We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but not up to standards”
Review of Hilton Ocala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Ocala
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
farmington, connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ok but not up to standards”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

staff helpful and professional. Room ok but bathroom was not cleaned properly before our arrival, breakfast were running out of food by 915( hotel had many youth athletic teams on weekend) when we ordered from menu, received cold food completely buried in a sauce. waitress helpfully returned it to kitchen and there was evident issue with kitchen staff. When asked, we received an extra blanket quickly but it was "scratchy" texture. front desk was p[professional and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Your comments are very much appreciated and are always immeidately shared with our entire team. There is never a time we get "comfortable" and stop striving for improvement and your notes are just the type to keep us on our toes.
We do hope you try us again, and see why so many people call Hilton Ocala their home away from home time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    350
    149
    63
    43
See reviews for
439
353
107
605
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
741 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Hotel was idealy situated near the Interstate. Room was comfortable and clean. Ate breakfast in the hotel and the food choices and service were average. However, there are a number of other eating establishments nearby. Front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HARRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Candid and quick comments from our guests are always welcome and we appreciate your note to the hotel. We make every effort to be quite a bit better than "average" and our guests tell us we do that on a consistent basis. When we fall short we always want to know, so we can continuously improve. Again, thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mims florida
Level Contributor
809 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We arrived early to enjoy the Executive Lounge (we are Diamond Hilton members) but it is closed "Friday, Saturday and Sunday". Why? leisure travellers should, be able to enjoy it as well as business customers. One of our regular favourite Hiltons, the Doubletree at Charlottesville, VA opens its lounge 7 days a week. Then the wifi was difficult to connect. And the pool was hardly "heated" as claimed, and the hot tub not clean (leaves, still there 22 hrs later).
But the room was good, and cooked breakfast very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
First of all, we are so sorry that your experience with our Executive Lounge did not meet your expectations. The lounge is open 7 days a week, but only staffed in mornings and evenings (for happy hour, snacks, cookies) Monday through Thursday nights. Our VIP Hilton Honors members do have access to the lounge at any time, with it's magnificant view, bit screen tv, and comfortable seating.
We have addressed the comments of the pool and hot tub with our staff - with the many days of heavy rains we have experienced the past month combined with our oak tree lined back paddock leaves are always a constant, not to mention keeping a pool as enormous as ours warm with the cool January rains.
Give us a try on your next trip through the area and I am confident you will find everything to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable. I was there for a business conference. The hotel has good facilities for a meeting. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. Also the hotel is located close to the Interstate and many other eating establishments.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
They say first impressions are a person's reality and that is certainly the case with your observations. Thank you for calling Hilton Ocala home while traveling and we are glad you found our warm and friendly hotel the perfect stop during your business travels.
We do have a very effective conference center allowing for affordable and efficient meetings...and the perfect corporate choice with our perfect center of the state location. Hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Enjoyed by stay at this hotel. The short course which I attended was easy to locate and access the various training rooms. Food was wonderful and the staff was pleasant and knowledgable. The unexpected 9:30 p.m. alarm and hotel evacuation was an added surprise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Becky - great to hear that your meetings went well. Of course with our new state-of-the-art fire and emergency notification system that was just install comes the necessary testing...we apologize for that occuring during your visit.
The culinary team did enjoy your group and on behalf of the entire Hilton Ocala team we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Outdated Hilton desperately needs a makeover. Avoid breakfast even if free-buffet is not good and if you order off the menu it will likely be wrong. Bar staff is friendly but they're not likely to have what you order if its beer or wine. Executive level leaves much to be desired

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Chad - Your feedback is important and the comments have been shared with our team. Our expansive breakfast buffet is one of the favoriate features of most people's stay with us..and with the buffet if the offerings on the buffet (scrambled eggs) are not your favorite the kitchen will make yours to order at no extra cost. Of course we have a wonderful menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner as well as room-service.
We urge you to try the Starting Gate Bar & Grill again on your next visit, with one of the largest bourbon and vodka selections in town as well as a fantastic craft beer and wine selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay that's reasonable and clean. They allow pets which is a benefit to some. Our room had robes, bottled water and Peter Thomas Roth products in the bath. There were 3 plush bath towels which I appreciate. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl K, Manager at Hilton Ocala, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Your comments are very much appreciated and have been shared with our entire team. Glad you got to experience our wonderful VIP Access 8th & 9th floors. These Key Access floors do give you access to our VIP 9th floor executive lounge, and there are cozy upgrades in each room.
While we restrict pets to part of one floor of the hotel, our pet traveling guests really do love the room they have to roam here at Hilton Ocala.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ocala
Residence Inn Ocala
#11 of 34 in Ocala
227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Ocala at Heath Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ocala

Property: Hilton Ocala
Address: 3600 SW 36th Ave, Ocala, FL 34474-4474
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocala
#3 Business Hotel in Ocala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocala
#5 Family Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Ocala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ocala is truely a "Piece of Paradise in the Heart of Horse Country." Located just off I-75 at SR200 you will find the area's most popular restaurants within walking or a short drive distance from the hotel. At the Hilton Ocala, you will find every comfort of home or office. Each room features comfortable, plush bedding, ample work-desk space, modern decor, and more. Our 8th & 9th VIP floors include access to our 9th floor VIP lounge with morning continental breakfast, evening appetizers, drink specials, and more.When it's time to relax, induldge in our large outdoor heated pool or whirlpool, or just relax on our enormous pool deck. If a little exercise is part of your day, take a jog outback in the glade and visit Buddy, our resident Clydesdale horse, and enjoy our outdoor fitness stations or workout in our well-equipped in door fitness center.The Starting Gate lobby bar is perfect for a cool beverage, dinner, or late night snack. Arthur's Restaurant is on of Ocala's most popular dining destinations open for Breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday Brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ocala Hotel Ocala
Hilton Hotel Ocala
Ocala Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing