering the chips. Prices were a little high for what you received, but the food was ok.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HHITravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Cocos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Los Cocos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing