We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff pleasant as always. We stay there about once a month with our prison ministry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Michael, thank you for staying at our Ocala hotel on your monthly visits. We try very hard to accommodate every budget and are a perfect place for those traveling with non-profit groups on tight budgets. We are pleased that our hotel could fill your needs and meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,160 - 1,166 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

The beds were good. There were a lot of people staying there and it was noisy!!!! The ac didn't really work. It cooled the room but the controls were broken. We ate there and it was ok. The club sandwich was good. The service in the restaurant was slow but the waitress did a great job considering how many people she was taking care of. I'd rate her 5 stars...the manager ringing up our bill, I'd give 2 stars. He was soooo slow, but he was polite and friendly , the whole place is really run down and old.

Room Tip: Wear ear plugs! Stay up stairs because car doors were slamming and radios in cars were playing unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

I do apologize for the noise and crowds during your recent stay with us. There was a big youth sports championship tournament in town and we were hosting many athletes. If you ever stay with us, or any hotel, during such an event, try requesting a room away from the teams. Usually the front desk tried to keep them separate from regular guests but asking for a room away may save you some trouble. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Arrived a day early for our 14U baseball team stay at Howard Johnson-Ocala. I was very impressed immediately with the staff-very friendly & so accommodating. We were treated with an awesome welcome and this continued throughout our 4 day stay. The motel lobby and rooms have been remodeled. Very clean. Nice continental breakfast. On week-ends can purchase a great $5 breakfast. Beds were clean & comfortable. Great locations to the ball park. Silver Springs is nearby. Boys enjoyed the pool. Everyone we met was very accommodating. I would definitely return to this property and would recommend this especially if you are looking for a nice family friendly environment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so much Sue! As you suggest, our Howard Johnson hotel is perfect for sports teams. Because we are very affordable, your won't break the bank when traveling to tournaments. But we make sure that every penny is well spent. We provide free high speed wireless internet, a free continental breakfast, a heated pool and hot tub, a fitness center, meeting rooms, and the onsite restaurant with room service. We are also close to attractions for the teams to visit when not playing. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for two weeks in the last two months at this hotel. The rooms are clean, and the A/C is cold. No musty smells or un-slightly stains in the rooms. The staff are polite and accommodating. The pool is clean, the hot tub works great, and they keep the lawn trimmed....wish more hotels could maintain this standard. They have a small restaurant in the lobby that is cost effective and has good food. Finally the beds are reasonably comfortable, and the showers actually have hot water. Best value I've seen in my travels this year.

Thanks to Eddie and Cedric for making it a great place to stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool, it'll be worth it. They are freshly renovated and looking very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you Shon from all the staff at our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala! We are so pleased that we could become your home away from home for several weeks. We are thrilled that you noticed the little touches (the recent renovations, the attention to detail in the rooms, and the care given in grounds maintenance). We do work to constantly improve while still keeping a strong handle on preventative maintenance and cleanliness. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Camille G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
356 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#6 of 34 in Ocala
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: $65 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing