We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in Ocala”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great check in process, courteous staff, clean and large room. I opted for a stay here in part for the in room microwave and refrigerator as I had an early morning triathlon and wanted a 4 AM breakfast. I came back for the hotel breakfast later, it was pleasant but a bit crowded. I will return here next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Komododad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala, Florida! We are pleased to hear that you found the rooms suited for your travel needs. I hope that you enjoyed participating in the HITS Triathlon here in Ocala. Our hotel had the pleasure of hosting quite a few guests in town for this event. We hope to see you again in the future! Thank you for taking the time to let other potential travelers know how we're doing here at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Room renovated, ok except for the loud window heater/air conditioner. Internet worked when we arrived, but called the desk several times the next morning, no connection. They blamed it on my laptop, therefore my wife's Ipad was the problem too, right? Until we reached our destination, where everything worked fine.

Arrived starved, we ordered a coke and a beer. The beer bottle (without glass) arrived while I was at the desk. There were no glasses or servers to ask, so after 5 minutes I used a coffee cup. The " guest special" was anything but special. They ran out of soup, my wife only picked at her meal, so we paid up and left. I did not eat! will not return.........

Room Tip: Avoid unless there is nothing else available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarasotaNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

First of all, we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Without our guest feedback, we have no way to improve upon our service and the quality of our product. Unfortunately we need a bit more information from you, if you don't mind taking the time to respond. Your specific room number and your registered name would help us to pinpoint the details of your stay. We do apologize for the loudness of the HVAC unit. I can assure you that our maintenance department will address the issue. Had we known that you had a noisy unit, we would have gladly moved you. Our high-speed wireless internet is extremely reliable so I am not sure why you had issues connecting. We do offer free technical support to our guests which we connect you to directly. I am sorry that this wasn't offered to you. I have addressed your concerns with the General Manager and the other staff members. Please email us when you have a moment so we can get more details on your stay. Our email is howardjohnsonocala@hdghotels.com. We want to make it right for you! Thank you again for your feedback and for the opportunity to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Spent last night at those hotel. Apparently there are no rules about people loitering about the outside premises at all hours as we were awakened by loud shouting and profanity by a man who was seated at a table right outside our room at 2 am. The situation escalated with the hotel manager and 5 police. For an hour and a half a loud screaming discussion took place while this man and his drunken friends screamed and cursed and of course there was no sleep for us. In the morning we mentioned the situation to the manager on duty who didn't even acknowledge us. We also made a statement to the front desk clerk, who apologized, but no offer of compensation was made for the missed sleep and trauma of an assault of profanity that went on for way too long. I can't even imagine the horror I would have felt had I had children with me. From what we could tell the drunk man was a fireman and they were affording him special consideration and did not arrest him because of this which was utterly ridiculous. So to Shane the fireman, you should be in jail for that performance last night, and the managements lack of acknowledgement of how this situation affected the other guests was the mark of a very poor host. We will not be staying at this hotel again.
.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay experience. On behalf of the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala, Florida, I am truly sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience at our hotel. Our General Manager would like to offer you a refund due to the circumstances of your stay. I have messaged you on here with the contact details. Please know that the young man in question was a student at the Fire College here. It truly was an isolated incident as the students are always very respectful and courteous of our other guests. Please know that we want to make it right for you! If you would take a moment and contact us directly at the phone and/or email address I provided to you in the private message. Thank you for reviewing us. It is only through you, our guests, that we can improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Luis E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The room smelled like a dirty thrift store. I kept my clothes in the car overnight so they'd be ok.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank FloridaLittleMama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We take our guest feedback very seriously and want you to know that we care and that we make great efforts to improve with your direction! I am sorry that you found your room to be smelly. If our staff members are made aware we can take action immediately and move you to a different room. We always want to correct any issues that arise while you're still with us! Please take a moment to contact us with the specifics of your stay and let us know how we can make amends. We strive to go above and beyond! Our email address is howardjohnsonocala@hdghotels.com. We look forward to hearing from you and to improving based on your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
356 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
13 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#6 of 34 in Ocala
373 reviews
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: $65 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing