We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very friendly and helpful. Rate very reasonable, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    467
    221
    101
    64
See reviews for
489
348
182
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Rooms were very clean. Bathroom was spotless. Sheets on bed were clean and soft. Ac worked perfectly. Front desk staff very friendly. Continental breakfast was good. Basic items like waffles, bagels, cereal and breads.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa30024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson hotel of Ocala, Florida! I am glad that you noticed the many changes taking place to improve our facility and service. We plan to continue our push to renovate guest rooms into the new year and beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astatula, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stay at this hotel at least once a week and every time the staff are friendly. The place has changed a lot recently and there is now a new fitness center right near the gift shop and bathrooms. It is a huge improvement over the old fitness center.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaS409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff here was amazing - very friendly and I wish I could remember the name of the girl at the front desk as she really made us feel at home. All the staff was friendly and that went a long way to making up for our "complaints". The room was clean and spacious. We had a king with a jacuzzi tub. That thing was huge - noisy - but overall a fun addition to our stay. It is right by the interstate but the noise didn't really bother us - just background rumbling. Continental breakfast had just enough of the right things. Good waffles, bread selection, packets of peanut butter, bananas, and cereal. Half and half on the tables so you weren't stuck with the dry stuff. Lots of international travelers through - we enjoyed sitting at breakfast and trying to guess the nationalities of the families by their accent language.

Putt putt course needs some attention and the heated pool didn't feel heated. Our real complaint was that I chose this hotel as it pictured a weight machine as part of the facilities - they were in the process of moving the equipment when we were there - so were treated to just aerobic machines in a stuffy building where they had mattresses stored. Then there was no real place to take a jog/run in this area safely, so exercise was limited and that was our one complaint.

Overall though, loved the price, the nostalgia of a HoJo, the staff and a clean, comfortable and safe room.

Room Tip: Pool rooms on the bottom level have tables and overhang set up out front which is kind of nice. Low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Michelle, thank you so much for your review of our Howard Johnson hotel of Ocala, Florida. I apologize that our new fitness facility was not yet ready to use when you arrived. We just recently built a new fitness room into our main lobby building with better ventilation, a flatscreen TV and a water fountain. We want our guests to be as comfortable as possible when they come to our hotel and our fitness room renovation was undertaken with this in mind. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
328 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#10 of 34 in Ocala
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing