We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
O'Brien, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Place”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My stary here from very relaxing. Called ahead and when I got there they were very accommodating. The double room was very large and clean. This motel is very affordable, and accepts pets. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 143 has double beds no smoking and is large. Its far away from the office and not alot of traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StandTall460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Howard Johnson hotel! We are one of the few pet friendly hotels in the Ocala area and we always try to make sure that guests and their pets feel at home with us. We even keep doggie treats at our front desk. All of our pet rooms are thuroughly cleaned to ensure that they remain odor-free and ready for the next guest. We keep pet rooms seperate from other rooms so that those with allergies will not have to be inconvenienced during their stays. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    471
    223
    102
    64
See reviews for
495
352
184
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Under renovation. may be ok when it is remodeled. asked for a non-smoking room but it reeked of cigarette smoke. thanks goodness I brought Lysol spray. Bed was hard, but all beds can't be like home. Toilets were too close to the ground. hard for older people to use. noisey air conditioner as usual in all motels. if traffic noise bothers you don't stay here. very close to I-75.

advice. find waffle house for breakfast. the free isn't worth it.

reason for going: car show.

Room Tip: Make certain you ask for the newly remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandB321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not find our facility to be a good fit. If you ever stay with us again and experience any issues, we are always willing to move you to a room that suits your needs. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I relocated from NY to Ocala and cannot be happier.. I originally had plans to relocate to GA but after staying at an awful hotel Homestead of atlanta in norcross i relocated again here. I have been here for 2 months while I look for a house to rent and everyone here at the HoJo are really nice like family. Caren and Cedric are so nice and very helpful. Houscleaning woman are great Donna is my regular I will not let anyone else clean my room she is great Doris is also really nice met her in the morning one day and hit it off very well. Renee and Bridget in the kitchen are very sweet and can cook up some good food for you and ooooommmmmgggg is it good. If you are in the Ocala area do not hesitate to stay here you will not regret it. If I could give them a 10 star rating I would. You will not find a better place with a better staff and ive stayed in 5 different hotels in the past 2 yrs for vacation and I have not stayed in a better and safer place than this.. Way to go guys you all are doing a great job.

Room Tip: I am on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool area and i love it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Only1Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you stayed with us at our Howard Johnson during your move to Florida. You review was such a flattering one that we printed it off and shared it with all of our employees so that they could take pride in the great service that we offered. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocklawaha
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Keep up the great work and personnel. Thank You Everything about the hotel is positive from the maids to the maintenance personnel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you Robert from all of the staff and management of our Howard Johnson of Ocala!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

One night stay for business, Hotel staff were great very friendly and helpful, room was spotless, though an older decor in need a of an upgrade, but very clean. Would stay there again without any hesitation..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you John! Our Howard Johnson staff always strive to provide a friendly atmosphere, clean rooms, and great value. Once our hotel is finishing up renovating so we hope that the next time you return, you will be surprised with the positive changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 22, 2012

once the remodeling is done-will be a really nice place.nice room, Since it was a weekend and a game in Gainsville, had to pay a higher price-just traveling,! Not going to the game, so had to pay more. Other than that was a very nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Howard Johnson hotel. We are sorry that you encountered a higher rate during your recent stay with us. Typically we have low rates that can accommodate any budget, however, on Gator game days, our rates do flux since we always sell out. Thank you for your understanding regarding the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#5 of 34 in Ocala
331 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#8 of 34 in Ocala
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing