We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
28
31
10
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
31
10
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course family pool general store snack bar driving range and putting hot tub nice playground bike riding temporary home couple of nights large pool an adult within miles winn dixie fitness center staff was friendly fish
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 82 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Came here excited to do some family swimming and fishing. The pools are separated so adults that want a cocktail by the pool while they watch their kids swim they are out of luck. The property has some serious flooding problems. The streets, fishing canals and golf course were covered with water after normal Florida summer showers. Several of the cabins and rv sites were water logged and inaccessible without rain boots. The checker board, putt putt golf area and shuffle board areas were covered with ant mounds and or puddles. The access to the golf course was flooded out. The park has the opportunity to be a good one if they address the bug issues, figure a way to improve drainage, and have more activities for the kids. We will not be back.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently completed our annual Memorial Day weekend visit to this KOA campground that is so much more than just a campground. All sites are concrete drives, with plenty of grass between. The best sites back up to the 9-hole golf course, and provide a great start to the day with a beautiful sunrise and lots of bird and wildlife watching. During the day, we partake in the numerous fun family activities in and around the large family pool, or cookouts and live music around the adult pool. Putt-putt is available, as are outdoor billiards, a nice playground, a dog park, a small indoor arcade, and the usual campground facilities. Those that cost a few bucks literally only cost a few, and many of them are fund raisers for charity. The kids are entertained all day, riding bikes, playing putt-putt, hitting the driving range, playing or fishing with new friends...when they're not in the swimming pool of course. As the sun goes down, new neighbors gather around fire pits and roast hot dogs and make smores, and the local bar near the adult pool is open for business until around 11pm with great drinks, fun locals, and often local live music. We haven't been to many places friendlier. Cabins are also available to rent, although we camped here in a motorhome.

Room tip: If in a motorhome, pay a few bucks extra for the golf course fronted sites. Don't miss taking your family for a tie-dye t-shirt if that activity is during your stay. There isn't a lot of shade, mostly palm trees (although some lots are shaded), so think about east or west facing for your RV awning and your preferences during summer months.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yabojason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. We used both the family and the adult pools which were well kept and clean. There were quite a few long term residents in the area where we stayed and some of those sites could use to be cleaned up, a bit of junky looking stuff around the RV's and campers.

We didn't have the need to use the bat house. We will stay here again if given the opportunity.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celepore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We recently attended a rally along with over 380 rv's at this campground which has many good points. The club house is very nice and has a large kitchen. There is a nine-hole golf course on site as well as tennis courts, bocce ball courts shuffleboard and two swimming pools, one for adults and one for families. There is a camp store and snack bar as well as a pool-side pub named The Shanty. It's evident, however, that this park has been in existence for many years. Some of the sites only have 30 amp hookups, and the quality of the electric service is poor on some sites - low voltage and circuit breakers which could not handle the load. Some sites are built on extreme back to front slopes making it hard to level the rv's. With a few improvements to their infrastructure, this could be a top notch resort.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My family of four has enjoyed the Okeechobee KOA for years. This is NOT your State Park campground. All sites are cement drives with level sites. A picnic table is included with water and electric. For a fee, WiFi is available. The campground surrounds a 9 hole golf course. My husband enjoyed playing golf, while we enjoyed the family pool, mini golf, biking riding, ice cream socials etc. We travel with a fire pit and enjoy a small fire at night. This is a four season campground. The lack of shade is only a factor in summer and for those who know, there are a few trees for shade or you book an East facing site. As the campground is close to the Lake and an open pasture, biting insects can limit evening fires...this is Florida cow country. In the winter, there are two active flea markets within biking distance that offer a variety of fresh veggies and an assortment of crazy flea market finds. As adults traveling now without kids, we love the adult pool and live bands. Or we enjoy relaxing in this family friendly park.

Room tip: We enjoy the shade and close proximity of sites located by the Adult pool.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diverpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews