We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay with Howard Johnson again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 24, 2013

No elevator for handicap, which my Dad is, the rooms were over priced, the room keys would not work and we were left standing in the cold while one of us made one trip to the front desk to get a second set of room keys. Keys still did not work, had to wait for desk clerk to spot us waiving the 2nd set that did not work, she took her time getting another set over to us then she had to go back to the office and put us in a different room. All the while we are standing in the cold. We registered with 4 adults and did not have enough towels/wash cloths for 4 people. Not enough items on the continental breakfast. Prior to check in, when asking the desk clerk about room rates, she attempted a complete sales job so I had to stop her and ask what the rate was.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Raymond, I am sorry that you had issues while at our hotel. Unfortunately, if you do not call ahead and reserve a first floor handicapped room, then our staff cannot always provide one as they tend to sell out quickly. As for the door lock, it sounds like the lock was out of batteries. This is actually something that can happen at any hotel with electronic door locks. I am very sorry that this happened to you though and I wish that we could have gotten you a different room sooner. Thank you again for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,282 - 1,288 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank KAREN G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Despite my wife’s misgivings about staying at “HoJo’s,” I decided to trust the ratings and give this place a chance. I’m glad we did. From the moment we walked through the door to register--at almost 10:00 at night--until we checked out at 9:00 the following morning, we had a very good experience at this property.
You can tell the people working here take pride in what they do. Everyone—and I mean everyone—smiles and says hello, asks you if everything is OK, or if they can do anything for you. It’s like they have all been hired for their personalities. How refreshing!
Now with all that TLC going on, you might feel inclined to let slide some of the “not so excellent” features. But that’s not the case here. True, this is not a 4-star resort property. But as a place to stay overnight on the road, you’d be hard pressed to find a better value in this area.
The rooms are well equipped—each has a microwave and small refrigerator—and they offer free Wi-Fi—although it can be spotty at times. The furnishings are older, but seem to be in good shape. The rooms—as with most “on the road between here and Florida” properties—have been well used. But they seemed to be impeccably clean.
When we left at 9:00 in the morning there was a full cleaning crew hard at work and each door seemed to be left open after the room was finished. There was a manager (or owner) walking the area, stopping to talk to guests and—it seemed—checking each room before it was closed off and approved to be rented. I liked that.
The continental breakfast was OK—nothing special—but it was held in the restaurant where you could also purchase additional items—like a full meat and eggs breakfast cooked to order for only $4.99, which I though was a nice touch too.
All in all, the is Howard Johnson’s lived up to its rating and is a place I would be willing to drive a bit out of the way to stay at again and again while traveling through this part of the country.
Kudos to management for doing so many things right!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwprism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you so much for staying at our Howard Johnson of Ocala. As you mentioned, our staff take great pride in our hotel. From the front desk person who checks you in to the housekeepers who clean the rooms, everyone takes ownership of the property and works to ensure our guests satisfaction. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank hotelinfo9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I read Trip Adviser reviews before booking this hotel so expected it would be good and was not disappointed. I stayed one night but will be going back for more. ( business need to be in the area ). Friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed. Restaurant on site was a nice suprise and welcome. Breakfast was great. I had the free continental but you can buy cooked to order as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingkiwi_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our Howard Johnson of Ocala, Florida! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms, friendly staff and newly renovated restaurant. We sure do hope to see you again next time you are in the area. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
356 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
13 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#6 of 34 in Ocala
373 reviews
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: $65 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing