We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pappas Ranch - CLOSED

Pappas Ranch
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We live in the area and have eaten inside and out. It's good but can be loud in the main dining room due to the high ceilings and large dining room. We also usually stop here on our way back to Florida when we travel. We sit at the bar. The service is always great, especially when Sandy is there. The food is terrific, I've never had anything bad. Don't miss the french onion soup and the homemade ceasar sald dressing. But the mango slaw is also good. I am not fond of the fusion wings, that may be my personal taste, but everything else is great!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ph34685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not So Good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Came in to order Prime rib on a Sunday nite about 6:00, only Prime Rib left wes Medium to Medium well, so we order fish tacos, (terrible) and Filet (terrible), service was very slow got the salad with the meal, We have been here quite a few times, and it seems to get worse every time we go. This will be the last time

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dasmith2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst yet just when we had a glimmer of hope we were so disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Done never to return ! Slow when arrived no greeting no hosts left to fend for ourselves. Server putting hair on ponytail in dining room no bread offered food came cold and inedible sent back came back with manager and was still bad I will spend my $$ elsewhere

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cabinstuff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went to Pappa's Ranch for our anniversary dinner with family. Had a great waiter who made our experience wonderful. Funny and friendly. Had great food. A very unique calamari that was really good. Overall great family experience. Would recommend the restaurant to all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emschachter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Country cuisine with atmosphere and flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Friday night was my very first experience with Pappas Ranch. Located between New Port Richey and Odessa on Hwy 54, it sits out kind of in the middle of nowhere but is easily found since 54 is one of the up and coming transportation routes for those wishing to avoid the toll road or 19.

The menu is varied enough without too many selections to choose from. They have an interesting balance of traditional southern classics mixed with a few Greek specialties with a southern twist. The place is decorated nicely and comfortably seats a good number of people without being over-crowded and noisy. The bar is situated away from the main dining area, no smoking and there is also outdoor dining for those wishing to enjoy sit outside. The portions are above average, pricing is average or slightly above (but allows for ample portions). The wait staff was adequate, immediate seating was available although we did arrive past the dinner hour for a Friday night. Tableside service was good, friendly waiter and the prep-to-serve time was punctual. Their homemade bread (made fresh daily) was outstanding. I had a combo platter of pulled pork with 1/4 chicken, sweet Caribbean slaw and French-fried sweet potatoes, all excellent. My husband had the fried conch fritters, Caribbean slaw and traditional fries, all excellent. I took home a doggy bag..... portions are very generous for the price. For dessert, we had a 4-layer chocolate cake that was excellent although the waiter admitted they do not make them there. All-in-all, the service, food and atmosphere were above average and I most certainly will be eating there again. Highly recommended for travelers since the service was quick, yet the menu varied for those with dietary needs. I give this place a 4.5 of 5 easily!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappas Ranch also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing