We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth more than you paid...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

All of the rooms in the next town were booked. This place was the only thing available. Being that i had had a previous experience with another HJ,i was kind of skeptical. Well they made up for how the other place was. Nice rooms. Awesome wifi.Very quiet. And the staff were VERY helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chandrad05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you, Chandra, for the wonderful review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! We are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our free high-speed WiFi. As you mentioned, our staff members are exceptionally helpful and go above and beyond for each guest. How great that we were able to provide you with lodging as the next town was booked solid. We hope that we have made a loyal guest out of you. Should you return to our area, please let us know you're coming. We can arrange for you to have your favorite, quiet room. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had family business (death) to attend to. When we tried to get a walk-in rate of $60.00, we were told that the current rate was $159 + tax (174 total). My husband booked the room because of the time. The room that we were given was right beneath the staircase, so all night we heard people talking and going up/down. This motel is right up against I75, so we also heard cars/trucks all night long. The TV in our room was also bad the sound was very muffled. They provide a breakfast, very small area so everybody was reaching over everybody else. The banana's that they put out were all brown, way over ripe. I complained to the manager about this, and also what we were charged as mentioned above, and said that I checked the rates before checking out and they it was only $89. Telling him that I was very dissatisfied, and why we needed a room on short notice, because of a family death and his reply," sorry" but that was the rate last night!!. He didn't even care about why we needed a room on such a short notice. I thought that he would maybe at least give us that days rate, but didn't. That was the first time and last time that I will ever stay at a HoJo's. So because of the treatment that I got I would not recommend this motel. I paid a high price for lousy treatment.....

Room Tip: My tip would be DON'T stay at this motel. Pick another hotel, as all rooms face I75.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flgirl0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. First of all, we are truly sorry for your loss. It saddens us that you were not satisfied with your stay. The evening you stayed was a sold out evening for the entire Marion County area due to events in the area. All hotels were at premium rates during this time. As you did have a coupon, we extended to you a discount off of our premium rate. We have brand new flat screen TVs in all of our rooms, so I am not sure why yours was muffled. As we are an interstate hotel, there is some noise but as you can see with other reviews most guests feel our rooms are very quiet considering the location of our hotel. I have communicated your other concerns to the property managers. It is our practice to go above and beyond for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

bed was so worn that it had a visable dip and was unconfortable
business center was unable to print
breakfast was terriable had rotten potatoes and burnt hard sausage
if there was a way to up load pics i would as i took pics to share on FB and TW

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Deborah U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This may be the friendliest hotel I've ever stayed at! All the staff were very nice and helpful. The room was clean. We were there for several days for the races at Bubba Raceway Park and there was plenty of parking for our truck and trailer. I plan to stay here evrytime I'm in the Ocala area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you, Jodi, for such a wonderful review of our Howard Johnson Ocala, Florida! We are so pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. We strive to go above and beyond for each of our valued guests. Our goal is to provide you with exceptional service, sparkling clean rooms and great value! We hope you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank 997rebeccap
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#6 of 34 in Ocala
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: $66 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing