We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service here smells as bad as a clogged drain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Ocala
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Only stayed here because three other hotels were booked solid one night. Aside from a door seperating the sink from the toilet and an interior designer's well-thought out wallpapering, you're paying an extra $60/night over the neighboring hotels for nothing else. The sink was clogged, hotel service didn't come until the next day and I was charged an additional $30 because the staff said it was fine before I got there. If clogging a sink is all I needed to do to become a rock star, I would have done that years ago. Should have just gone to Walgreens and paid $5 for a thing of Drano. Unfortunately, the mattress was great and the noise level was pretty well contained despite being near capacity (probably the clientele more so than the insulation). However, I would sleep in my car if I was in Ocala and no other hotel had vacancy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 249 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at this Courtyard for one night as we traveled to Miami. The room was comfortable and the hotel included one of Te Courtyard's cute restaurants. Additionally, the hotel is kid friendly.

Room Tip: If they tell you you need to drive to the B entrance, request that they find you another room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaykayMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were looking for a convenient hotel off I74 for an overnite stay. After discovering that most of the hotels were sold out because of a horse show, we luckily found this one. However our overall experience was quite disappointing. First there is no mini fridge in the room, nor is there an in-room safe. Rooms were standard, with large balcony, clean. Be forewarned that, unlike other many of the other 'freeway' hotels, this one does not have a free breakfast. The food is quite expensive for the quality. There is an onsite bar but we experienced absolutely terrible service. Took the bartender/waitress more than 10 minutes to get four of us 2 beers and 2 glasses of wine. When we got back to our room, we found our door to be slightly open; we firmly shut it when we left. Nothing was missing but it is something to be aware of. It was a disappointing Courtyard experience. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed here in December 2011 for one night. I traveled with a colleague. Neither of us had any complaints with our rooms which were very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly, check-in and check-out were both easy and quick. There were restaurants within walking distance.The rooms were some distance and through several doors away from the lobby. We did not have any meals at the motel so I can't speak to the quality of the breakfast, etc. No complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeingGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I had an expensive pair of sunglasses/case stolen from my suitcase in my room over Thanksgiving weekend. When I reported it to Richard, the manager, he assured me he would conduct a full investigation and get back to me. That was over a month ago and he never responded. I don't expect the sunglasses to be returned, but I wanted to give future guests a heads up to lock up their valuables.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank jwm49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Had two rooms Nov 19, 2011. the hotel is easy to find and get to - perhaps a hundred hards from the I-75 exit. Check-in was efficient, though only one clerk was working at about 6:00pm and there was a line in the lobby. This property is one of the types with the front "desk" being more like a convenience store.
The layout of the property is a little confusing at first - we followed the instructions given and made a loop around the courtyard. The public areas as tidy and modern with clever sitting areas including a 'business' area with public PC's and also a sitting area with large television. Breakfst is available but basic and expensive (think $2.50 for a plain, refrigerated bagel); we chose to eat at the Bob Evans nearby and there is also a Cracker Barrell next door.
The rooms were comfortable and clean. We had 2 queens and they were very comfortable - far better than average. The toilet/shower area of the bathroom is in a seperate room with its own door - seperate from the sink. Towels and toiletries were basic and not noteworthy.
The staff was helpful and friendly. I made a special request at the front 'desk' and of housekeeping and both were satisfied quickly and cheerfully.
The property is in a square shape, surrounding a swimming pool in the center, and parking was plentiful and of reasonable access.
Based on my experience there are two major drawbacks: 1) the rooms are not quiet at all; we had an inside courtyard room and an outside room and both were quite noisy. We could hear sinks running in adjacent rooms, road traffic at all hours, normal-volume conversations by the pool AND in the hallways and the ice machine far down the hallway. 2) The cost was $109/nt, which seems high based on the basic, budget nature of the property. This exit of I-75 has many, many hotels (three by Marriott alone) and there is nothing abotu this property that justifies the price difference.
I would stay at this property again if I were guaranteed a toop cloor, outside, rear corner room as remote from the other parts of the hotel as possible and there were a price special.

Room Tip: Outside (away from interior pool courtyard) on the rear (away from traffic noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Courtyard by Marriott in Ocala is currently under renovation. The rooms have been remodeled very nicely, and they are working on the lobby area. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. They have a great fitness center and the central pool looked nice. If my review could stop right there, I would have given the hotel a higher score. However, the hotel has virtually no soundproofing. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the NW corner of the hotel and you could hear every sound from the parking lot and street beyond, as well as from the hallways. Renovate all you want, but unless you rip out the walls, you can't fix lack of soundproofing. At one point we actually went into the bathroom to see if the shower was on, only to realize it was the room below us.
They offered a free, but sad, buffet breakfast tucked away in the corner of the lobby - defrosted doughnuts (my pet peeve), cereals, apples wrapped in plastic, and waffles (well, they had a waffle iron and there was a puddle of batter on the table, so can only assume they were refilling the batter dispenser - why the person who picked up the dispenser didn't wipe up the batter, I don't know). Hopefully, when the lobby renovation is complete, the buffet area will be nicer. Unfortunately, I won't ever find out because the noise in the room kills this hotel for me.

Room Tip: NE corner of the hotel might be the quietest for street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Ocala
Hilton Ocala
#3 of 34 in Ocala
1,925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ocala
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Ocala
Residence Inn Ocala
#11 of 34 in Ocala
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ocala

Address: 3712 SW 38th Avenue, Ocala, FL 34474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: $98 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ocala 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the beautiful Courtyard by Marriott Ocala and experience newly renovated and beautifully appointed guest room or suite. Easy to access from SR 200 off Exit 350 of the I-75, your visit to to this strategically located, green certified and pet free hotel in Ocala, Florida places you close to everywhere you need or want to be in Ocala and Marion County! Four newly renovated meeting rooms can host your impressive meetings or social events of 10 - 80 people, and complimentary high speed wireless internet is available to all guests throughout the hotel. Fitness routines are easily maintained in the on-site fitness room, and your stress simply melts away in the enticing outdoor pool, courtyard and whirlpool spa. The on-site guest coin laundry is a practical convenience. Reserve your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Ocala and you will have a choice to enjoy several dining and shopping options, all walking distance to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ocala Hotel Ocala
Ocala Courtyard
Ocala Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing