We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in a Florida worn out dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 4, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have been staying at this HJ for several years and have never had a bad experience! The recent and current re-modeling and re-decorating is great and gives the place a new, fresh look. The staff is great, good location, fair prices, clean rooms. Who could ask for more???

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkl7317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your very flattering comments for our Howard Johnson hotel of Ocala! We are so pleased that we can welcome you back every time you visit Ocala and surprise you with new additions and upgrades to our hotel. We are constantly improving while still focusing on continued maintenance and upkeep. We are hoping to offer even more value to our guests in the coming year so we can't wait until your next visit to show you what we have in store!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Value was there. Breakfast was below average except for the fruit and waffles. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
The room was nice and we liked the ref and microwave included. More towels that were softer would have made it nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeroBeachBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Brenda, thank you for your comments about our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the amenities that our hotel had to offer. We know that some guests like having the microwave and mini-fridge so they can dine in their room or store leftovers. However, for those guests who want to grab a bit out, we have a restaurant onsite that serves breakfast and dinner. We offer the complimentary breakfast that you mentioned but we also have many breakfast combos available also if you want to really indulge. Thank you again for taking the time to tell others about your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel was very nice for the money. I was there with an event at a decent rate, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The a/c was hard to use, could have had better directions on how to use it. I arrived late and Theresa was friendly and efficient and greeted me in the morning as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Brad, thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala! We are pleased that our hotel could suit your needs while in town for an event. We wish that you had more time to spent with us so that you could enjoy other features of our property such as the restaurant, fitness center, pool and hot tub, and business center. We always want every guest to get the most value out of their stay as possible. Hopefully you will get to come back another time. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

friendly staff willing to help with anything. clean room and great restaurant! i stayed there twice...a second time only because i enjoyed it so much. night and morning staff remembered me. felt very welcome and great service

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 997rebeccap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Rebecca, thank you for your stay at our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala and also for telling other travelers about your great experience with us! We are so pleased that our friendly staff could welcome you back with warm smiles. Howard Johnson is pretty unusual when it comes to our staff. HoJos employees at our hotel treat each guest like an old friend and we are always happy to do whatever it takes to make you feel at home when you stay with us. Thank you again for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#5 of 34 in Ocala
343 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: $62 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing