We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once Upon a Nurse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    447
    215
    100
    64
See reviews for
461
343
176
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed 1 night..Excellent value..clean rooms.Friendly staff nice comp breakfast..clean pool.And Very convenient right off I75 great place to stay if your traveling. or visiting nearby...Beautiful area attractions ..Thanks..:0).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. You mention that we are nearby attractions. Our hotel is within a short drive of many fun destinations including natural springs, zip lining, caving, horseback riding, kayaking, museums, shopping and so much more. We hope you get a chance to return and explore more of what Ocala has to offer. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Newly furnished, clean rooms with no musty odor. The air conditioner was thermostat controlled. They had a resturant on site with free rom service. They also allowed pets in the rooms, which was important for us. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Naplesgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you used our onsite Howard Johnson restaurant and rooms service. We are also pleased that you noticed our pet friendly status and brought along your furry friend. Many people do not know that our hotel has a plethora of great services and amenities such as our heated pool and hot tub, our gift shop, our fitness center and our mini-golf course. Thank you again for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis Center
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very good experience. This location gives Howard Johnson's a good name. Great staff. Clean and reasonable price is all I need and they more than came through. Would recommend to others and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Stephen, thank you so much for your very flattering review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We are so pleased that we could meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you also for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff pleasant as always. We stay there about once a month with our prison ministry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Michael, thank you for staying at our Ocala hotel on your monthly visits. We try very hard to accommodate every budget and are a perfect place for those traveling with non-profit groups on tight budgets. We are pleased that our hotel could fill your needs and meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The beds were good. There were a lot of people staying there and it was noisy!!!! The ac didn't really work. It cooled the room but the controls were broken. We ate there and it was ok. The club sandwich was good. The service in the restaurant was slow but the waitress did a great job considering how many people she was taking care of. I'd rate her 5 stars...the manager ringing up our bill, I'd give 2 stars. He was soooo slow, but he was polite and friendly , the whole place is really run down and old.

Room Tip: Wear ear plugs! Stay up stairs because car doors were slamming and radios in cars were playing unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I do apologize for the noise and crowds during your recent stay with us. There was a big youth sports championship tournament in town and we were hosting many athletes. If you ever stay with us, or any hotel, during such an event, try requesting a room away from the teams. Usually the front desk tried to keep them separate from regular guests but asking for a room away may save you some trouble. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Arrived a day early for our 14U baseball team stay at Howard Johnson-Ocala. I was very impressed immediately with the staff-very friendly & so accommodating. We were treated with an awesome welcome and this continued throughout our 4 day stay. The motel lobby and rooms have been remodeled. Very clean. Nice continental breakfast. On week-ends can purchase a great $5 breakfast. Beds were clean & comfortable. Great locations to the ball park. Silver Springs is nearby. Boys enjoyed the pool. Everyone we met was very accommodating. I would definitely return to this property and would recommend this especially if you are looking for a nice family friendly environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much Sue! As you suggest, our Howard Johnson hotel is perfect for sports teams. Because we are very affordable, your won't break the bank when traveling to tournaments. But we make sure that every penny is well spent. We provide free high speed wireless internet, a free continental breakfast, a heated pool and hot tub, a fitness center, meeting rooms, and the onsite restaurant with room service. We are also close to attractions for the teams to visit when not playing. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#12 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing