We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Interesting.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    413
    201
    86
    61
See reviews for
401
304
159
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Been waiting for long time get into our new house, and staying here at HOJO has lighted our load much Room was clean refrig. kept our goods cold microwave worked great had problem with handle on coffee pot and they replaced it quickly. Food not great at restraint but overall stay has been excellent oh by the way clean pool and hot tub at site also a bigg plus in hot weather
Thanks HOJO personnel

Room Tip: Pray. sometimes cant get what you always want but luck got us here
See more room tips
Green Features: Good morning greetings and clean rooms room at right temperature beds had no bugs matter of fact no bugs seen in room at all
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Bill, we are very sorry for whatever circumstances kept you from staying in your own home. However, our Howard Johnson of Ocala staff are very pleased that you chose to make our hotel your home away from home. We are so pleased that we could provide you a comfy room and clean surroundings while you stayed with us. Thank you for telling others about our local Ocala hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were able to take advantage of a promotional discount, bringing this hotel's already low price down even further. For the price we were happy to find a good sized clean room, nice pool, and an overall very friendly staff. Our every request was met pleasantly and we were very comfortable. We would stay at this hotel again. That said, there were just a few small things of note: The breakfast was quite limited and there was not much available for those who wanted a healthy option, such as yogurt, or more than one type of fruit. There were not enough towels or face cloths available for two people in our room, especially taking into consideration the pool use. On our last morning at this hotel there was a group of people who were attempting to check in who were quite upset as apparently their rooms had been rented to other people, even though they had reserved with a credit card. There was quite a scene in the hotel lobby, which all the guests breakfasting at the time observed. Quite simply, that should not have happened. That said.. the price was right and the location felt safe. We were treated well.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, request a room on the side away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Regarding the situation with guests checking in with a reservation for that night and not having a room ready, our hotel's check-in time is 3pm. Although we try to have rooms available for guests checking in early, this cannot be guaranteed. Since our checkout time is 11am, it sounds like these guests came in during the breakfast hour, before 10am, and wanted to check into rooms which still had guests in them as checkout time is not until 11am. Although this is unfortunate, we cannot promise early check-ins and these are based completely on availability. Regarding breakfast, we offer a selection of pastries and breads, at least one variety of fresh fruit, cereal, boiled eggs, waffles, and juice. We do have an expanded breakfast menu but there is a charge for other items than are offered on the continental breakfast. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We go to Ocala from Fort Myers about 4 to 6 times per year and always stay at Howard Johnston's. It is so much nicer since it has been remodeled . Before it was nice but now it is pe3rfect. They have the best free breakfast of any Ocala hotel. We have stayed at Red Roof, LaQuinta, Best Western, Super 8, and others and this is BY FAR THE BEST! It is also VERY reasonable priced. If you want a clean. well kept room book here.

Room Tip: I don't think they have any "bad" rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent. The room service will change towels daily but try to get you to do it every other or every 3rd day. This saves water and soap.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Pam, thank you so much for choosing to stay at our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala on your semi-annual trips through Central Florida. We are so pleased that after trying the other area budget hotels, that you have found ours to be a better value and choice. We truly work to maintain our rooms and public areas and we are reinvesting back into the rooms to continue making improvements. We will be adding flat screen TVs in the next few months as well as resealing the parking lot and doing some more landscaping work. We always have new projects in the works to continue building on the services and value that we try to offer. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Enjoyed my stay here. Clean rooms, the staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Mark, thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our facility. Our housekeepers take great pride in their work and do their best to always leave every room spotless for our arriving guests. Thank you again for taking to time to provide feedback on your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 35 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#11 of 35 in Ocala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing