We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, comfortable room, noisy, questionable value”
Review of Courtyard Ocala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Ocala
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Atlanta
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Convenient location, comfortable room, noisy, questionable value”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Had two rooms Nov 19, 2011. the hotel is easy to find and get to - perhaps a hundred hards from the I-75 exit. Check-in was efficient, though only one clerk was working at about 6:00pm and there was a line in the lobby. This property is one of the types with the front "desk" being more like a convenience store.
The layout of the property is a little confusing at first - we followed the instructions given and made a loop around the courtyard. The public areas as tidy and modern with clever sitting areas including a 'business' area with public PC's and also a sitting area with large television. Breakfst is available but basic and expensive (think $2.50 for a plain, refrigerated bagel); we chose to eat at the Bob Evans nearby and there is also a Cracker Barrell next door.
The rooms were comfortable and clean. We had 2 queens and they were very comfortable - far better than average. The toilet/shower area of the bathroom is in a seperate room with its own door - seperate from the sink. Towels and toiletries were basic and not noteworthy.
The staff was helpful and friendly. I made a special request at the front 'desk' and of housekeeping and both were satisfied quickly and cheerfully.
The property is in a square shape, surrounding a swimming pool in the center, and parking was plentiful and of reasonable access.
Based on my experience there are two major drawbacks: 1) the rooms are not quiet at all; we had an inside courtyard room and an outside room and both were quite noisy. We could hear sinks running in adjacent rooms, road traffic at all hours, normal-volume conversations by the pool AND in the hallways and the ice machine far down the hallway. 2) The cost was $109/nt, which seems high based on the basic, budget nature of the property. This exit of I-75 has many, many hotels (three by Marriott alone) and there is nothing abotu this property that justifies the price difference.
I would stay at this property again if I were guaranteed a toop cloor, outside, rear corner room as remote from the other parts of the hotel as possible and there were a price special.

Room Tip: Outside (away from interior pool courtyard) on the rear (away from traffic noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    89
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
55
73
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Courtyard by Marriott in Ocala is currently under renovation. The rooms have been remodeled very nicely, and they are working on the lobby area. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly. They have a great fitness center and the central pool looked nice. If my review could stop right there, I would have given the hotel a higher score. However, the hotel has virtually no soundproofing. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the NW corner of the hotel and you could hear every sound from the parking lot and street beyond, as well as from the hallways. Renovate all you want, but unless you rip out the walls, you can't fix lack of soundproofing. At one point we actually went into the bathroom to see if the shower was on, only to realize it was the room below us.
They offered a free, but sad, buffet breakfast tucked away in the corner of the lobby - defrosted doughnuts (my pet peeve), cereals, apples wrapped in plastic, and waffles (well, they had a waffle iron and there was a puddle of batter on the table, so can only assume they were refilling the batter dispenser - why the person who picked up the dispenser didn't wipe up the batter, I don't know). Hopefully, when the lobby renovation is complete, the buffet area will be nicer. Unfortunately, I won't ever find out because the noise in the room kills this hotel for me.

Room Tip: NE corner of the hotel might be the quietest for street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Old refurbished Courtyard. Rooms were well done but .... Room had ants and fleas. It had to be sprayed, which turned out to be effective. But didn't sleep very well. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocala hotels

Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Registration staff friendly and professional. Well appointed clean room with balcony facing street (some road noise, but not too bad) (next time we will reserve a corner room with balcony facing pool area), bed was very comfortable, bed linens and towels were clean & smelled clean. Toiletries were provided daily. Carpeting had a few stains here and there, could use shampooing or better yet replacing. Pool was jacuzzi were clean and not too crowded, nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweethomeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel was recently remodeled...you can tell it's actually an older hotel that they've given a more contemporary look/feel. The rooms are fairly nice, and they have the type of things business travelers expect. I especially liked the LAN cable (in addition to wireless). Not many hotels seem to offer that anymore. The staff were friendly and seemed capable. The hotel has a small bar area with a really sweet bartender. A/C worked well - albeit a little noisy. The pool looked great, and I would have loved to have time for a swim.

What I didn't like -- the walls are thin. I was up about 5am getting ready to go into the office and I was going to the bathroom. I could hear the guest in the next room coughing like she was just outside the bathroom door, and I'm sure she could hear everything I was doing as well. Not a good feeling. The next night, some gentlemen were coming back from dinner about midnight and were a bit loud in the hall. This stuff happens at every hotel to be fair...but I think the sound insulation should be a little better for a three-star. The couch in my room was a little beat up. Also, I've got kind of a sensitive nose, and there was a slight mildew odor when I first walked in (it seems like most hotels in Florida have this problem).

It wasn't a bad stay overall. Very capable, friendly staff. Just some little things that need to be worked on. When I travel for business, I like to be really comfortable -- I find that I get the most done that way. This hotel wasn't quite up to that level, but it did meet my needs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robko626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here for three nights on a business trip to Ocala.

Location: Just off I-75 at the SR-200 exit (350). Near other hotels and a variety of restaurant options. The local mall is just on the other side of I-75, so if you need to do any shopping you have that nearby. Very easy to access the hotel from I-75, but slightly more difficult to get back on to I-75. No problems though, they have posted signs directly people how to get back to the interstate. Not a whole lot going on in Ocala, but this is probably the best section of town if you have to be here.

Hotel: Looks slightly worn on the outside, and the lobby could stand to be brought up to date. Nice courtyard/pool area...has a real Florida feel with all the palm trees. Breakfast buffet was standard Courtyard fare - eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, juices, etc. Not sure if they have any business or fitness center here, I didn't need a business center this trip, and didn't have time to check out the fitness center (if any). Unlike the lobby/common areas, the guest rooms and hallways have been renovated.

Room: Clean, modern, user-friendly. Flat screen TV, pull-out sofa bed, king size bed, desk, etc. Wireless internet worked well, and speeds were more than adequate. Not a huge number of channels on the TV, but enough. They gave me a "deluxe" room, which had a nice view of the pool area.

One other comment: The staff at this hotel was very welcoming, and helpful with any questions I had, particularly the young woman who works the afternoon shift.

Will return to this location the next time I'm in Ocala.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueDart404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed for one night last week and it was the best night during my entire two week trip which entailed 5 different hotels. The room was clean, free of mold and mildew unlike many Florida hotels. The bed was very comfy and I am partial to the Hilton's sleep system but didnt miss it that night. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Thank you Sara and Lynne! I would recommend this hotel to everyone traveling through the Gainesville/Ocala area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tisimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
0.3 mi away
Hilton Ocala
Hilton Ocala
#3 of 34 in Ocala
1,748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Ocala
Residence Inn Ocala
#10 of 34 in Ocala
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ocala

Property: Courtyard Ocala
Address: 3712 SW 38th Ave, Ocala, FL 34474-4380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ocala 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the beautiful Courtyard by Marriott in Ocala Florida, and experience 171 newly renovated and beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Easy to access from SR 200 off Exit 350 of the I-75, your visit to to this strategically located, green certified and pet free hotel places you close to everywhere you need or want to be in Ocala and Marion County! Four newly renovated meeting rooms can host your impressive meetings or social events of 10 - 80 people, and complimentary high speed wireless internet is available to all guests throughout the hotel. Fitness routines are easily maintained in the on-site fitness room, and your stress simply melts away in the enticing outdoor pool, courtyard and whirlpool spa. The on-site guest coin laundry is a practical convenience. Reserve your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott, and you will have a choice to enjoy several dining and shopping options, all walking distance to the hotel. Come to this Courtyard by Marriott Ocala in Ocala Florida, and enjoy superb quality, convenience, comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ocala Hotel Ocala
Ocala Courtyard
Ocala Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing