We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Like the rooms, quiet and pool and close to all food and shopping!! Food available on property. Car wash and interstate nearby! Clean rooms, nice showers. free Wi-Fi, was our second time staying there this year. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Eric, thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We are so pleased that you returned to stay with us again. As you mentioned, we had dining both on property and within walking distance. You also mentioned the car wash. This belongs to the hotel and we actually have room packages where you get a car wash included. We also have gas card packages available too! Thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank dewey089
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great service, friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms. Good free continental breakfast and not just pastries and coffee. Dinner in their reataurant was delicious and extremely reasonable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dofascoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We greatly appreciate your wonderful review of our Howard Johnson of Ocala, Florida! We strive to provide the best value to our guests with fresh, clean rooms and a delicious continental breakfast each morning. Our restaurant on site serves delicious food at a great price! Our goal is to provide an exceptional experience with all the comforts of home! Please do come and visit us again. Thank you for the great review of our Ocala, Florida hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was just passing through the area so I can't speak to its closeness to nearby attractions.

The staff (Jake & Dorin) were very courteous and helpful. I enjoyed that they had a restaurant with reasonable prices right in the hotel considering the street of restaurants was one exit further south.

The room was large, clean, and newly renovated. The shower had great water pressure and the bed was very comfortable!

I just wish that there was conditioner in the shower.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imsophistikated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Howard Johnson of Ocala, Florida! We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. Many of our rooms have been refreshed with new carpeting and high definition flat screen televisions! We take great pride in recruiting and investing in our staff. Our goal is to provide you with all the comforts of home, a sparkling clean room and an exceptional customer service experience. Please do visit us again and check out some of our local attractions. Again, thank you for letting others know about our hotel in Ocala, Florida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Ocala Howard Johnson is an excellent property. The rooms were clean, updated, and the staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. Darian, Jake, and the night security gentleman whose name I cannot recall take great pride in seeing their guests are well treated. They also take pride in the name Howard Johnson, and it shows as they were named the #1 property in the Howard Johnson chain in 2013. The beds are very comfortable, and I had a great night sleep to prepare for a 5k the next morning. Much to my surprise there is a small scale Howard Johnson restaurant on site, this is a throwback to when Howard Johnson's was the highway host for the weary and hungry traveler. The restaurant offers a complimentary breakfast in the morning, and a well priced dinner menu from 5-9pm. It was very cool being able to eat in a Howard Johnson restaurant for the first time in 30 years; it was like stepping back in time. As my girlfriend and I had a late night ice cream, we overheard several patrons recanting their fond memories of Howard Johnson’s restaurants. Wyndham would be wise to infuse some capital for the franchisees to expand their food service, as the restaurants would thrive. One thing I must sadly mention there is no Howard Johnson's brand ice cream; only some soft serve which had much to be desired. Yet, this is due to the lack of investment needed to maximize the restaurants potential. The staff even confirmed they get requests for Howard Johnson's ice cream all the time. Regardless, this property exemplifies what a Howard Johnson property should be; clean, friendly, and inviting. If you're in Central Florida and need a place to stay the Howard Johnson Ocala is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard-CF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Richard, thank you for telling other travelers about how our Howard Johnson hotel lives up the the nostalgic Howard Johnson of the past. Although we have done our best to remember the traditions and amenities that made HOJOs so popular over 50 years ago, we are looking to the future. Over the next few years we intend to incorporate even more of Howard Johnson's vision into our hotel including the HOJOs ice cream. We hope that if you return to Ocala someday, you will get a chance to try it out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#7 of 34 in Ocala
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: $54 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing