We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stopped after four years, really wonderfully upgraded!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grant-Valkaria, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stopped after four years, really wonderfully upgraded!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I stopped here four years ago and really liked the place then. With the new upgrades this hotel has had it was even better. The staff from check in to check out are the most friendly anywhere. We believe that we even had the same room as four years ago, so where able to really compare the changes.
The only problem here, not the hotels fault, but a large pool party with other guests being very loud late into the night.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the pool if go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you, Randy, for the wonderful review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! As you mentioned, we have invested a great deal into our hotel including upgrading and refreshing our guest rooms with new carpeting, paint, bathroom fixtures, bedding and more. We take great pride in providing sparkling clean rooms and exceptional service to our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. It is only through your feedback that we can improve and for that we are truly grateful. We look forward to seeing you again upon your next trip to the Ocala area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    418
    204
    88
    61
See reviews for
414
312
162
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This has been by far the best hotel customer service experience I have had in all my travels. I have stayed at hilton and marriot properties extensively and this has been exemplory. From Eddie who checked us in, to Jeni who accomodated us with an extra early breakfast; friendly, considerate and good courtesy are the words I would use to describe them. I wish them all the best. The rooms were very clean. Everything about the rooms, from the minute i stepped in, i could smell the cleanliness. Clean sheets, clean bathroom. Very comfortable. If i am ever in the area again, this is where I will stay. Message to management: you guys have a great group of people. Keep up the wonderful job you are doing!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FitTraveller_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for the awesome review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel! Reviews like this bring a smile to our faces and brighten our whole day because it means that our efforts are noted and appreciated. Our goal is provide you with an exceptional stay experience and sparkling clean rooms at an excellent value! I am pleased to hear that we hit the mark. I will pass along your compliments to the staff. Please do let us know if you are coming back to our area. We always enjoy welcoming back familiar faces. We would be happy to set up a clean, comfy room for you upon your return. Thank you again for the kind words. We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Overall experience was good if you are looking for a place only to sleep because you'll spend around the city.
This is an old hotel but room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable.
Staff was amazing all the time
My only complaint would be about the breakfast, it was really disappointed, coffee was terrible too.

Overall, I would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaySosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for the review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel! We value our guest feedback and take each review seriously as it is a way to improve upon our service and product. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our sparkling clean guest rooms and our exceptional staff. We pride ourselves on providing you with an excellent stay experience. I do apologize that you didn't enjoy our breakfast and coffee. If you wouldn't mind taking a moment to let us know specifically what it was that disappointed you, we would appreciate it. Our email is howardjohnsonocala@hdghotels.com. Should you visit our area again, please be sure to let us know. We always want to make it right for our guests. It would be our pleasure to make a reservation for you and set up a fantastic breakfast experience! Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

yes the hotel was a little older but it was well maintained and clean, they have a great pool area for the kids and the adults. The room was nice and quiet with comfortable beds. Our safe did not operate but other than that it was just fine. Now for the best part of our stay there, the staff, what a great group of professionals. We were greeted by Dorian upon arrival and let me tell you I have been in some of the nicest hotels in the world in my travels and never have I been treated with such respect and sincerity. He is the best I have ever had the pleasure at dealing with, just an awesome job. We had a storm our first night there which blew one of the phases of electricity so we had only partial power (which was no fault of theirs) and they offered us free hot breakfast at no charge and if I can say the food was really good both for dinner and breakfast. I can only say good things and if it was newer it would of scored a perfect five...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_B1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala hotel! I am thrilled to hear that Dorian provided you with exceptional service during your stay. I will be sure to pass along your compliments. As you mentioned, we are an older property; however, most of our rooms have been completely updated including new carpeting, bedding, flat screen TVs and bathroom fixtures. We take great pride in keeping our hotel sparkling clean and updated! Thank you for noticing and appreciating our efforts. Our hot, cooked-to-order breakfast is available at a minimal charge and provides you with a delicious way to start your day. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is an old hotel, but Room was clean, bed was comfortable and staff was pleasant. Breakfast area was well maintained. Air was alittle loud . had a nice flat screen tv. Left our charger and within 5 minutes of checkout they called. Thank you Toy,for your. honesty and integrity.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bemytravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your fresh, clean room with our comfy Serta beds. As you mentioned, all of our rooms have 40" flat screen televisions with premium channels. We always strive to go above and beyond for our guests which is why when you forget something, we do everything we can to get it back to you! Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Our guest feedback is extremely important to us as it is the only way we can improve. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Glad they were so friendly and welcoming, and my room was probably one of the best.

But the overall facility needs updating. Confusing entrance to property and buildings/room numbers not marked or lighted well. Good location, some road noise, BUT such a value as only there 8 hours. liked the small sofa and floor lamp for reading.

Room Tip: am rewards member so it helps
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you, Ronald, for reviewing our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala. Guest feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve upon our product and service. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your clean room with your sofa and floor lamp! Our rooms are constantly being updated, refreshed and remodeled. As we are an older, exterior corridor property we go to great lengths to maintain our grounds and all of our guest rooms. We thank you for being a rewards member with Wyndham and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This Howard Jonson's hotel has some of the best staff I have ever experienced.Cedric,the manager, went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The rooms were very clean and we saw security frequently driving the property. The food was fantastic! I recommend the club sandwich and the burgers!! A special thanks to Cedric,Renee and Byrd. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 534pamelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our exceptional staff and delicious food. Our staff strives to go above and beyond for each of our guests. As you mention, our hotel offers 24 hour security and we have an on-site, full restaurant with daily specials. I hope you were able to enjoy some of the beautiful Ocala area during your stay. Our hotel is minutes from Silver Springs State Park, Silver River and the Ocala National Forest. We are a great stopping point for those traveling to the Orlando attractions and theme parks. Please keep us in mind next time you're in the area! We always enjoy welcoming back friendly faces. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 35 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#8 of 35 in Ocala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing