We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy Tub”
Review of Super 8 Ocala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Ocala
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Reviewed October 25, 2011

When I pay under $50 a night I don't expect much more than a clean room and a decent bed. The bed was fine, the bathtub was not. Before I ran water for a bath I pulled up the tub mat to check under it. It was a disgusting mess of old soap scum and mold. We've stayed at Super 8s in various states and never had a problem but we won't stay at this one again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redlyn522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcalaSupereight, Manager at Super 8 Ocala, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and for bringing this loose bathtub mat to our attention. I has been replaced, and our housekeeping staff has made it a priority to ensure all rooms are sparking clean.
We apologise for your experience, and hope you will return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 282 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Fixtures were old and rusty, there was a hole in the roof in the shower, walls were cracking, carpet was dirty. The place is old and falling apart. "Non-smoking" room smelled like smoke and air freshener. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable, but at least the bedding was clean. Continental breakfast was REALLY lame. Certainly not worth $50 a night .................

Room Tip: Go somewhere else..............................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had a group of 30 plus that pre booked our rooms - they under sold 3 of our rooms and did not tell us, we requested only non smoking and they gave us 8 of the 10 smoking rooms, the rooms were not clean, bathrooms were very dirty, room keys did not work on half the rooms. And the manager was very rude, considering we were 10 of his 90 rooms in the hotel he could have been polite. 6 members of our group had to find another hotel because he did not hold enough of our rooms or because the smoking rooms were that bad!!! NEVER AGAIN will we do business wit this Super 8.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $20 or $30 and stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexguhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcalaSupereight, Manager at Super 8 Ocala, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for the 10 room booking that you group made with us, and we are pleased that we were able to accomodate your 3 extra rooms at our sister hotel next door. A special event had all the rooms in Ocala booked, so this was lucky.

We certainly hope to see you the next time you are in Ocala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Yes the place is older & in need of a good makeover but all & all not bad. For the price is it fabulous.

I found it to be clean and the ameneties adequate. The staff was friendly & very accomadating.

My 1st room was unacceptable due to some beer drinking rednecks grilling in the parking space in front of my room with a barking dog tied onto a chain. Worse was they wanted to chat me up. Afer a long road trip I am not in the mood to talk to anyone.My room was changed immeditely to a very quiet part of the motel. It seems as if there are a few live in's there maybe out of state worker types. Several truckers seemed to call this place home for a stop over.
The pool is nice & clean & considering proximity to the interstate not noisy at all.

Very pet friendly, with the cheapest rate going for pets. Now if the pet owners would just clean up after their dogs & NOT tie them outside they may keep the rates low. Of course, I am of the mind there should be no fee unless the owners aren't mindful of their dog's behavior. In 2011 the # of people traveling with pets is about equal to those traveling with children most places allow children free. Yet pets don't use the resources kids do & most times aren't near as annoying or destructive.
Give this place a try if you want a decent room for a night or 2. Bring Fido & don't forget to clean up after him.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the back or interstate side unless you want to grill out & party
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

First of all, let me stay that the economy in Cen Florida has been ravaged. This area has empty storefronts everywhere. Hotel prices in this area are dropping like a rock. Unfortunately, so is the upkeep at this hotel. My favorite room is still quite comfortable. I remain content with that. The bed is still good and the internet connection is still complete. However, the upkeep of the property is wayyyy lacking. Starting to attract questionable characters. The grass is high, etc.
One thing that I should post is that if you choose your lodges by the continental breakfast offered, you may want to steer clear of this place. "It's lacking" is an understatement. It's cereal, bananas, boiled eggs, bagels, plastic wrapped muffins, orange juice and there may be a waffle iron. And the the free coffee ain't real good. Anyway, I'll continue to stay at least once a month until I no longer can tolerate the short comings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buytheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I travel quite a bit. I'm usually driving over 500 miles per day. I need a quiet restful place with good bedding to continue the next day. I've found one particular room in this place meets my needs just perfectly. And the price is right. It's is exactly 1 days drive from my home and a days drive from here to Miami and back to this place. Perfect! Plenty parking for my pickup and trailer, quiet place, very good bed, respectful personnel. Terrible, terrible breakfasts, but so what?? Denny's is across the street if you need the real fat stuff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buytheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ananas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Ocala
Quality Inn Ocala
#15 of 34 in Ocala
244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
11.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#6 of 34 in Ocala
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ocala

Address: 3924 W Silver Springs Blvd, I-75 Exit 352, Ocala, FL 34482-4097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Price Range: $65 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ocala 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing