We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast at a great price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dam Diner

Dam Diner
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Ocklawaha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast at a great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stopped at this diner while on a motorcycle ride through the area. It was a great diner in an old Florida style. The breakfast was very good and the pancake was huge! I suggest stopping here if you are in the area, or plan a trip out there if you want to see another part of Florida.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RVFun32828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Still a great place after all these years!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place is a landmark! I don`t know who owns it or for how long but the place seems to have always been there. Lately, the food has been excellant. It was always good, but it just keeps getting better. It`s always busy so it can be hard to find a spot at peak times but it is worth the wait. Good old fashioned home cooking!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Awesome food and great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Don't come here unless your hungry. The portions are great, the food is excellent down-home southern, and the prices are easy on the wallet! I had a FULL order of biscuits and gravy, something I don't recommend for the average person, it's served on a turkey platter. And the service is great, not something so common now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RBC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirsdale, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food, Large Portions, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our first time at the Dam Diner, Our waitress was very outgoing and friendly and gave quick and good service. My wife and I each had a half order of biscuits and sausage gravy, her with 1 egg, mine with 2 eggs, and coffee for each of us. The plate the biscuits & gravy came on was a large plate and the serving completely filled the plate. We couldn't imagine what size plate they would have to serve a full order on, The eggs were served on a separate plate. The coffee was hot and good. While not the best sausage gravy I have ever had it was still very good. There were other menu selections that sounded interesting, that we will try on future visits. Cost of the meal was very modest for the amount of food we received. We will go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank retiredjld-fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Rode 100 miles with a large group to visit this biker friendly spot. Absolutely without doubt the best lasagna I have EVER had. One of my friends had the Sheppard Pie and said it was the best he ever had. I look forward to our next 100 mile ride to visit the Dam Diner, its well worth the trip! I jsut cannot speak highly enough of this spot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dam Diner also viewed

 

Been to Dam Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing