We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, bad buildings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Friendly staff, bad buildings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

The staff at this hotel was very helpful and friendly, however thats where it stops. The buildings were recently rennovated and look good on the outside, however the rooms onthe inside still show where the windows had been replaced and the original frames were visible, almost like they didnt care because it will not show up in the online pictures anyway. Key cards work only when they want to, this is blamed on demagnetization, but i found that each key worked when the other wouldnt so we had to guess each time if we could get in Room was VERY small and cramped, which will work for a one night stay, but any extended stay would be unwise. Some of the guests were "questionalbe" in nature. Witnessed one being removed by force by the Local police. Another stopped me to tell me about his life story and proceeded to use profane language infront of my three year old, and would not leave me alone untill i had to get "aggressive".Freeway noise is almost bareable. When the room was cleaned, not everything was cleaned. Coffee pot was dirty the entire stay. The air conditioner outlet was worn out and the plug as loose, made us fear a fire may start. The last straw and the main problem i had with this hotel was we had numerous visits from six legged guests, namely cockroaches. One was at least 2 inches in length. once we noticed these we were in fear of other guests like bedbugs, so much that we checked the matress folds and the sheets for blood stains from them feeding on us. Did not find any. our overall stay was very uncomfortable. i would not recommend this for any family. it would be ok for a long haul trucker if he has no other options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank-you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala and taking time to write and post a review on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. In this event if we had been notified during your stay, there would have been no charge for your room for one night. The team of dedicated professionals at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala strives very hard to make sure that each one of our guests leaves the hotel satisfied and happy. Most of the time we are able to accomplish this goal. In your case we failed. We are truly sorry. If you had mentioned some of these items during your stay we would have gladly moved you to another room and/or given you a full refund. Our guest’s opinion about their stay matters to us. The team at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala is ready to do “whatever it takes” to make sure that each one of our guests has a great stay at our hotel. If your not satisfied with your stay for whatever reason there will be no charge for your one night’s stay. Please give us a try again. You can call me (managing partner of the hotel) directly on my cell phone-352-286-6644 and book your free night’s stay and free dinner for your whole family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    441
    214
    94
    63
See reviews for
450
333
175
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

After 12 hours on the road we stopped here for the night. They even gave a the online discounted rate when we called. The room was very clean and service was great. I would recomend this one to anyone in the area needing a room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you Nicole! Our Howard Johnson Ocala takes great pride in offering clean rooms, great service and discounted rates to our guests. We are so grateful for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

this hotel is like a mini resort, it was well ran, clean and the breakfast was yummy, I especially liked talking with Renee in the mornings, she was very helpful and made sure everyone had what they needed for breakfast.

Room Tip: obtain reservations online at an excellent price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellilee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank-you for staying at Ocala’s most famous hotel-Howard Johnson Inn Ocala. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala is spread out over 10 beautiful landscaped acres. Within our “mini resort,” there is a huge outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi with several cabanas, there is an 18 hole mini golf, lots of green walking areas, a basketball net and a restaurant and gift shop. Our meeting facilities can host a meeting or banquet.. Our spotless rooms come with a small refrigerator, microwave and free wireless internet. And yes breakfast is “yummy” and free for all our special guests. See you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala-Ocala’s most famous hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Staying at the Howard Johnson Ocala was very nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Linda B in housekeeping did not hesitate in preparing a room for me. Alsthough she had many rooms to clean she still found time to have a pleasant conversation and offer assistance. Thank you Linda B for your kindness and support. You are fantastic!!! ([---])

Room Tip: More the people who like a quiet atmosphere the rooms at the ends of the hotel are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bam013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank yo u so much for your great review of our Howard Johnson Ocala. We truly do have a friendly and hardworking staff. From the housekeepers like Linda to our front desk agents to our maintenance man, we all pitch in to keep our HoJos happy. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The management at the Howard Johnson, Ocala FL gives our group every convenience that they can. They work with us from our reservations and meeting our specific needs to providing us a morning breakfast before our meeting and when we have banquets they provide excellent food. The service is always prompt and the employees are always very courteous. For a small hotel they handle our group extremely well and we meet there at least 3 times a year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sph15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank-you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala and taking time to write and post a review on Trip Advisor. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala is very centrally located within Ocala and loves to host group events. Groups love using our large meeting room as a hospitality room. Our restaurant can customize the menu and can cater your event. We have plenty of parking and a BBQ area. Most importantly, we are very flexible in meeting our guest’s needs. Our team tries very hard to accommodate early check-ins or late check outs. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala has all the amenities that travelers expect and our team will do whatever it takes to make sure all members of your group leave happy on their departure date. See you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala on your next group event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Sam with guest services and management made it easy to deal with them. They were easy to work with and very helpful when we needed anything.

Room Tip: Let them know if you have any problems with you health. Like not being able to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb8183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank-you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala and taking time to write and post a review on TripAdvisor. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala’s team of dedicated hospitality professionals love dealing with all our special guests. Our dedicated team does everything in their power to ensure each one of our guests has a great and comfortable stay at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala. If for whatever reason we fail to satisfy you, there will be no charge for your one night stay. Hope to see you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala on your next trip to Ocala the eco-equestrian capital of Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Quality for a good price. Staff very helpful & accommodating. They seem to like the place they work & it shows.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opskeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank-you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida and taking time to write and post a review on TripAdvisor. Every team member at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala loves the hotel and loves every guest that stays at the hotel. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala is about quality for a good price and the staff being very helpful and accommodating. And yes, we have a huge outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi and every guest enjoys a complimentary breakfast –Our “make your own waffle bar” is a favorite. See you on your next Ocala trip-the Eco-Tourism and Equestrian capital of Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#10 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing