We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean room and friendly employees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Raiford
1 review
“Very clean room and friendly employees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and was impressed with the cleanliness of the room. The only problem I encountered was I had booked thru hotels.com and after checking in I found out I was charged 67.99 with tax and a suppoably 15% discount I paid $73.77 for a room that was now 39.99. I emailed hotels.com about the GUARANTEED PRICE MATCH but discovered you have to find out about the lower room rates before you actually check in, needless to say I will no longer book thru them I will take my chances upon arrival at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbennett04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida and taking time to write and post a review on TripAdvisor. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala’s dedicated team of housekeeping professionals strive hard to make sure that each one of our guests stay and relax in a clean and comfortable room. Similarly, our dedicated team of maintenance professionals makes sure that all our guests swim in our sparkling clean huge outdoor heated pool or relax in our huge outdoor Jacuzzi. See you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    442
    214
    94
    63
See reviews for
452
333
176
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stopped in just to spend the night on way to destination. For the money, couldn't ask for much more. Only issue was that front desk wasn't helpful in getting more pool towels for my kids. Called twice, never brought more towels to pool. We had to go get them.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevo4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank-you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida and taking time to write and post a review on TripAdvisor. As you point out, Howard Johnson Inn Ocala seeks to provide great value to all our guests. Unfortunately during the summer months, we occasionally run out of towels at our huge outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi recreational area. We hope to see you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronson, fl.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

The staff was excellent, and everything we asked for was granted. We had a wonderful time, and the food was very good. We want to thank cedric, carlos and all the cooks that made this a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold9825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank-you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida and taking time to write and post a review on TripAdvisor. The dedicated team of hospitality professionals at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala strive very hard to satisfy each one of our special guest’s needs and ensure that each one of our special guest has “a wonderful time.” Our service coupled with our group friendly facilities makes Howard Johnson Inn Ocala a favorite for large groups. The hotel has a banquet and meeting room facilities for 80 persons. As you point out the cooks for your banquet provided a delicious meal. See you next year for your family reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were tired of paying high prices for a hotel room we spent very little time in, so we tried Ho Jo's. The bottom line is this....the rooms are very clean and comfortable, we had a fridge and microwave, the staff is very friendly and attentive to your needs, the pool is great and well maintained with comfortable shaded table areas, the breakfast includes hard boiled eggs, cereal, make your own waffles, bagels, danish and toast, apples and bananas, oatmeal, coffee, and soft drinks. We booked online got a great price and will continue to stay there year after year. Its also an hour from orlando and daytona. Thanks HJ, The Forville family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foolbus1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you Forville family for your amazing review of our Howard Johnson Ocala and for staying with us! We are so glad that you decided to give us a try. As you said, we offer all of the necessities at a significantly lower price. If you are not looking for something fancy, then we can certainly provide a clean, comfortable room with amenities like free wi-fi, free breakfast, and a large heated pool all for a fraction of what you would pay at one of our competitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our stay included breakfast with our stay. Most the time everyone just goes about their own way without even knowing anything about the person your sitting next to. Our hostess Renee made sure to make contact with everyone in the restaurant. She made you feel like a friend. By the time our stay was up we left a friend and would be back. Thanks for taking time to try to get to know strangers and making them feel at home.

Room Tip: don't get one by the pool unless you like late parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb60786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida and taking time to write and post a review on Trip Advisor. At Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida our dedicated team of hospitality professionals have one goal-giving each one of our special guests the best possible service and overnight accommodations for the money they spend. It is very important to us that each one of our guests feel that they received great value for every dollar they spent at our hotel. In addition to loving our rooms, our huge outdoor heated pool, our huge outdoor Jacuzzi, our guests love our complimentary breakfast served every morning. Renee and our other breakfast attendants make sure each one of our guest leaves the breakfast full and happy. See you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We needed a place to stop overnight on our way south. Trip Advisor reviews said this place was clean, friendly, and inexpensive, which fit our bill. We pulled in about 7 p.m., and the oft-mentioned Cedric was at the desk. I said, "You're Cedric. I've heard great things about you!" A man standing next to him with no name tag on said, "What about me? Have you heard good things about me?" I told him I couldn't see his name, and he said it was Carlos. I replied, "I've heard great things about you too!" And everything I read on Trip Advisor was true. These guys were GREAT! They were so friendly and so helpful! I have never encountered desk staff at any hotel that was as nice as these guys. No kidding.

We checked in easily and found our room, while older, to be clean and comfortable. We needed a roll-away for our son, and it arrived right away with a bunch of extra towels for him.

That night, we went in town for dinner and enjoyed a good Cuban-inspired restaurant. Sorry I can't remember the name. We would have eaten in the in-house restaurant, but we have some vegetarians in our group, and this was more of a diner-type place.

When we came back, we hit the putt-putt course on-site. It is in dire need of a face-lift, but we had a really fun time hamming it up on the greens. We played until past dark and it was a great way to unwind after 12 hours on the road.

Breakfast the next morning was good. Lots of choices for my picky kids. They always love the make your own waffles. The morning staff was just as friendly as the night folks.

I think this hotel will be a regular stop-over for our family on our trips to Florida. It's not fancy, but it was friendly and a great value.

Room Tip: Call directly. Ask for Carlos or Cedric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyderbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida and taking time to write and post a review on Trip Advisor. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is Ocala’s most famous hotel and offers all our guests great value. Our guests enjoy a clean and comfortable room with free amenities such as free wireless high speed internet and a full cable line up with HBO and all the sports channels. Our huge outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi are also big hits with our guests. Carlos and Cedric, with the rest of the Howard Johnson team, know Ocala very well. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala is only minutes from downtown Ocala and its many restaurants and bars. See you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm coast, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We booked 2 double queen rooms that had a connecting door inside. I was so happy that i did take the reviews w a grain of salt because it was a great deal, great facility, and the staff was unbelievable. I even got a price reduction after seeing the online prices went down closer to our check in date. The rooms all had micro, mini fridge, lots of pillows, compfy beds, free hbo, nice pool & hottub, and lots of towels. The free breakfast was good, fresh banannas and apples, apple and oj, cereal station, belgin waffle station, beagles, pastries, toast, hard boiled eggs. they also served dinner at the resturaunt from 5-9. My husband and i were in town for a birthday party and had 5 kids to entertain the hotel location, amenities, and staff made it that much easier. What made it even sweeter was when i went to check out the owner was at the front desk and was eager to find out how our stay went and offered cold drinks for the trip home...... Well worth every penny. BOOK IT! Ps... they were replacing the carpet while we were there (the existing carpet wasnt that bad in my eyes).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bustersball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our Howard Johnson Ocala. Although we are not the Hilton, we do pride ourselves on our great customer service and quality. Occasionally we do get a poor review and we will try to reach out to these guests to find out what problems they experienced and how to fix them, however, most of the guests that stay with us agree that our HoJos is a great place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#9 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing